Installation of Dual Battery System

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 16:07
ThreadID: 20607 Views:20195 Replies:13 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All,

We have just been to the Victorian 4WD Expo in Wandin, what a great show. There was over a thousand different 4WD parked on the field. That allone was worth the trip.
We bought our Landcruiser 100 series last September and want to get a bit more serious about it. I am booked on a Driver Training Course with Adrian Du Jardin next weekend.
I am now thinking of installing a dual battery system. The guy from Piranha was quoting me approx. $1,000 for the complete installation. Weighs a bit heavy on my pocket. Considering, you can buy the hardware for just over $500, thought there may be some possible savings here. Has anyone installed a dual battery system by themselves? Is it very complicated (I'm not a mechanic)? Is there some good (on-line) instructions around?

Cheers for your help!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: macka - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:11

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:11
Hi If you go to ARB TJM or a good Auto sparky. Most of them will quote in the range of 450-550 installed. plus battery.( I use an Exide Extreme $135) for a basic setup,which does a good job. You don't need the fancy (read $$$$$$$)ones. My basic one from TJM using a smart solenoid $150. Instead of $400+ electronics. and battery cost under $650.and keeps my 80 ltr Waeco in a 3 ltr Patrol going no troubles.If you fit the battery mount kit yourself it will be cheaper again. but I don'r recommend playing with the electrical side. You've got your trade, they have theirs.We get 2 days comfortably, but do have 2 x 40 watt solarex on a long cable for when in camp.
Regards
Macka...
AnswerID: 99164

Follow Up By: paulpp - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:34

Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:34
I agree........

See below.....

Regards

Paul
FollowupID: 357498

Reply By: paulpp - Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 at 17:25