Layout

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 20:50
ThreadID: 20914 Views:2618 Replies:43 FollowUps:6

You may have seen a few adjustments to the layout of the forum over the last two days. I have been trying to make it easier to read and remove some of the more technical timing data that was cluttering up the screen. I also wanted to make more focus on the Topic and less on the extract and person.

This change has come about from feedback (as always) however I am happy to receive feedback from others.

The choices are:
1. Leave as was originally (Can't remember View Here)
2. Leave as original and remove the time info (next to followups and replies)
3. Leave as is now
4. Have a look at this other alternate View Here : moves the person to the bottom right under the thread extract
5. Other - tell me what you reckon

Before you answer - give yourself a bit of time (a lot of you spend heaps of time reading it so the nicer it is the better). Any change takes time to absorb. Personally I think Option 3 however Option 4 has the advantage that the line wrap on the topic when viewed in 800x600 mode is better however in larger resolution it moves the name a long way from the topic.

Anyway the post is open.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:00

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:00
G'day David

Sorry old son, but I prefer option 1.

I flicked back and forward between 1 and 4 quite a few times and have to admit I prefer to readily identify the poster and followup details prior to opening the thread.

No particular reason, merely my preference.

PS ... I'm not all that forum savvy re the finer points you mentioned above ... just like it as it was.
AnswerID: 100846

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:59

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:59
Yup #1 for me too... for exact same reasons.
FollowupID: 358985

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:00

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:00
2 for me
AnswerID: 100848

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:40

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:40
2 4 me 2

i.e. I like option 2 also. the cleaner look is better, but as has been observed, source is relevant & is better linked to the topic, rather than disjointed on the bottom right.

Lovely to see you still getting the site better,
even for us long-in-the-tooth users.

FollowupID: 358971

Reply By: Bros - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:04

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:04
David,
Option 3 turns me on as well. Lets you know who the poster is right off. A majority of the time who the poster is determines whether i look or not, (eccentrics abound)but that is just me. Just following along the line lets you know the topic.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 100852

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:08

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:08
Hi David, getting used to the new layout but I feel that option 4 suits me. I like the posters name in bold, the name often lures me to a post before the topic... Wolfie is a prime example, always got a wacky idea or tale to pass on so when I see his name I go there regardless of the topic.
Blue
AnswerID: 100854

Follow Up By: motherhen - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:07

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:07
I agree with Blue on that - never miss a Wolfie post. Locallaw has proved worth reading too.
FollowupID: 358991

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:17

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:17
No 1 for me.
AnswerID: 100857

Reply By: japmel - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:21

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:21
Sorry mate call me old fashioned but I prefer option 1.

If it aint broke don't fix it.

japmel
AnswerID: 100858

Reply By: thepilot - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:21

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:21
Hi Dave I am new to the site and have spoken to a few people on here so I look for a name that I know. If I get to put my 2c in I like #4 .....Its good to see who has posted the topic.

Dave ( thepilot )
AnswerID: 100859

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:26

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:26
David,

I like the time of replies and follow ups displayed as in option 1, but I also like the lay out of 3 or 4.

Regaurdless of who submits the post it is the few words in the topic that I go for.

It would be a shame to miss a good post just because you do not know them. We were all new on this forum once.

AnswerID: 100862

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:43

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:43
G'day David,

Change is a funny thing. When it 1st hits us, we're out of our comfort zone until we get used to it......(remember when ATMs 1st appeared? Nobody trusted them or wanted to use them.....can you imagine life without them or EFTPOS now??)

Anyway, what I'm driving at (in my usual round-about manner) is that whatever you decide is okay by me; I'll get used to it. 1 was ok, 3 is ok and 4 would be ok.

Who can remember what the format was like 12 months ago???? I know it was different, but can't remember whether it was better or worse.....

Long-winded Roachie
AnswerID: 100864

Follow Up By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 07:13

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 07:13
I concur. as long as the name and title appear the order is irrelevant. On both I can see the writer and the topic so it makes little difference.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
FollowupID: 358992

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:46

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:46
David I like 3, but would get rid of the 'by" you don't need it due to the change in type, if you have to have something between the topic and name try a "-".

Quite a few of us didn't like it when you changed things a while ago, but in the end were proved wrong. So do it, 3 looks cleaner and more streamlined by the way.
AnswerID: 100865

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:51

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:51
Number 3.......Bold Topic is good idea...........Just need time to adjust. IMO
AnswerID: 100867

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:56

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:56
i'm new at this ..but i do like no 1
AnswerID: 100869

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:56

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:56
G'day David,

Option #1 does it for me...

As mentioned by others, If it ain't broke...............

At the end of the day, it's your show, so ultimately the decision is yours as to what works best (& is easiest to implement)... I'll be here regardless of layout.....

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 100870

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:00

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:00
David,

At the moment we can see how it was and how it could be. Could this be contiuned, give us a choice on how we view the page, just like we have the option of Response Time or Post ID?

