Wrangler ATR or Dueler D693

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 12, 2005 at 23:11
ThreadID: 20389 Views:7193 Replies:10 FollowUps:4
Anyone running the Goodyear Wrangler ATRs or Bridgestone Dueler A/T D693s have comments good or bad regarding traction offroad, handling wear & tear? Looking at alternatives to the CooperST & BFG A/T.
Cheers Craig............

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 00:47

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 00:47
Hi Craig
I have a set of Dueler A/T D693s in the 119/116Q load/speed rating (equivalent to 8 ply) on my LC80. Traction offroad is good in sand, rocks, and dirt. Haven't had any mud to try them in yet. The 8 ply tyres seem to be less prone to sidewall damage, although I did wreck one on a star dropper (my fault, not the tyre's). They are excellent on sand. Mine was the only vehicle in our convoy recently that didn't get bogged on Gunya Beach in Coffin Bay National Park, and I was fully loaded (running 18psi on the sand).
Stone chipping occurs on gibber roads such as the Oodnadatta Track, but this only occurs if we go above 80km/h on the rough stuff. Otherwise I'm happy with the wear.
I should get 40,000 km out of the set, which is pretty good on these roads. Most of the local cattle station vehicles average 30,000 km from a set of tyres. You'd probably get more km if you spend more time on the bitumen than I do.
Oodnadatta
Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 98081

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 20:53

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 20:53
If they wear well out there they must be tough. Thanks John.
FollowupID: 356685

Reply By: Member - Glenn P (SA) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 02:04

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 02:04
Hi Craig,

I have Wranler ATR's on my vehicle for road and soft offroad stuff including beach driving, have found them to very good for traction etc. wemt away a couple of times with guys with coopers on and they both suffered puntures. Of course this sometimes is the luck of the draw. Have only travelled 21,000K to this point but tyres are only just over 1third worn, have done the flinders, simpson, and lots of costal trips, around Robe S.A. I must admit we are going through the kimberley in a couple of months and I have bought sunrasia rims with wrangler MTR's for trips like this, one reason is you can bang a dent out in these rims, can't in the mags I run normally.
AnswerID: 98088

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 04:21

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 04:21
G'day Crackles,
I have the Wrangler AT/Rs (265/75R16) on my GU... These have a load/speed rating 116/T...
Only 20-odd thou on 'em so far, & the bulk of those Ks have been towing a tandem axle camper...
Did a trip "across the middle" last year, which included the Sandy Blight Junction Rd., & the section of the CSR between well33 & Georgia Bore.. Did it with ease! (on appropriate pressures, of course)...
Mid-way thru that trip (we were in Perth), due to a "family crisis", we had to rush home (Toowoomba) in rather a hurry, so we rushed back on the tar, sitting on (or above) the speed limit at every available opportunity (towing the afore-mentioned trailer, remember)... Not a whimper of complaint from the tyres...
So far, these tyres have seen plenty of sand, gravel roads, some gibber, & a small amt. of mud.. no problems whatsoever, & there's not a mark on them...
I didn't measure the tread depth when new, but from appearance, they look hardly worn at all, so I'm "cautiously optimistic" about their longevity...

In summary, At this stage I have absolutely no reason to regret the purchase, and will certainly consider getting the same again when these (or the B'stones on the trailer) are due for replacement...

Regards, Ed. C.

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 98090

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 08:51

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 08:51
Have had plenty of good reports on the GY ATR's, as they are same carcass construction as the MTR, which is the tougher of all the AT tyres available currently.

My rodeo has the bridgies, and the word "awful" probably sums them up best, noise like a crook wheel bearing at low speed, wet bitumen they are not nice, they dont like gravel, and they wear faster than the GY.
AnswerID: 98096

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 09:16

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 09:16
Got D693s on the GU, I suspect they were not new so don't know how long they will last. I suspect they'll need changing when my speedo reads 35k. Can't fault them on sand or bitumen from the ittle work I've given them so far. From all the reports I've read I'll probably go Goodyear MTRs next time depending on what deals I can do at the time.
AnswerID: 98101

Reply By: Red Patrol - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 12:42

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 12:42
Craig,
I've got the Aussie made D 693 and have done over 30K without a problem. They are the 31 10 R 15 on a GQ a mate with Coopers has done similar trips and has chipping whilst mine don't. I'm very happy and estimate I'll get another 30-40K out of them. We've done Simpson, B'ville and Innaminka area in two trips from melbourne. I think price wise I'll get the same again. (I don't know thew price of the Goodyear thou)
Red
AnswerID: 98124

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 14:20

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 14:20
I was under the impression that the new Bridgestone A/T were 694's.
AnswerID: 98133

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 19:42

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 19:42
That's right, but there are still a lot of D693s around.
Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

FollowupID: 356673

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 21:03

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 21:03
On the Bidgestone site they currently show both patterns. I assume then that the D693s will soon become obsolete. Craig.......
FollowupID: 356686

Reply By: TheUndertaker - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 22:10

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 22:10
Got the 694s to replace my 80,000k pirrellis,, tread patern "more aggressive " than the 693s .,,,,694s is "donuts " technology ,, have now only done 6,000ks, h/way /beach,, still have the manufacturing "pips" on them, so far would recomend.
AnswerID: 98218

Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 22:55

Sunday, Feb 13, 2005 at 22:55
I've had 693s on the Challenger now for over 70,000kms (les a few hundred for when the muddies go on) & have been happy with them. they wear evenly on my car at least & still have at least 30-40% life left in them. Not too special in mud but everywhere else they seem great.
AnswerID: 98221

Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Monday, Feb 14, 2005 at 10:41

Monday, Feb 14, 2005 at 10:41
For your car Craig you probably need load range E (or F, G)

John D
AnswerID: 98266

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Feb 14, 2005 at 21:38

Monday, Feb 14, 2005 at 21:38
Actually a friend was asking what tyres to get for her 4 Runner. Does nearly 60K on the road & only 5K off.
You know me, if the tyres arn't humming on the road, the lugs can't be big enough. May explain why I'm running the Mud Terrains on the bitchi at the moment ;-) Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 356841