membership

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 00:25
ThreadID: 20493 Views:2164 Replies:17 FollowUps:34
Hmm .... Invoice has arrived... am I too stingy to pay up $30 so that my rig pic can appear when I make a comment??... other benifits??? I guess it's nice to support this site financially... but plenty don't ... what were those benefits again?

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 00:39

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 00:39
Let your conscience be your guide, Royce.

I've saved far more than the price of admission in advice from this site and been entertained far more than that. Personally, I was happy to pay.

I don't think any differently about a fellow forumite whether they are a member or not.

As a tip, if you buy enough maps or whatever from the shop, you get your membership renewal for free.

Smocky.
AnswerID: 98598

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 00:41

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 00:41
warm inner glow at being part of the "in crowd"?

see if there is anything you need in the shop. spend $70 and they will chuck in your renewal free. might even get another sticker!!!!! like wow man!

Muddy
AnswerID: 98599

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:23

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:23
I cruise the shop regularly then buy cheaper elsewhere... But it is nice to have that inner glow.
FollowupID: 357080

Reply By: DukeAtty - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 07:54

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 07:54
Yes i agree...My membership under another name has just expired and i chose not to renew for similar reasons... Not to mention that when i had some difficulties posting a jpg with a trader ad i think it took three emails to head office to get a response which made up my mind..
Great site though dont get me wrong,, i really like it,,, one of the main reasons i even turn on this pc but when you are paying for something a response from an email is not much to ask for....
AnswerID: 98612

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 08:33

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 08:33
Im with Smocky on this one, value for money, and i will definately renew my membership when it's due....
AnswerID: 98617

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:24

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:24
Good on you.... peer group pressure is working on me.
FollowupID: 357081

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 09:19

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 09:19
I can't believe that people who look at this site nearly every day, ask questions, get answers and great information are reluctant to pay the hugh sum of under $1.00 per day.
AnswerID: 98625

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:26

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:26
Point well taken.... however $1/day spread over all the other possible places can add up. I said... 'stingy'.... My hand is on my credit card already though.
FollowupID: 357082

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 09:21

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 09:21
Sorry for my over spending, that should have been Under $1.00 per WEEK.
AnswerID: 98626

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:27

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:27
I didn't notice the fiscal mistake.... heck IT IS CHEAP.... OKAY,.... OKAY... I'll rejoin.
FollowupID: 357083

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 09:28

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 09:28
Ahhh.....Pure entertainment me old mate, and you can be controversial up to the point of having a post deleted :o)

Basically being a Member is an ego thing. You display your pride and joy and tell everyone in the annals of your rig pic how much crap you carry around with you.

At .008 cents per day it certainly is value for money.
AnswerID: 98628

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 15:55

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 15:55
Nice rig pic buddie, you gettin all sentimental on us now ? or did you buy the old girl back ?

For me - membership is well worth it to support the facilities here, saved me heaps of dough over time through great info which ensured dodgy purchases didnt get made.. And if i'm paying for access here i'm not going to pull a "jonno1" and make a mess of it.
FollowupID: 357078

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:29

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:29
Dammit.... you're right... and I do have a BIG EGO.
FollowupID: 357084

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 20:50

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 20:50
G'day Bradley

No didn't buy the old girl back(took her for a run tho at the beginning of January and realised how familiar I had become to my new found 'luxury'). The rig pic is just a nostalgic look at Yesteryear. Found the pic somewhere on the net
FollowupID: 357121

Reply By: Member - Rob J (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 10:37

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 10:37
This is to Willem,

You don't know what you are talking about.

Being a member of anything is not an ego thing.

Not being a member of this site is just plain stingy,
your name is up here in bright lights very often along with a few
others who won't put their hands in their pockets either.
AnswerID: 98632

Follow Up By: japmel - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:06

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:06
Rob J

Mate you might want to have another look.
I don't know for sure but I think Willem is a member.

japmel (not a member yet but when shimbo gives me the money I will be)
FollowupID: 357037

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:16

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:16
japmel,
who is shimbo?

FollowupID: 357038

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:22

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:22
Funnily enough I'm going through similar thought processors on renewing membership.
Is a shimbo similar to a heshembo but of the opposite gender root stock?
FollowupID: 357040

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:25

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:25
Paul that would be "She Who INDEED Must Be Obeyed"
FollowupID: 357041

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:33

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:33
Oh, mine hasnt got to that stage yet, but im going to have to obey her soon with the amount of money ive spent lately, otherwise it might be the cat o 9 tales.....................
FollowupID: 357044

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 17:43

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 17:43
Rob J (WA) how do you like your humble pie, hot or cold. I've a feeling you might be eating some later. Willem is indeed a member of this site.
FollowupID: 357100

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:07

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:07
Hello Rob

Hahahahahahaha funneee

BTW I have been a Member here since 2002. But you are forgiven for not knowing.

