YES - my stinky old finger is pointing at you...

Submitted: Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 20:46
ThreadID: 19869 Views:2961 Replies:24 FollowUps:79
Is any large 4WD capable of cruising comfortably on 160+kmh on the blacktop. A bloke reckons he needs it in the NT for business purposes - Long bitumen work followed by a smallish amount of decent low range work. Could decent A/T tyres handle this anyway??

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 20:52

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 20:52
Yes
AnswerID: 95437

Follow Up By: zac_sprint - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 10:59

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 10:59
Tell him to get a plane if he needs to travel at those speeds all the time. And I'm not joking- tradies and other business people in the NT/Outback who need to get around use planes to do their jobs.

He'll have his 4wd in the repairers more often than on the road running into wildlife all the time.
FollowupID: 354255

Follow Up By: Flute - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:15

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:15
planes need runways and are crap in low range
FollowupID: 354264

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 23:25

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 23:25
Runways are no issue in NT!!
FollowupID: 354359

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 21:03

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 21:03
Mr Piccolo,

With suitably rated tyres (and there are many A/T's rated to well over 160 km/h) and proper suspension is it is safe in the right conditions.

PS: Just how did your finger get so stinky? LOL
AnswerID: 95439

Follow Up By: Flute - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 21:10

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 21:10
about the finger - i decided to take some advice and pull it out.
FollowupID: 354187

Reply By: tonysmc - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:08

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:08
For tyre ratings http://www.4wdworld.com.au/tipstricks/tireterm_O4.htm
As for cruising around at 160+ , Is he from up here as most of us aren't in that much of a hurry.
AnswerID: 95449

Reply By: Bjorn - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:10

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:10
I'm not sure there is a diesel that will be capable of doing that. does he need diesel? someone here reckoned they got their old gq diesel up to 145!
AnswerID: 95450

Follow Up By: paj - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:38

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:38
On the back of whose truck ;-)

Paj
FollowupID: 354232

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 23:25

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 23:25
Not even off the empire state building...
FollowupID: 354358

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:26

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:26
I've seen another Grand Cherokee CRD (turbo-diesel) do 165 easily. He reckoned that he had another few more kays to go. Same would go for the Merc ML270 and BMW X5 T/D's - common rail diesels are pretty quick as far as 4WD engines go.
AnswerID: 95453

Follow Up By: Flute - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:52

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:52
tell me - are those grand cherokee diesels any good? how have you found it?
FollowupID: 354207

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:20

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:20
The engines and gearboxes are brilliant - both Merc. originals - not licensed re-makes like some others. The 'box is a liquid-smooth 5-speed. The engine is unbelievable from the lights and high-speed cruising - it has dollops of torque (400nm in standard form, and up to 480nm with a chip-up) that get it goinf plenty fast. It's so like a petrol that it can be confused for one from inside the cabin.

The rest of the car is good - and I've had no problems with mine. It, being American in design (but made in Graz, Austria) is super comfortable - no mistakes about it. It would make a top high-speed dirt-roader and NT super-tourer.
FollowupID: 354213

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:27

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:27
Oh, I forgot to mention...... it has live axles front and rear, and is pretty capable off-road as well. This helps.... :)
FollowupID: 354217

Follow Up By: Bjorn - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:14

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:14
thats not very smart - buying the same crap vehicle 6 times! LOL
FollowupID: 354461

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 19:49

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 19:49
"Interesting chrispy. I am interested as to how you arrived at that assumption as it is surely not from first hand experience."

WHAT are you talking about? What 1st hand experience? Explain.

Yup - ML's are made in America - your folk's bad luck. Mine is made in Graz - hence the "WG" moniker rather than "WJ" as the Americans get. RHD variants are all Austrian made - if you want irrefutable proof - just ask.

I wouldn't buy a ML-series Merc either!!! LOL!!!
FollowupID: 354488

Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:45

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 22:45
VW Touareg V10 diesel would be well within its limits I would think, if U have the dollars, but maybe unsuitable for OZ off road.
AnswerID: 95455

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:01

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:01
My old 80 series turbo intercooled petrol would run 250kph in 5th gear on the rev limiter, even in the dirt, and when it was running those speeds in the Aus safari, it was using BF All Terrains, also did some rallies on 35 x 12.5 BF mud terrains in that car, which stood up to 200kph plus dirt driving, even while we grabbed fastest time on some stages..

