gq patrol/ ford maverick 93 model

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 23, 2005 at 15:49
ThreadID: 19697 Views:6664 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
i have been haveing problems for quite a while with my gq,the vechile is petrol fited with gas.its in very good condition,the vechile is used for work ,im a builder.ok ,6 months back the patrol started to backfire thru the carby,on both petrol and gas.the car was taken to the nissan dealer who fitted new plugs leads points ,fixed the prob for a while,tookit back ,did timeing ,checked valves ,all sorts of things ,lots of dollars later still backfireing ,took it to another mec,this time plugs points and welded a piece of wire onto the rotar button,still baskfireing,lots of people have looked at it,anyway i fitted a new coil[ good one]and good set of leads[wire],now ihave stopped it backfireing on gas, but not on petrol.has anybody any ideas a few grand later i could do with some ideas.paul
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: petza - Sunday, Jan 23, 2005 at 16:19

Sunday, Jan 23, 2005 at 16:19
hi paul, i have a 92 maverick and had the same problem back in early may last, had a new dissy cap and rotar fitted and has been 100% since. the told me the spark had to be 100% for gas and it did effect it on petrol as well. hope this helps .
petza
AnswerID: 94542

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2005 at 21:43

Sunday, Jan 23, 2005 at 21:43