Ofcourse its an ego thing, what else could it be...un less you are like my old mate Truckster who isnt a Member but has posted regularly over the past three or four years.

Initially I was granted membership as I spent some dollars in the shop. I have renewed membership ever since.

As I said it is great entertainment and keeps me busy when not travelling. Having been around the 4x4 scene for many years I still find good value from this site and have learnt lots of things especially of an electronic natur., Have also contributed to the trek notes in the form of trip reports and mapping.

So now you know who I am
FollowupID: 357127

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:19

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:19
>This is to Willem,
>You don't know what you are talking about.

True, he sometimes doesn't – especially when he tries to be political :)

>Being a member of anything is not an ego thing.

It may well be - depends what it is.

>Not being a member of this site is just plain stingy,

Now this is where I take exception.

This site is a commercial operation - it's not here for the benefit of users but for the benefit of the owners. I have no problem with that – business is business and they should operate it in the way they consider will benefit them the most, that’s exactly how I run my business.

I have a web page on an Amateur Radio site in the USA, that site _is_ run (free of charge) for the benefit of users and the owner requests that members make a donation - that's fine with me.

>your name is up here in bright lights very often along with a few
>others who won't put their hands in their pockets either.

With all due modesty - I am an expert in my field of electronics and control systems - for many years people have paid me good money for my knowledge. I offer that knowledge to this site free of charge - to take or reject as it chooses - it often takes me a fair time to construct replies to posts - I can assure you; the time I spend on those tasks would earn me a hell of a lot more than $50 a year.

If this site _only_ had the benefit of knowledge from members it would be a lot less valuable than it is. Why ever do you think it doesn't restrict access to members only?

So apart from your $50 what do _you_ contribute?

FollowupID: 357130

Follow Up By: japmel - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:27

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:27
OK yeah I got it It was a case of brain not keeping up with fingers.
Thats my excuse anyway.

Should be swmbo

Red faced
japmel
FollowupID: 357132

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:34

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:34
Hi Mike,

I have utmost respect for most of what you say. Indeed I have the utmost respect for what MOST people say on this forum.

I don't know David and Michelle at all and I've only been a member for a short time, so can't claim that I've been here from the start or anything like that. I stumbled onto a good thing.

The point I want to make now that I've set the scene, is that there are plety of businesses that DON'T just exist for the benefit of the owners. In fact, I would say the really good businesses recognise this fact. I believe this site is much more of a community than simply a customer base. The trip gatherings, the advice, the plot swaps etc all make no money for the owners, but are provided for the benefit of the people whom visit here whether they are members or not. Whether the PRIMARY aim of this site is to make money or cover costs is irrelevant IMHO. I think it is exceptional value to members.

As I said in my original post, everyone should let their conscience be their guide. If you feel it is good value, then you should become a member, which is in fact a bit like a donation. It's not compulsory. If you feel you contribute more than you receive then thats OK too. As I said, I think of everyone equal on here, just that I get to learn a little bit more about the members via the photos and details in their profile.

This site is, to me, the best site on the net because of the good quality of people whom visit and contribute.

Long may it continue......

Jason.

FollowupID: 357133

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:48

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 21:48
Mike, remember ages ago we were talking about synching genny's I got the info from a mate, if you like to email me at bonz@sclsd.net.au i can send what he reckoned off to you

FollowupID: 357137

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:33

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:33
Me i'll make up my mind when the time comes, one thing though i won't be posting about it.
Royce whatever you decide mate will be the right decision either way.

AnswerID: 98641

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:51

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:51
Baz, have you worked out which day for travelling to Murray?
FollowupID: 357048

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:31

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:31
Aw shucks.... I'm okay either way.... now I think that I just have to support financially.
FollowupID: 357085

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 20:44

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 20:44
Sorry Paul thursday is fine now Ness has thursday night off so leaving thursday morning.
FollowupID: 357119

Reply By: Member - Rob J (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:38

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:38
Wouldn't Member Willem come up when he responded or posted
or is there a silent membership available that I don't know about.
Anyway the comment offended me.
AnswerID: 98642

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:43

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:43
Why did you take offence?
FollowupID: 357045

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:44

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 11:44
He's got a rig pic and mem msg thingy and besides don't have to have member in front of your name, as with me.

