The Good, The Bad and the Ugly 4x4's

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 08:59
ThreadID: 19078 Views:2843 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
Well for the wont of a better heading that is how I put it.

I am out at Warraweena Station in the Flinders Ranges caretaking the 355square kilometre conservation park while the managers take a break. Yesterday I started all the vehicles on the property and gave them a short run in the home paddock.

The Good....My GQ Nissan which is Oh SO comfortable and fluid to drive compared with the others. It needs a serious lift though as some of the gullies on this property are acute and scraping at Attack and Departure angles is a common thing

The Bad.....'Rosie' G60 Nissan which had belonged to me before I donated it to the station manager. Rough as guts, very utilitarian and uncomfortable but a 'Go anywhere' machine.

The Ugly.....A 1975 Suzuki LJ 50 2 stroke. I remember having a few of these in the 70's but how did I fit in them then? Must've put on a bit since that time. Can't turn the steering wheel because of part of my anatomy is in the way. Definitely a vehicle for young skinny people. A very basic vehicle with outstanding off road performance but nothing more than a glorified and noisy ride on mower in real life.

One certainly does forget just how uncomfortable the vehciles of a bygone era were. And then we thought that they were grand specimens and knew no better!!!!!

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:12

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:12
"It needs a serious lift though as some of the gullies on this property are acute and scraping at Attack and Departure angles is a common thing"
I want a property like that :( Sounds right up my alley!

A 1975 Suzuki LJ 50 2 stroke Havent seen one of these in years!!!
AnswerID: 91389

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:20

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:20
I'll be here till the 18th, Trucky. Come up for a few days...take a sickie....its only 1300kays from your place as the flow cries. There are some very good tracks in them mountains.
FollowupID: 349932

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:26

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:26
Dont tempt me.
FollowupID: 349934

Follow Up By: Johnno1 - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:14

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:14
Coming through there in 2 months Willem . Where abouts do you drink ?
FollowupID: 349952

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 18:25

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 18:25
A mate of mine had one of the 2 stroke suzukis..........took a month to get from A to B lol.........was good and economical off road..........I remember being with him in the city an being pulled over by the boys in blue.....they wanted to defect us cos it blew smoke...hahahahaha....had a hell of a time convincing them it was 2 stroke...we ended up having to show them the oil reservoir lol
FollowupID: 350027

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:15

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:15
Johnno

Don't frequent pubs but if you are coming through Peterborough give me a how through my website below. I should be home in March.
FollowupID: 350038

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 08:10

Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 08:10
you inviting anyone willem?

any goats?...........no not you!...the other type?
FollowupID: 350115

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 09:19

Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 09:19
Hey Nudie.....I sent you an invite a while ago but heard nothing. So I figured SWMBO had got the better of you..lol

Stony reckons there are still around 2000 goats on the property but they are usually high up in the ranges. There is a track now up to the top of Mt Gill.

I sighted my rifle yesterday. Come up and we'll go for a look see. I know a place where they come down for a drink...the goats that is.
FollowupID: 350124

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:40

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 09:40
I've heard so many times that it's not the vehicle but the nut behind the wheel. I suggest you forget the lift, your experience combined with your x trail will see you floating over those angles :)

Enjoy your property minding. I'm off to give the lux a run in some nearby bush.
AnswerID: 91393

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:55

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:55
G'day Ray,

(Willem) "Can't turn the steering wheel because of part of my anatomy is in the way."

Reckon you may be on the ball (or thereabouts) about "the nut behind the wheel." Oh dear.

Jeremy.
FollowupID: 349961

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 18:16

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 18:16
As long as the nut doesn't fall off, that's when the real trouble starts.

