Could you... Would you... Should you...

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:01
ThreadID: 18811 Views:3221 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
Could I power a 600w microwave oven using a single 12v battery? Am I askin for trouble if I do this?

Some time ago I bought a 600w microwave oven, and to power it from 12v, a 1500w inverter. The idea was to set them up in the CT and use them for cookin the veggies and re-heating food and water (and, of course, to show off to other happy little campers).

My research suggests that microwave ovens draw about 1.5 times their output in power. Thus a 600w microwave draws about 900w. That's 3.75amps current flow using 240v.

My simple way of calculating the current draw on a 12v system would be to divide 240v by 12v and multiply that by the 3.75amps. That = 75amps. Allowing for, say, 5% inefficiency of an inverter I'm guessing that the setup will draw close to 80amps.

I'm thinking that the microwave oven would not be used for more than 15 or 20mins at a time.

Could I do this to an 80ah battery? Could I draw 80amps continuously for 15 or 20mins, or would I stuff the battery?

How long would you run it for?

What if I turned the microwave setting to, say 60%, so that the 80amps was drawn in shorter bursts over a longer period?

I would be soooo appreciative of contributions!

Ho, Ho ,Ho. Just two sleeps to go!

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:52

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:52
Ho Ho Ho Scrubba

Not too sure, but I don't think so. Also the old P=Vi rule is for DC. With AC it's different due to rms (root mean square) stuff that relates to alternating current.
Can't remember now with my Alzeheimers and all. There's sure to be some leccie spurts on board who'll set you straight.

Seeya

P.S. Like Santa I also suffered from aneroxia but beat it ..... :-)
AnswerID: 90073

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:13

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:13
Thanks Rosco. How did you even know how to spell that Alz... word?
C U
FollowupID: 348858

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:00

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:00
1 outa 2 aint bad ..... the skinny bit leaves a tad to be desired..........I think ???
FollowupID: 348871

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:56

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 15:56
Waeco makes bush microwaves. Why not just buy one of them. Much safer :)
AnswerID: 90075

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:01

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:01
Gossy,

I've been told they're a bit tasty, around the $1000 mark.

Not sure how accurate this is.

And I can't see how they would draw any less power. The old volts times amps equals watts formula.

FollowupID: 348872

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:11

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:11
They are around $850. But I have already had the other gear for a couple of months.
FollowupID: 348878

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:32

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 23:32
Struth,

$850 for a microwave, someone is making a lot of wedge. They wern't that dear (12 or 240) back in 1978. You can buy a 240 volt for under a hundred.

Your idea of running it from the inverter gets more attractive by the minute.

FollowupID: 348903

Reply By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:20

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:20
I never work out current draw, amp hours or any of that stuff, mum always told me "what you don't know won't hurt you" so i'll blame her if I blow something up.
A mate used a gasless mig welder off my 3000watt inverter, running off 2 950CCA batteries, for about half an hour car still started and batteries still seam fine. So in my opinion it should be fine(I'll probably get corrected on this though), but where's the fun in taking a microwave camping.
AnswerID: 90077

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:32

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:32
I am with you Tuff60, I can't see the point in going if I take all the day to day worries with me.
FollowupID: 348819

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:06

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:06
where is te fun in taking a microwave camping....well, for one it gives your mates something to ridicule :) Actually, it is very handy if you have a bottle fed baby re: heating and sterilising bottles....and is not bad for heating up the odd sticky date pudding...which is always shared with those mates who refrain from bagging the microwave... funny how after the first night the bagging stops :)
FollowupID: 348845

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:22

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:22
Yeah, OK. Well thanks anyway guys.
Last July I was camping down the Sth Coast. There was a fire ban and the temp got down that far that neither the butane nor the LPG stoves could manage more than a very, very, very low flame the next morning. Not even hot enough to boil some water.
I thought that with a microwave oven we could at least heat some water for a coffee.
FollowupID: 348860

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 00:01

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 00:01
That cold Scrubba?

Bugger it, I'd stay at home.

But I'm soft and not scared admit it. LOL

Still, the option of body heat is attractive. LOL again.

Cheers Mate,

FollowupID: 348909

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:26

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 16:26
Scrubba. I can't see why it wouldn't work. Even if it pulled 100 amps thats still less than an electric winch is dragging out of a battery under load. To ease the preasure on the battery you could run the car while the microwave was on.
Any heavey load like that on a relitively small battery will no doubt shorten it's life.
Setting it at 60% would if nothing else give the inverter, wiring & battery a moment to cool down but certainly wouldn't use less power.
cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 90078

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:33

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:33
Crackles, I'm thinking like you but with all the stuff you read about how you can stuff batteries by running them down below, say 11v, I get a bit nervous about tryin it.
Catch ya
FollowupID: 348865

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:37

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 22:37
I feel a test coming on ;-)
FollowupID: 348888

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:02

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:02
Scrubba,

Most electrical appliances have detailed on the back of them their power draw. I just checked a relatively new 700 watt micowave and it draws 1200 watts, so it is possible your 600 may draw 1000 to 1100.

