hand held GPS

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 16:28
ThreadID: 20144 Views:2092 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
I have (had) a Lowrance Ifinder hand held GPS.
It's been rolling around in the consul for 6 months and used hand held when I need it.
I decided to mount in on a pod bracket off the dash - all flash like.
To cut a long story short - I let the smoke out and it doesn't work any more.

(I forgot there was a voltage reduction circuit in the cig plug socket and cut it off, wired it direct to 12 volts - and I'm an electronics tech - Mr XXXX has a lot to answer to - give me a break, it was a hot day).

I need another - should I buy the same again or is there something better?
What are most outback drivers using these days?
Sorry if this question has been asked to death - I can't find anything that helps me make the decision.

Thanks.

Dave >
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Davo - Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 16:45

Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 16:45
Dave,
I have a look at http://www.gpsoz.com.au/
also - it might help if you can make your mind up if you want BOTH land mapping, plus marine mapping capability out of your hand-held.
The new Magellan Meridian's are pretty good. I've got a Magellan Meridian Gold (it's actually for sale for $400 pph if you'd like it)
My pic at the moment would be the new Garmin GPS276C.
It's a great compromise between size and functionality; but hey - you're buying it, so you're best to have a look at one in the flesh IMHO.
I noticed that your username indicates some fishing interest; in unknown waters these little beauties are great; this is where the handhelds really come into their own. Magellan's Meridian Gold/Marine units are great for this application. I've seen them with the bluechart software loaded into them - very impressive. Just note that the software for maping doesn't come cheaply.

I hope I haven't confused you too much with the above.