I am SURE there was a good reason.....

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:21
ThreadID: 19264 Views:2285 Replies:12 FollowUps:6
..... that the designers & engineers at Land Rover decided not to carry on with the tradition of keeping the spare wheel on the bonnet.

Why did this stop?

When I look at say the Land Rovers that the Rat Patrol used, and the Pink Land Rovers used in the deserts in the 50's & 60's, everything was on the bonnet, wheel arches and along side the vehicle.

Kept COG way down low, and must surely beat climbing up on roof racks.

Why & when did all this change? Was it legal ramifications? Was the wheel too heavy to replace on the bonnet? Did it obscure vision too much?

Wolfie

Reply By: Member - Tim - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:27

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:27
It may just be that people generally got a bit fussier about the duco and didn't want scratches from lifting a heavy wheel across the bonnet? I know that there were people who made alloy plates that went on the top of the guards and so on to stop that from happening.

Wouldn't surprise me though if there was a law against it somewhere.
AnswerID: 92463

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:35

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:35
A while back someone on here posted a link to the Qld RTA site concerning bonnet scoops. Struth, there were diagrams from all sorts of angles showing when a particular scoop would make a vehicle unroadworthy because of vision impairment!!! If they can get their panties in a twist over a scoop which would be about 50mm above standard bonnet height, imagine the state those very same knickers would be in if they had to draw diagrams of a 265mm wide (high) tyre sitting on top of the damned bonnet!!! LOLOL
AnswerID: 92466

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:45

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:45
Yes, but it wouldn't matter if we can't see a LITTLE bit...... that's what BULL BARS are for.......

Wolfie
FollowupID: 351352

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:51

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:51
Where were you last night mate??????? A hold up in the northern suburbs last night,,,,,,police looking for man driving 4WD delica.
AnswerID: 92472

Reply By: david cc130 - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:57

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 17:57
I believe it has to do with the increased height of the Td5 engine in '99 onward Defenders. It seems that due to this change, some bonnet ribs or braces to hold the weight of the spare had to be removed. i.e. Tdi type bonnet will not fit a Td5 vehicle.
AnswerID: 92474

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:34

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:34

That is my understanding also.
FollowupID: 351471

Follow Up By: Disco200Tdi - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:35

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:35
David is right. Stiffening ribs were removed to fit the TD5 engine.

Something else to note, is the back door on defenders will eventually fall apart if you drive alot on corrugations. Best idea is a wheel carrier.

John D
FollowupID: 351472

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:18

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:18
Hi David

Hi actually have a wheel carrier that Ip urchased myself. I met a guy 18mths ago that had a rear carrier fitted by Landrover, they replaced his door twice the third time they gave up.
FollowupID: 351485

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 18:04

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 18:04
bigfist fight on forum not that long ago whether spares are better off under the vehicle or on the back and now you want to throw on the bonnet into the mix??????????
AnswerID: 92475

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 22:44

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2005 at 22:44
Used to have the axe and the shovel on the mudguards too!!
AnswerID: 92545

Reply By: MrBitchi - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:07

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:07
Try getting the missus to heave a splitie onto the bonnet!!!!! Even uder (?) the back of a cruiser is a better option :-)
AnswerID: 92587

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:45

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 09:45
From experience - Also cause a massive headache when one inadvertently bumped the geometric lock on bonnet when one had the bonnet up and head down bum up in the engine bay.
AnswerID: 92597

Follow Up By: Johnn01 - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:03

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:03
ouch
FollowupID: 351478

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:28

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:28
I dunno but it sure looked cool.
AnswerID: 92602

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 13:06

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 13:06
Its bad enough to lift a bonnet with pick, shovel and axe attach (as per Army standards) let alone a spare tyre and I have had the lot crash down on my wrist when the bonnet stay dropped!! 5 years later and Im still waiting for all the feeling to return to my left thumb.

I have a feeling that ADRs would have stopped the spare on the bonnet when the Rover crossed the appropriate year boundary. ie pre ADR Rovers can do it but after 19.... it would have been stopped for vision and also bonnet protrusions. The same reg that covers collapsable hood ornaments etc, you know, the all inclusive pedestrian strike scenario!

Also if you have ever seen the setup on a Rover, with the little plastic hinge(grommets) that secure the firewall end of the bonnet could easily depart with the extra weight on the bonnet given the necessary upward bump!! Would certainly flog them out very quickly otherwise and what if you wanted to fit wider rims...it would get very messy!

AnswerID: 92627

Reply By: G.T. - Monday, Jan 17, 2005 at 13:47

Monday, Jan 17, 2005 at 13:47
Also Rover 2000 and 3500 had a mount kit for the boot lid so as to mount the spare to give you more room in the boot. Useless info I know , but I thought you would like to know. Lol. regards G.T.
AnswerID: 93593