My 40 with 454 on 36" tyres would run 200kph, even with 10 psi in the tyres in the bush while racing my bro and friends who were on 600 dirt bikes....... trying to catch me 8-).

My current V6 rodeo goes to 185 kph, on the dirt back roads going home.

And my current prado TD with dtronic and 285's runs 159kph by the gps in 5th, faster in 4th but to many rpm for to long hwy, last trip to qld, driving at night especially once past Dubbo, we were doing flat 140-160kph hwy on the MTR's, fully loaded, for a 3 week stay at Moreton/fraser/nth straddie covering 1240km in just under 10 hrs.
AnswerID: 95459

Follow Up By: Flute - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:10

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:10
are you serious about those speeds? those 80 series figures - were the heck did you get those from?? righteo, my mate has an old GQ that has a small vibration in the steering at 300kmh. can anyone help?
FollowupID: 354210

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:16

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:16
before you completely dismiss what you dont fully understand, go get a copy of 95 and 96 Aus safari vids, is some good footage IIRC of the 80 [dark blue] outrunning the bell jet ranger choppers filming the action from the sky.

The car was first by a good margin until 2nd last day in 95, when it put the fan through the radiator, and finished 2nd to Bruce Garlands factory holden team in 96.

Some may of also seen some footage of that car just after I sold it, as stormin norman99 from woodpecker.
FollowupID: 354212

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:41

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:41
Hehe, stormin norman's bit at the top of the hill was unexpected...
FollowupID: 354223

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:51

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:51
Yes, and it was the first of 3 times in a short period the new owner tipped that car over.

Left me thinking I should of detuned it further, before selling it to him...........
FollowupID: 354225

Follow Up By: Flute - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:09

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:09
so why did tha fan go through the radiator? is this another toyota issue you have kept secret? ;)
FollowupID: 354229

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 06:52

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 06:52
Flute, your so tactful [NOT!] wen you have no where else to go, while waiting for paint to dry from your corner, but no, a steep creek crossing, to much speed, sudden deceleration, some chains from the engine to the chassis, and a ring attached to the radiator the same dia as the fan blades fixed the issue for the following year though.
FollowupID: 354239

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 08:41

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 08:41
Interesting that the Prado is faster in 4th. Must be a Toyota thing. 5th seems to be a bit long for the engines. It was the same with the early Hiluxes. When driving Govt hiluxes in the 80's we used to race home to the office along dirt and finally bitumen. I won every race after I realised 5th was too long and 4th would destroy the engine, so I used to really quickly slip the clutch when at full song in fifth. The engine would gain 500 rpm and slowly decay after about 3 kilometres, so I''d slip it again and so on.
FollowupID: 354244

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:15

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:15
Only one 4WD capable of this the FORD EXPLORER not a problem it will sit on 180kph all day NO PROBLEM thats what they are for, long distance cruisers, nothing comes close !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You want a fast 4WD, Ford Explorer is it.

Another thing i had ours to 210 kph !!! the auto will do more.
AnswerID: 95465

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:49

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:49
providing it doesnt have OE tyres of course........... ;-)
FollowupID: 354224

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:00

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:00
Yep stay away from those tyres, thats how it got it's name the Exploder.

FollowupID: 354226

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 06:50

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 06:50
well, tyres, and engine, and auto issues, all 'exploding" is how it gets the EXPLODER title.
FollowupID: 354238

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:42

Friday, Jan 28, 2005 at 23:42
The LX470 will sit on 180 with ease but you can see the fuel gauge moving to the left. So I'd expect the V8 cruiser to be capable of that sort of speed too. It may be worth waiting for the new Discovery - 220kW should give some speed.
AnswerID: 95467

Reply By: Member - Brian H (WA) - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:41

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 00:41
It's quite common in north-west WA to buy the new turbo diesel F series. They then buy a new chip for the EFI and their off. Not uncommon for them to go 160+ for extended time. Had one sneak up on me when I was on the bike. I was going pretty quick so I wasn't watching the mirrors but he passed me at around 180 and kept going. The ZZR1100 isn't a slouch. Interesting to see how the new ford 4L V6 goes.
AnswerID: 95474

Reply By: Savvas - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 07:59

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 07:59
I'd say most modern 4bys will do over 160km/h given correctly rated tyres. However, if that was a necessary requirement then I'd be looking for one that has nice long gearing for those speeds.

