How fast should a 3way fridge get cold?

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:34
ThreadID: 20658 Views:2525 Replies:11 FollowUps:16
I have just bought a new 3 Way fridge (similar to the Repco ones) and have been testing it out on the front verandah.

On 240V it takes about 12hours to drop below 4 degrees. Fair enough when there is nothing inside to circulate cold air from the element. However, put a bottle of water in there straight from the tap, and it seem to take 24 hours to recover the temperature. I'm in the process of repeating the experiment on Gas, but the results seem similar.

I realise you should prechill everything before it goes into these fridges, but is this normal?

DavidT

Reply By: iMusty - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:49

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 09:49
Damn good question!!!

I have an old (15 old) Chescold 3way fridge, and my problem is similar to yours. It takes forever to get cold too. I go to gas and the same.

My thinking is to keep it running, but it is just bloody inconvient to do that.

I was thinking of just chucking it out or giving it away. but i'll wait to see your responces.
Thanks.

AnswerID: 99468

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 10:56

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 10:56
If you still want to give it away after all is said and done, consider this my hand being up.
Blue
FollowupID: 357778

Follow Up By: iMusty - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 12:07

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 12:07
Will you take me and my Coaster on 4wD tracks?
FollowupID: 357788

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 13:26

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 13:26
I should've known there would be a catch...
FollowupID: 357801

Follow Up By: iMusty - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 13:59

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 13:59
If the prospect of a Coaster on a 4by track is too off-putting, I respect that.

If I do give it away (which I probably will), I did see your hand up.

I have my eye on one of those Waecos' .

All I have to do is explain to my girlfriend (who is in fact my Ex-Wife) that she wants a Waeco too.

As I said though, I just want to see the thread for ideas and if nothing comes up, it's yours. NO STRINGS. OK?
FollowupID: 357803

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 14:47

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 14:47
You'd better have a good think about how to explain the waeco thing... She has already been your ex once, you don't want to go and stuff it up all over again... ;-)

Yup, the prospect of taking a Coaster on 4by tracks is off-putting from the following angle... From my limited knowledge of the tracks close to me, I don't think any of the tracks we frequent would be suitable for your coaster. In fact I was the slow poke when I had the little Daihatsu Rocky, regularly lacking power and traction for the task. Even with the Triton, I find the rather large turning circle sometimes hinders progress, usually only meaning a couple of bites at the corner but still a PITA. I am interested to see how you get along with it all though, if I thought I knew of a safe place for you to start I would go with you, I just don't fancy us both having a bad day...
Blue

FollowupID: 357809

Follow Up By: iMusty - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:18

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:18
I am just gonna have to bite the bullet sooner or later with both the Coaster and the fridge.

I appreciate your honesty. I don't want a bad day either. And you know what, after I wrote the last post I did remember how much I appreciate her. My Mrs. not the bus. Although I do simply love the bus.

It's just a matter of time before someone says "let's give the Coaster a go". I hope I havn't run out of stuff to bribe people with by then. LoL.

Blue, I will keep you posted.

iMusty
FollowupID: 357818

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 07:25

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 07:25
>All I have to do is explain to my girlfriend (who is in fact
>my Ex-Wife)

And I thought I was the risk taker on this forum! :)

FollowupID: 357936

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 10:27

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 10:27
Hi David,

I've got one of the Repco fridges and you can follow the saga by searching for "Repco 3-way".

Anyway, after having mine replaced, the testing I did showed the unit dropped from room temarature to a couple of degrees on gas in about 5 hours. This was empty.

Started it at around 6:00pm or so and in the morning it was -1.6C.

Make sure it is SPIRIT LEVEL, level. I even made an adjustable stand for mine.

Circulation shouldn't really be a problem, as the cooling element is at the top and cold air sinks, meaning that the warmer air will automatically go to the top (closer to the element).

Hope this helps. You should actually be able to find the results of my test if you search.

AnswerID: 99475

Follow Up By: David T - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 11:37

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 11:37
I've certainly been following your saga - your positive results encouraged me to buy one of these suckers...

