Second Battery

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:34
ThreadID: 19288 Views:2156 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
I have just removed the dual battery system from my old 80 series into the new GU Patrol and from my recent trip the second battery would only power the freezer (waeco FF90) for about 6hrs before dying. Currently I have a Delkor 70AH Battery and know that it has been fully discharged once which may attribute to it's short life (2yrs). What is the best brand of 2nd battery to buy? I was looking at the Trojan as my mate has one and thinks it's great. They are a 115AH deep cycle battery which can be discharged fully without harm but are $280. The delkor 90AH Calcium is $170 but cannot be discharged fully without harming. The ARB batt tray is 305mm long which will be limiting factor.

The second battery will only power fridges, 2way, radio etc.

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:47

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 10:47
I use a 125ah gel deep cycle under the hood and it can power my fridge for 4days in summer temps and 6 days in winter and performs great with the ambient temps of such an extreme area...
Your Waeco will draw more power though...
AnswerID: 92606

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 15:16

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 15:16
Yeah I also looked at the Gel Cel, they are pretty hard core but I'm affraid I'd melt the bugger as they do not like high temps and the TD surf with wires and hoses clotting up every availible air flow space would probally kill it. If you had a fairly cool under bonnet temp I reckon they'd kick ass.
FollowupID: 351522

Follow Up By: David Au - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 16:11

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 16:11
Yet another miracle battery story that does not stand up to simple maths
96 hours on a fridge that takes 35amps in 24 hours according to Waeco printed figures. There are some damn miracle batteries around or your run your fridges at awfully warm temperatures and your batteries mighty flat.
Any battery regardless of Gel/AGM/SLA/VRLA etc. etc. the lower you discharge them, the shorter life they have. All the wild bizarre claims people like Optima and Odyssey make are not represented at all by their warranty periods.
The miracle battery stories you see on this website are incredible and could never be substantiated in real life.
FollowupID: 351526

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:32

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:32
Hi David Au...

I didnt say i had a Waeco....
FollowupID: 351836

Follow Up By: David Au - Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:48

Thursday, Jan 13, 2005 at 22:48
Does not matter what you have, not a lot of difference between the lot of them. Nothing that could make your battery fantasy mathematics look any better.
FollowupID: 351840

Reply By: muzzimbidgie - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 12:56

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 12:56
The battery tray should take an N70ZZ size battery easily, if it doesn't, take it back!

Don't do what I did when fitting mine into da GU! be carefull not to push the airbox too far foreward (it says to do this on the instructions) cos you could ruin the foam seal in the ducting pipe from the airbox into the wheel arch. if you're unsure, get some of that black gunk the snorkel fitters use and go around the seal. Better still, get a snorkel fitted.

Muzz.
AnswerID: 92625

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 14:23

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 14:23
I have had a Trojan for a short while so I can't comment on life expectancy. For the price it had better be bloody good. I've had heaps of different batteries over the years and I reckon I'll go back to starting type batteries when the Trojan carks it. The problem with deep cycle batteries is that once they get low in power the vehicle's charging system will not fully recharge them. Whilst the starting battery isn't designed for it, I believe a heavy duty one will do the job and be much easier to recharge whilst driving. Also they are a darn sight cheaper. Mind you it depends on the style of camping you do and what gear you have for recharging.
AnswerID: 92645

Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 15:02

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 15:02
Piranha recommend using an Exide Extreme in their GU 2nd battery system. Costs about $150 and works fine.

VKS Mobile 1906

AnswerID: 92651

Reply By: David Au - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 16:03

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 16:03
H20 where did you get this information from "Trojan as my mate has one and thinks it's great. They are a 115AH deep cycle battery which can be discharged fully without harm but are $280"???
2 years, consider you did well.
AnswerID: 92663

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:52

Wednesday, Jan 12, 2005 at 17:52
H2O,

The information that you have been given that a Trojan can be fully discharged without harm is wrong. Fully discharging any lead acid battery fully will damage it. The life of any battery is shortened, the more times it is deeply discharged. Some types of batteries will tolerate more deep discharges than others, but eventually it buggers them. Keeping a battery close to fully charged at all times is the key to long life but is not always practical.

The theory that some have, that deep cycle batteries like to be discharged deeply and it is good for them, is a myth.

Have a look here.

http://www.windsun.com/Batteries/Battery_FAQ.htm#AGM,%20or%20Absorbed%20Glass%20Mat%20Batteries

Some very useful information.

Hope to have been of some help.

AnswerID: 92678