I have briefly had my 3.5 Jackaroo upto 170km/h (approx 4000rpm in top gear) it felt like it could happily stay at that speed, but it would be drinking the juice at a horrendous pace.
AnswerID: 95484

Reply By: drivesafe - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 09:45

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 09:45
It depends on what your mate wants to spend. I sat on 160 kph with the cruise control on the Rangy doing all the work and it had no trouble keeping that up for ages. This was in outback NSW and you could see for miles.
The RR is designed for high speed use on the Autobarns so it is right at home at that speed. It has a number of features designed to automatically increase the safety and comfort levels at speed, including the fact that the they come standard with tyres on them that are rated for high speed use.
The disadvantage is that mine is a diesel so fuel consumption is savage at that speed, the V8 would be far better for continuos use at those speeds.
AnswerID: 95492

Follow Up By: Flute - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:14

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:14
what are you saying - diesel chews more fuel at high revs than unleaded? the RR sounds good tho, as he is fairly cashed up and will go through the company.
FollowupID: 354263

Follow Up By: Savvas - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:18

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:18
I'd expect (guess) the V8's fuel consumption would be worse than the diesel.
FollowupID: 354265

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 15:22

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 15:22
The problem is that the RR is 2.5 tonnes and while the 3L diesel is great on fuel consumption up to 120 kph. I average less than 9.5 L/P 100 km on long trips, going any faster drives the fuel consumption up pretty quickly.
Whereas the V8s would not be working so hard at 160 kph.
There are few, if any vehicles that come close the RR for comfort, handling and safety when it come to long distance driving.
The only other vehicle to consider for high speed driving is the BMW 4WD, and again this vehicle was designed for the Autobahns in Europe.
FollowupID: 354272

Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 11:10

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 11:10
Lots of vehicles will do 160, but does your mate want to be stopping to refuel every 250km?
AnswerID: 95500

Reply By: Member - Anni M (SA) - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 11:12

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 11:12
EEKKK!!! Can you all let me know what your rego numbers are so I can hide when you come zipping past, while I plod along. I haven't a clue what the top speed of our 4x4 is, I'm quite happy staying in my own safety zone of about 110kms/hour.
Perhaps I reallly am turning into a little old lady!
Anni
AnswerID: 95502

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 11:24

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 11:24
Hi anni M, I haven’t a clue what the top speed of mine is either but the opportunity was there to see how it cruised at speed, out in the wide open spaces, so I did.
The rest of the time it travels at the speed limit too. Besides, I couldn’t afford the cost of keeping fuel up to it at high speed.
FollowupID: 354258

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 16:23

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 16:23
when purchasing my 80s diesal I held it flat to make sure it went like it should and to see if it would overheat. It reached a respectable 150kph which i thought was pretty fair foe a 1hz bog stock
FollowupID: 354278

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 19:33

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 19:33
Hi Davoe, even taking in that both the RR and the BMW were designed high speed Autobahn use and that the latest RR is probably the largest 4WD on the Australian road at this time, I personally would not like to push one for any length of time at high speeds. Even it’s large size is going to be of little protection at speed if anything should occur.
I’ve had mine to 180 kph while over taking and nearly died in the butt when I looked down at the speedo and saw what I was doing. That's way beyond anything I would ever need and I have no intentions of finding out what it’s top end is, just don’t need to know.
FollowupID: 354302

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:54

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 12:54
3.5v6 manual jackaroo, standard with s rated tyres for 180k, b/stone 683/694 are s rated as well, vic cops out of alex etc. use them for chasedowns as well as off road work.

Being japanese built they have the 180k speed limiter fitted and they will sit quite happily just under this, but they do cruise really easily at 160 without being too thirsty especially if you run 38-40 psi in the tyres.