Anyway, will keep testing

FollowupID: 357786

Reply By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 12:16

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 12:16
I like to have all of my camping gear ready to go at a moments notice. My Chescold 3 way fridge is no exeption. I have it on 240 all of the time and have prefrozen milk bottles (filled with water) in it. Then all I have to do is put it in the car.
AnswerID: 99483

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 12:55

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 12:55

Leaving them on all the time is fine, but you must realise both 12V and 240V are merely heating elements which have a finite life.

Meaning you will need to replace the element more often than if it is only turned on prior to needing it.

FollowupID: 357795

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 13:53

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 13:53
The power bill must be steadily climbing if you keep it running consistently.

Geoff.
FollowupID: 357802

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 21:24

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 21:24
It must be nearly 15 years old now so finite yes but long also.
The power bill in townsville for an airconditione house is much more than a little fridge closed all day and never opened.
FollowupID: 358380

Reply By: Marko - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 14:30

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 14:30
G'day DavidT,

Im the owner of a Chescold RC1180 3 way. I generally just plug it into 240v a few days before I go away. By way of example I plugged it in on Sunday 240v around 3pm. Come Monday morning 9am it was -4deg - excellent!

With my Flinders trip only 8 sleeps away I will be plugging it in on Friday. Pack it with stuff from the house fridge on Tuesday night and depart Wednesday morning with it running on 12v. Get to Broken Hill Wednesday night and run it on gas.

Anyway, like you said - pre chill your food/drink and pre-chill your fridge a few days before you go. It's not that hard....

Marko
AnswerID: 99490

Reply By: pixiemops - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:14

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:14
I have had some great informed posts for my questions on here so here are the results of a test Im currently doing with my finch fridge . Hope it can give you some idea and some ideas maybe to help it run even better. I actually was doing this test this morning. I have installed two fans in my fridge. One faces sideways across the coils and the other upwards throught the condenser coils. The one underneath the condenser coils is positioned on the right hand side of the coils looking at the fridge from the back. To measure temperature I have one of those dick smith inside outside thermometers. This first test was conducted with the fans running on 240v. I intend to do the same with similar ambient temp with no fans to see what the difference is. Anyway the results are below.

time temp
0645 22.0
0720 16.3
0745 10.3
0800 7.5
0815 5.1
0830 3.5
0845 2.2

so you can see in just 2 hrs from 22.0 to 2.2 .I think thats pretty good. I know its not stinking hot and the fridge was also empty. Also the inside temp thermometer is located half way up the fridge wall on the smaller side . I think the fans make a huge difference will post my test with no fans when i get it done . Placement of fans important . Have been experimenting in this regard and think well the latest result is pretty good to me.

AnswerID: 99497

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:24

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:24
G'day Pixie,

I've been chasing some happy snaps of the fan installations for a while. Any chance you can e-mail me a couple? The fans are supposed to help considerably with 12v operation.

FollowupID: 357821

Follow Up By: pixiemops - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 17:14

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 17:14
Hi Smocky ......next time i pull the back cover off ill take a shot. I guess there are other positions that work too. Just need to be sure that things which need to be hot remain hot.

This is why the fan i put directly under the condenser fins at the top of the fridge is over to the right as I don't want the ammonia vapour condensing in the pipe before it gets to the fins.The fan faces straight up . I used double sided heavy duty tape to stick it on.

The other fan is mounted with the tape and faces directly sideways and a little bit back from the absorber coils . It is smack bang in the centre of these. The heating element and chimney is on the other side.

I reckon it is best like this and it blows the hot air out between the coils better. My top fan then sucks the air upwards and out through the condenser coils at the top. All I can say is it works for me as that test says. Cant say that it is the best position for the fans but I think it works fantastic now.