Baz (NSW)
FollowupID: 357046

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 19:26

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 19:26
I am a member and Member Bonz doesnt come up, maybe I need my thong fixed

FollowupID: 357106

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 12:16

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 12:16
Forum pics are only a very small part of the benifits see these two pages:

About Membership (shows ExplorOz rewards) and Advertiser Rewards.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 98650

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:35

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:35
Hmmmm ... I did spell benefit wrong, didn't I? I do feel a bit nasty having brought value into it. Sadly the benefits that I get relate to the forum only. The other things don't have any value for me.... I think the belonging really ... is the key. I also feel that the ExplorOz Team might be altruistic, well meaning, heart-in-the-right-place types, not so worried about the bottom-line.... so ...... I have that credit card hovering now........
FollowupID: 357086

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:36

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:36
PS.... can I get another sticker with my renewal???
FollowupID: 357087

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:41

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:41
Of course Royce you get another sticker.

FollowupID: 357089

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 17:58

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 17:58
I didn't know we got another sticker when we renewed!!...that's good enough reason for me. Not to mention I am so far ahead in money I have saved from advice on the forum that it's an easy decision.

One thing I wouldn't mind tho is an EO sticker with a magnetic base, I can't bring myself to put a sticker on the CT paintwork, no matters who's it is, just for resale value. I have made my own and its still there after several thousand k's, but it's a little rough around the edges compared to what a factory made one would look like.

While I'm typing, I'd like a member list that you could open and then message that member, rather than looking for old posts.
FollowupID: 357101

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 18:21

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 18:21
Gajm,

Part one - stick it on the rear window glass - it will not damage anything that way. For me I like to stick them all over the paint - when I take them off it is the only area of the paintwork that is not covered in scratches. Anyway go the glass it will be fine.

Part two - already available go to Members - Members Rigs - find the member and click on the name will take you to the profile and send message function.

FollowupID: 357104

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:01

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:01
Thanks David, I learned something new tonight about finding members.
Previously spent ages scrolling through old threads
Great facility
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 357141

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:03

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:03
Me again
David how many members are there in total?
Poppy
FollowupID: 357142

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:05

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:05
ooops just found member stats
red faced now
FollowupID: 357143

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 23:59

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 23:59
I knew when I wrote that about the membership you'd have it set up somewhere, how about a seperate "F.A.Q" tab (I know theres one in "about us"), adding things like how to do that hyper link thing! for those of us who are computer dill-iterates.

As for the sticker...the Camper Trailer has no glass, and at the price we paid I want any scratches on it be nice and even. The magnetic one I made works ok, and I am actualy interested to see just how long it lasts, wether it gets knocked off....or "knocked off", I was guessing there would be other members who'd like a magnetic option too, looks good on the house fridge aswell.
FollowupID: 357159

Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 12:32

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 12:32
I think its a great facility - very informative - I've learned a lot here - made quite a few contributions too - saved quite a lot of $ making decisions on advice from here - I've renewed because it seems only "fair" to me - also, the trader page adverts do produce results ! All that is worth a damned site more than $30/365 per day to me ! I think its called "support" !
AnswerID: 98655

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:37

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 16:37
I support your comments. Paying up now.
FollowupID: 357088

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 18:07

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 18:07
Good on ya Royce. And about the shop, sure you can probally save a couple of bucks here and there on goods, but hey it's so easy to order online. Maybe I'm just lazy! ;-)
And also can you save $30 on those maps/book/first aid gear etc? Cos that's the bonus your getting.

Me, I just bought some maps and books and stuff and got my membership and freight free so it saved me over $30. I reckon that's alright.
AnswerID: 98711

Reply By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 18:59

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 18:59
Sheeeeeeesh, what a bunch of stingy woooses, $30 bucks -whot a few packs of fags, few drinks!!!, not even the price of a good bottle wine.

And look at all the responses.

lol

Russell
AnswerID: 98713

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 19:23

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 19:23
well... My membership is almost due for renewal and I must confess that I had been thinking along the same lines as Royce.... but reading this thread has made me realise why I joined in the first place.... so when the time comes my card will be out as well!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 98716

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 19:46

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 19:46
Bought a Tambo camper last week and because Im a member here,I saved nearly $200.Added BONUS I reakon .
AnswerID: 98720

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:05

Wednesday, Feb 16, 2005 at 22:05
Being a South Aussie I would spend that on Iced Coffees in a week.
Dean
AnswerID: 98755