Toyota Prado - pros & cons

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 02:20
ThreadID: 20059 Views:17287 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All.

I am new to the 4wd scene and am currently considering purchasing a 2nd hand Toyata Prado (2000-2001 model) but would like to find out more information about them before I buy one.

The vehicle I buy will be predominately used around town but I am keen to get on the beach and explore the many wonderful places in South East Quensland I am often told about.

Can people submit information about what sort of fuel economy I can expect from a Prado including petrol vs diesel. And is extra outlay for a diesel, worth it considering that this vehicle will be mainly used around town

What are the service costs like on such a vehicle? diesel vs petrol?

And is there anything in particular I should be looking out for when inspecting Prado's before I purchase?

Anyo ther relavent info would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 06:57

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 06:57
Boony
for town use petrol is the go: lower emissions, better drivability.
For beach work the Prado diesel is a bit underpowered compared with the petrol and other diesels for that matter.
So if you really must get a Prado the petrol would be my choice.
AnswerID: 96387

Follow Up By: Member - big bo (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 08:39

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 08:39
C'Mon Boony,
My Prado Diesel outperforms my mates Nissan 3 litre diesel every time on any type of sand, have you owned a prado diesel before, what do you base your comments on, don't forget to let your tyres down, even though I rarely have to.
You will surely stir the Prado diesel owners up. Next you will be telling all that the Terracan is a great truck.
What next.
FollowupID: 355131

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 11:40

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 11:40