New Toy - 69 Landrover

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:19
ThreadID: 19557 Views:1702 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Well since I don't have enough to do around the house and at work or the room for that matter, I have just purchased a new project to work on, picking it up this weekend. It is a 1969 Landrover ute, needed a ute anyway, he justifies to his girlfriend.
Its all for fun and something to work on and eventually get back on the road as a run about. Can't wait to pick it up
69 Landy Ute

Hopefully there are some people here who have or have had something similar

Crazie

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:31

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:31
does it have an holden motor in it? it seems most of them do. A freind of mine bought an unfinished project with a 318 val v8 but it needed disc brakes to be reg he couldnt fit the range rover axles so he tried a turbocharged val 245 but it was too long. Long story but as a result it ended up going up in flames. Never start a motor sitting out of a vehicle in a hay shed
AnswerID: 93747

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 13:07

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 13:07
Hi Davoe
Yep, got a holden 202 with it, also has a conversion kit for a ford v8. More than likely I will stick with the 202 as I have access to another one which has done very little work. I will keep it off the hay... lol
crazie
FollowupID: 352738

Follow Up By: Sweeney - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 17:28

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 17:28
Some people put Daihatsu DG (2.5L) or DL (2.8) diesels in to Landies, particularly in the UK. Conversion kits are available. The DG engine are found in old Daihatsu Delta's (79-82?) and Scat's (82-83) while DL engine is found in later model Delta's (up to 84-86) and Scat's (84) also in Rocky's (84-on).
FollowupID: 352921

Reply By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:34

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:34
Looks a bit like an unfinished project. Should give you hours of fun and m/t pockets for quite a while.

AnswerID: 93748

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:38

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:38
Mate go to this site most of the guys on here have the series landies, AULRO very helpfull and a good bunch.

AnswerID: 93750

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:46

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:46
Looks preety good the guys at aulro will help you with getting parts and stuff for this landie looks like a series II at a guess.

FollowupID: 352732

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 13:04

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 13:04
Hi Baz

Thanks for the site, great to have some experts to chat to. I just have to work out what I have and whats missing, heaps of spare parts with it. I think your right, a series 2A maybe, have to check out the headlights to confirm
Crazie
FollowupID: 352737

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 13:10

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 13:10
Well these guys will help for sure just check out the gallery there are heaps in there, good luck and have fun i missed out on a series III wagon one of the other guys on the forum beat me to it, i've been searching for one myself or a Rangie as a toy.

FollowupID: 352739

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 15:03

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 15:03
Baz, I wouldn't mind a play Rangie either having let mine go four years ago with 177K kms on the clock. It was a manual too. First of the injections in 1986. Not so much fun though if you part drowned one with the puter under the seat. T H U U R S T Y though with a capital T if you pushed it. Gave it a repaint before we sold it too. It was better cross country than the one you know, that is about to go......
FollowupID: 352744

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 15:04

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2005 at 15:04
Looks like a lotta work. I reckon you are crazie to take that amount of work on, Crazie LOL.

Is it my imagination or has the front guards been altered to fit larger tyres?????? Maybe it is just the photo you took. Photo 3 looks like the guard around the tyre does not look smooth. I don't know a thing about fixing up cars so I was just curious.

Anyway looks like you will have something to help fill in the time.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 93782

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:35

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:35
Hi Sparkie

I think it is just the pic, I had to double check but. On the seem where the guard meets the door there is a change in the undercoat colour.

It should be good, something to have some fun in

cheers mate

ps. fixing up cars is always an unknown project
FollowupID: 352859

Reply By: Baldrick - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:11

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:11
If it's a 1969 then it's a IIA. Series II was 1958-62.

The first IIAs had the headlights in the grille, they moved them to the wings in late '70 I think which was primarily due to safety regs for the Aussie market.

Series II had a crashbox, IIA has synchro on 3rd and 4th.
AnswerID: 93885

Reply By: Member - T-bone (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:47

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:47
Hi Crazie.

After reading some of your previous posts, I had a feeling you were a man of class and distinction! And with a name like that, you're perfectly suited to owning a Land Rover.... :)

T-Bone.
AnswerID: 93892

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:57

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2005 at 09:57
LOL... sorry would hate to mis-lead anyone haha .... by name and by nature.

ps great shot on the bike, tried to get something similar with me on my blade, but my girlfriend always gets a great shot of the road behind me haha
FollowupID: 352862