Your calculations seem to be correct for 12 volt. Overall this would indicate your microwave would draw over 20 amps for 15 min of running. Given the rules of a battery only realistically charging to 80% of its capacity from the car (assuming it's a wet cell) bringing it to 64 amps, and trying not to go below 50% of the capacity, you have a theoretical 30%, ie 24 amps to play with. The M/W is sure going to use a lot of your power.

Just something to consider. If you have a means to keep charge up to your battery, there is reason that I can see that it wouldn't work.

AnswerID: 90100

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:41

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:41
Hi Jim,
See above response to Crackles.
I checked and see that it will draw 950w at 240v. I spose I could connect the trailer charge cable to the car and run the motor for the few minutes it takes to do the job.
FollowupID: 348866

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:59

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 19:59
Only 5% for the invertor, I think not! ;-)

I reckong you'd be drawing close to 100amps, I also reckon my 80 amp/hr battery would die extremely quickly. 1-2 minutes of usefull power at that draw not to mention the pain the battery would be going through.

A gennie would be the only way or lots and lots of big fully charged batteries...
Or a 12v Microwave. I think they are around now.
AnswerID: 90109

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:49

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:49
Thanks Jeff. I've had the gear for a couple of months. Don't want to spend more if I don't need to
See you
FollowupID: 348868

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:38

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:38
Darren (GO_OFFROAD) has posted about a serious medical need to run a microwave and I believe he carried a bank of 5 batteries (working from memory here).

Perhaps he will read this and post some information from experience.

He will know what works and what doesn't. The fact that he carried such large battery power is an indication that a lot of power is needed. However he needed to be sure there would be no failures so perhaps somewhere in between is the go if it is not a crucial issue. Which of course your's is not.

Hope to have been of some help.

AnswerID: 90127

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:52

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 21:52
Thanks Jim.
I'll wait and see how this post ends up. Might sent him a message later on.
FollowupID: 348869

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 08:25

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 08:25
"Interesting" maths but you arrived at the correct answer :)

Just divide the power in watts by the voltage in volts eg. 1000w / 12V = 83A
And that's probably in the ball park for a 600W (output power) microwave and a bit for inverter losses.

Next problem is your 80Ah battery may not be 80Ah! Usually battery capacities are quoted at the C/20 figure in other words your battery will support a discharge of 4A for 20 hours - with a 50Ah battery it would support a discharge of 2A5 for 20 hours etc. At C/1 your battery is more likely to be (guessing here) a 20Ah battery, so an 80A draw will flatten it in around 15 minutes. All this is at 25 deg C things get worse as the temperature drops.

I guess what I'm saying is that it isn't really do-able with a 80Ah battery looks like you'll need at _least_ twice that capacity. If you decide to do it anyway, invest in a cheap digital multi-meter and monitor the battery voltage under load and shut down when the battery falls below 11V

Another thought: is your inverter a square wave type (ie. non sine wave)? If so the big transformer in the microwave may not like that too much – it might work but power output could be low and the transformer might overheat and burn out before too long, otoh it might be OK?

As usual, for all things battery:
http://www.uuhome.de/william.darden/

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
AnswerID: 90181

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 13:56

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 13:56
Thanks Mike!
Looks like I need to do a bit of reading to understand what you're saying. The data on battery site is not that easy for me to understand either. I will have to spend some time on it later.
The inverter is a square wave type. It states that it is for use with microwave ovens (amongst other things) but when I hooked it and the microwave up for about 30 seconds it's obvious that it's not clean power. The microwave is quite noisy.
FollowupID: 348949

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:19

Friday, Dec 24, 2004 at 16:19
I'll see if I can make it clearer but, please, feel free to ask about any particular areas.

A battery can only provide it's full rating (80Ah in your case) if you only draw a small current from it for a longish time. As soon as you start to draw more than that low current the "effective" capacity of the battery drops - how much it drops depends how much more current you draw and as you're planning to draw _LOTS_! :) of current the effective capacity will drop a lot too - the result of this is that you can draw 80 amps but not for the one hour you might expect instead only for about 15 minutes.

In regard to the inverter/noise - that may be from the fan in the microwave not liking the inverter much and/or it may be the big transformer inside the microwave getting upset about the inverter - either way it doesn't sound too good - sorry :(

FollowupID: 348959