On 12v the element frosts over and ices right up . The last time I put it in the car the fridge thermometer was reading 6degrees when I stopped an hour later was 3.2 and outside was in the 30's .Had both fans on the go.
FollowupID: 357834

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:59

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 16:59
Gents
These sort of fridges are good for caravanning/camping, where you stay awhile....and run on gas.
They operate silently, which is good if you are trying to sleep near them....dont ask...i had the coldest engel beer in Broome, but red eyes from lack of sleep...the things we will do for a cold beer!
It is imperative they are level, or they wont perform as well as could be expected....
AnswerID: 99503

Reply By: Member- Starky - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 17:09

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 17:09
David,

This may be absolutly no help. But in our office we have one of those little bar fridges. Some years ago when we first bought it , it would simply not get cold enough. I finally complained to the place I bought it. They sent out one of their techs and he removed the meat tray from under the top freezer. Overnight it went from operating around the 9 - 10 degrees to freezing we had to actually turn it down. Just a thought and my experience.
AnswerID: 99505

Reply By: Ray Bates - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 20:35

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 20:35
I have an Electrolux in my caravan that wasn't working too well. Well I took it for a rumble ride, reinstalled it and an extracion fan adjacent to the condenser and on gas it froze solid a bowl of water placed in the freazer. This test was carried out again two days later on 240 and the same results were achieved
AnswerID: 99546

Reply By: pixiemops - Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 20:43

Tuesday, Feb 22, 2005 at 20:43
O.k had nothing to do this afternoon so did some more tests again with the fans running.This time ambient was 27.4 went up to around 29 during the time and was reading ambient ouside the fridge 26.9 at 1735. the fridge is a finch fridge not the explorer model.

time temp time temp
1725 4.3
1420 27.4 1735 3.9
1500 22.6
1520 17.0
1545 12.3
1605 9.7
1615 8.3
1620 8.0
1625 7.7
1635 6.9
1640 6.7
1645 6.2
1650 5.9
1700 5.5
1705 5.2
1715 4.8

This is with fans I know still yet to compare without them but the repco fridge should do something similar im sure

AnswerID: 99552

Follow Up By: iMusty - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 06:13

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 06:13
G’day pixiemops.

Is your fridge “SPIRIT LEVEL” level?

I just don’t want to buggerize around that much when I go away. I see that for some folk ‘setting-up camp’ is half the fun. I respect that. I do.

We simply want to throw the fridge in like it’s an esky. Angle, no-angle, up, down, banging it around.

A spirit level precision mentality is what I leave behind at home with the in-laws, the taxman and the bills.

Can any-one tell me if the waeco is just as finiky?
FollowupID: 357929

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 07:32

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 07:32
The Waeco and other compressor fridges do not need to be kept level (within sensible limits). It is just absorption types (Finch etc) which do.

FollowupID: 357938

Follow Up By: iMusty - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 08:32

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 08:32
Excuse the ignorance. What is an absorption type fridge? And how do they differ from a compressor?

FollowupID: 357943

Reply By: pjchris - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 09:58

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 09:58
While it is important that absorption fridges are level it is equally important that they are vented properly to the outside air.
Every caravan I have ever seen has incorrect venting. Fans may help and I stress the may. It is vitally important they are mounted so the blow (Or draw) aur DIRECTLY over the condenser on the rear of the fridge. If they are simply exhaust fans for the fridge cavity they will only exacerbate the venting problems.

See this link for info on how to correctly vent your fridge and this link for a good description on absorption fridges.
Compressor fridges are exactly the same as the one in your kitchen. they use and electrically driven compresser to compress the refrigerent (Thus causing it to heat up). Then the heat is dispersed through the condenser on the back of the fridge and the liquid refrigerent is converted back to a gas inside the fridge which causes it to get very cold. it should be noted that many of the better fridges have small fans inside the fridge to circulate air so as to keep moving the air over the cold elements.

AnswerID: 99641

Reply By: pixiemops - Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 10:46

Wednesday, Feb 23, 2005 at 10:46
iMusty yes I do carry a small pocket size level and 4 triangular shaped pieces of wood live in amongst other bits and pieces in the back of the station wagon. You don't need to level when in the car and travelling but stopped yes or you can boil the fridge dry.

I find it is a few second job and one that doesnt bother me at all . As you say part of the fun of putting up your tent and getting everything organised. When im camping have to have something to fiddle with after all.

happy camping to all

AnswerID: 99646