Took my two young girls up a few steep hill climbs, few minor ruts and covered the ute in muddy water through pot holes, ya should have heard the screaming in the back, no wonder I've got a headache....blah...girls
FollowupID: 350024

Reply By: bundyman - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:05

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:05
Willem ol' Mate,

Sounds like all you need is a 2-inch lift on the driver's side of the GQ.........to level it up with the other side :P

Hughesy
AnswerID: 91398

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:17

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:17
No a 6 inch lift on the right side and 4 inch lift on the left....just to level it off......
FollowupID: 350039

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:38

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:38
Wow a 2stroke suzi I havnt seen one of those since the 80s when the odd one would block up the highway. Apparantly very capable though. Landcruiser utes certainly have gone up in leaps and bounds in the last 20years there is now a left foot rest and 3 extra inches behind the seat. Seriosly though is this post about vehicles or a thinly disguised boast about how hard you are working coz it sounds ok as I wait around the office trying to look busy waiting for the drilling programs to recomence and I can go out bush.
ps I sent you that south coast trek info
AnswerID: 91403

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:21

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:21
All about trucks mate.....not working..mainly watching DVD's...thanks for the info..shiuld arrive here shortly
FollowupID: 350040

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:50

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 10:50
Willem, me thinks your going soft. Poor neglected Rosie. It wasn't that long a go she was your loyal steed for so long.
AnswerID: 91405

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:23

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:23
Yeah Im a bit of a traitor, eh?.........can't believe I have got used to the comparative luxury(the truck is still 10 years old and probably not as comfy as your 50).....hahahaha
FollowupID: 350041

Reply By: ianmc - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 11:11

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 11:11
Some people have all the fun & I suppose U R getting paid too!
Pity they dont have a VW Country Buggy up there. I had one for years in the Grampians. Minimal overhang front & rear, no diffs protuding below running gear,
light, weight over driving wheels, pulled LC'c out of bogs,rode fairly well, carried 4 persons, let it go unfortunately, did have some disadvantages but cant remember them now!
AnswerID: 91408

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:27

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:27
No Ian this is a love job and I brought all me own tucker as well

I had a number of 2 strokes in my youth. That was a while ago tho!
FollowupID: 350042

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 14:41

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 14:41
"Can't turn the steering wheel because of part of my anatomy is in the way."

Gosh Willem - didn't think you would have changed in the last thirty years - did you know that you can break Viagra in half? - maybe you are taking too much!!

....and inviting Truckie up for a drive around the place.....make sure he takes his pillow, some warm clothes and plenty of food!

AnswerID: 91433

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:30

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 20:30
Can you let me have script doc? never tried the stuff but theres always a first time.

Dunno about Trucky.....I dare him to come up....mobs of tucker and booze here!!!!
FollowupID: 350046

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 22:14

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 22:14
If your anatomy gets in the way of the steering wheel I don't think you need Viagra..... on the same line.... I have posted you the DVD from Robe.....I might have a closer look at the beach swimming scene. hahah

I thought that it might be getting a bit stormy there and that was why you were inviting Trucky up there - It can rain a bit I remember!

FollowupID: 350072

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 09:27

Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 09:27
Next time on the beach I'll drop me daks as well so there can be no illusion....everybody hide!!!!!!! lol

We have had a few showers but nothing quite like what you ordered from the Rain God in October. You do have some mighty connections there, Doc Holiday!!!
FollowupID: 350128

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 08:12

Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 08:12
G'day Willie,

I can help a bit with your Suzie problems mate. Have ridden a bike for a few kilometres already which has strengthened a few muscles and lost others. The knees and the length of leg you have a problem with too Bro. I bent the last stop down on the seat runner on the Suze here and I have the seat right back. I don't know about 1975 Suze but it works with a 90s one.

Look forward to catching up there one day Bro, Warraweena sounds grand place for you to be caretaking.
AnswerID: 91538

Reply By: Flash - Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 10:29

Thursday, Jan 06, 2005 at 10:29
Suzie 2 stroke- Wow, that does bring back memories....
Like the time a mate and I were 4WDing on a cousin's property and we rolled it... well it fell on it's side at about 1km/h.
No problem- we hopped out (fell out!) lifted it back on it's wheels and proceeded as though nothing had happened. (A slight scratch was the only damage.)
I don't remember them being all that small in the front seat. (amazing how one forgets)
I DO remember they'd go just about anywhere- great low/low gearing and torque from idle. Certainly fun to drive- I didn't think there'd be any left in running condition- certainly haven't seen one on the road in a long time.
On a sadder note my mates younger brother also rolled the same Suzy some years later -unfortunately at speed on bitumen, no seatbelt, and paid the ultimate price.

Anyway Willem, Cheers and thanks for your always informative posts.
Have a great 2005.

AnswerID: 91562