But like any car you shouldnt flog them along in 35+ heat.

mine goes like a champion at speed (or so ive been told mr plod) but couldnt keep up with a friends r34 gtr v'spec skyline - funny that !!
AnswerID: 95511

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 18:33

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 18:33
Forgot to say, there was a company in melb doing turboed 100 series cruisers for the saudi market a few years back, built to go flat out across the desert, damn could those things move, AVO it could have been..
FollowupID: 354295

Follow Up By: speedo - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 20:38

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 20:38
Those Motors weren't lancruiser motors they were twin turbo chev v8's and the like.
FollowupID: 354308

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 11:08

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 11:08
nah these were brand new vehicles with standard motors, boosted and tuned then straight on a boat, similar to the supercharged ss gen 3 commodores that go over.

Toyo motors handle 6-8 psi easily.
FollowupID: 354391

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:40

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:40
The company was AVO and APS/Safari who did the turbo kit on my 80.

The 4.5 kit I had was running 10 psi boost making over 220kw @ the rear wheels, and the engine went into another 80 running straight lpg and 20 psi boost and making 285 rear wheel kw.

http://www.airpowersystems.com.au/safari/turbo/1fzfe_100/1fzfe_int_turbo.html
FollowupID: 354469

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 09:25

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 09:25
Hi Go, that sounds like them, nice system from memory.

One of my nicest memories from the finke a few years back was of bruce in the works v6jack going flat bikkie along one of the straight sand track sections straight past the camera howling like a banshee. They interviwed him afterwards and he said it was something like 7500 rpm in 5th about 220 odd ks. looked awesome.

Your beast sounds like it was pretty nice too, pitty about the rad / fan incident.

As for you Pedro AKA jonno, get a life , only pop in on weekends now eh? cause the mods cant bar you till a weekday. Top form champ, you will go far in life with an attitude like this.
FollowupID: 354580

Reply By: johnsie - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 13:02

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 13:02
Its the norm for 4wd,s to cruise around $120 to $150 on nt roads.Alot will have nt govt plates.
AnswerID: 95513

Reply By: speedo - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 19:28

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 19:28
We had to hire an 80 series petrol after we rolled the work vehicle a few years ago. It would do an easy 170 to 180 towing a small auger drilling rig. Fuel economy when tobleepbut we sure did get there in a hurry. Didnt maintain that speed for long though as it didnt want to stay in the one lane it kept wandering all over the place like a boat.
AnswerID: 95549

Reply By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 21:44

Saturday, Jan 29, 2005 at 21:44
My Pajero NL manual recommends using overdrive when exceeding 200kph.

RR
AnswerID: 95571

Reply By: Bjorn - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 16:11

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 16:11
you said your friend is cashed up, so has he considered the porsche cayenne turbo? It is reputed to be the worlds fastest 4wd - enough in standard trim to comfortably crud on all vehicles mentioned so far, including that crazy sounding 80 series backyard jobbie. At 160 you could probably tow a substantial fuel supply to help offset the 3mpg fuel consumption.
AnswerID: 95657

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:43

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:43
A tuning house in germany now does a hot up kit with 8 piston calipers, bigger rotors 22" wheels, 55okw and 1270nm for the porcshe.
FollowupID: 354470

Follow Up By: speedo - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:46

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:46
What about the VW tourag or what ever its called with the V10 and 800nm or torque. Doesnt look to bad and its a lot cheaper then the Cayenne turbo.
That will cruise along at 160 to 200 no problem.
FollowupID: 354474

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:49

Sunday, Jan 30, 2005 at 18:49
still a volkswagon.......vs a porsche....... vw is a bit like having a nissan instead of a toyota really..... ;-)
FollowupID: 354476

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 09:32

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 09:32
Just came to mind - BMW X5 , dunno about low range stuff but awesome as a high speed tourer, got a copy of a mag where they are even towing with them at 160-180 they were certainly damn impressed with them on road.
AnswerID: 95773

Reply By: Flute - Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 13:12

Monday, Jan 31, 2005 at 13:12
Thanks for your responses everyone.
AnswerID: 95830