Single burner butane stove

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 21:01
ThreadID: 20806 Views:24557 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all

Just bought a Wild Country butane single burner stove. Came with 4 x bonus 220g canninsters and plastic case. Normal price at Rays was $30, got it for about $22 with their sale. I have never used one before but when I tried it out I was suitably impressed. Flame is 100% controlable, from an extremely gentle simmer to full on roaring flame. Set up is extremely quick and easy and my intention is to use it on my boys fishing trips and to have handy as a back up for the 3 burner gas stove when the cylinder runs out (currently take 2 cylinders in case, now only need one).

I just have a few questions or concerns .

Firstly, how long should a full can of butane last for if one was to run it on a moderate flame (like for frying sausages). Is 30 minutes realistic for all you out there who use them?

Second, the instructions say not to leave the can in the stove when not in use. How important is this and why? It just seems the slightest bit inconvenient.

Third, where do people store their full cannisters when on the move? It says they should not be in temps hotter than 40 degrees. This excludes the car on a hot day (leaving it in the back of the wagon when fishing etc on a 30 degree plus day. Does this mean they have to be in an insulated transport box?

Fourth, I have seen once someone's concerns re cannisters leaking when in transit (ie like heavy corrugations). Anyone care to comment as to this and how to rectify/make them safe?

All the feedback much appreciated.

D-Jack

P.s. having been on this forum for 12 or so months now I have to say it ROCKS!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 21:33

Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 21:33