We could have a choice of option of 1,3 or 4. on "How to View a Page"

Just a thought

AnswerID: 100872

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:44

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:44
Excellent suggestion Wayne! As long it does not create too much maintenance work for the admin or too much confusion with the viewers!

Muddy
FollowupID: 358978

Reply By: banjobush - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:09

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:09
Hello, number four looks great !!! See you at Albury this weekend!!!!!!
AnswerID: 100875

Reply By: peter d - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:15

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:15
#4 for me.

the rest look ok but i like #4 . no resson just does it for me
peter d
AnswerID: 100878

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:36

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:36
David,

I like it as it is now (option 3) but I also agree with Roachie.

Change is all around us so whichever way you go I am sure we will survive.

AnswerID: 100882

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:39

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:39
Yep - I agree with Roachie
AnswerID: 100885

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:40

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 22:40
Hi David,

As it was (option 1) is my choice but option 4 is the best improvement if you do feel compelled to change it.

In the old way it was good with the Name and Topic in bold. There was a good bit of visual separation of these using the word "posted". Was neat. The word "by" is not long enough to do the same.

Like to see the names in Bold as pointed out above because sometimes you scan for posts by who posted them as well as the topic (can help show up ones to avoid as well!). Separating the name out to the right as in option 4 would also allow this type of quick visual scanning.

You are correct about one thing though. I spend WAY too much time reading this damn thing!

Muddy
AnswerID: 100886

Reply By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 23:19

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 23:19
I'm 4 4

Bob Cheers
AnswerID: 100896

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 23:41

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 23:41
Hi David

Congrats with the ongoing improvements, but i personally prefer option 1, The person posting is as important as the post.

thanks for asking

Adam
AnswerID: 100900

Reply By: motherhen - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:26

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:26
Leave it as it was gets my vote - however putting the topic in front of the name may have some merit - but leave the name in bold. Like the time left on.

Just the opinion of a lurker who's favourite site is exploroz.

AnswerID: 100910

Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:30

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:30
mate,,,whichever way you go is up to you, we will be here regardless.
just give us a day or three to adjust,,,then hey presto.

rick.
AnswerID: 100911

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:39

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:39
Hi Dave,

to answer the question, I don't really mind, can see benefits of all options. I would probably prefer to design my own. Which brings me to my suggestion.

If you had some of these options in the user profiles or held in a cookie, the user could set the preferences and see it how they like. Similarly to the sort sequence that you can currently change (by post Id or latest post time).

Keeping it a cookie means any user can adjust, but settings list if you clear cookies. Adding it to member profile makes it an advantage of being a member and you don't lose it if you clear cookies.

Thought I'd suggest that option. Haven't read everyone else's opinions, so don't know what the general preference is, just read the first couple and there seemed to be pretty much a couple of votes for each.

Jason.
AnswerID: 100913

Reply By: Brad and His Disco - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:39

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 00:39
Hi david,

Option 4 does it for me.
AnswerID: 100914

Reply By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 06:57

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 06:57
nobody lacks change...... but i do prefer option 1..
AnswerID: 100917

Reply By: Member - rengatt (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 07:28

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 07:28
options 1 or 3 for me,

I agree with above that the person who posted is important to identify
AnswerID: 100919

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 07:31

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 07:31
G'day David,

Option 1 suits me.

Quite often, one may need to 'hide' ExplorOz to one side (LHS for me!) on a pc screen. When the poster and the topic are close together, and in bold, it makes it so much easier to scan through when you have shrunk the window from the RHS. Time info being split between replies and follow ups can also help scanning a topic.

cheers,
Jeremy.
AnswerID: 100920

Reply By: Big Woody - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 08:10

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 08:10
Hi David,

I like option #4 mate. I think the topic is the focus for me as scroll around the pages but it is good to still have the authors identity highlighted at the right of the list.
Keep up the great work.

Brett
AnswerID: 100924

Reply By: Member - Nick K (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:09

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:09
Dave,

Option 4 has my vote. I like the way the members name is removed from the topic. Makes it easier to read and the overall page looks less congested.

Nick
AnswerID: 100936

Reply By: Member - Craig M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:13

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:13
Hi David,
Either option is fine.
As long as the topic is clear that is all I am interested in. Im not bias in who I answer or read a topic from. Once you read it and it sounds like a load of crap well you go somewhere else.
Great site any way you do it.

AnswerID: 100937

Reply By: MrBitchi - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:30

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:30
New suggestion, David.

Personally I like the time so leave it on.
Your new option 4 looks good with the following changes:-
1. Put the name of the poster at the bottom left corner (under the topic) instead of the right hand side. It's easier to read.
2. Put the name of the last replying person on the bottom right with a hyperlink to their reply, or simply to the bottom of the thread. Clicking on the name would take you straight to the reply without having to scroll through a post you've allready read.

Great to see you trying new things.

Cheers, John.
AnswerID: 100940

Reply By: Pluto - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:38

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:38
G'day David,

I think you are on the right track, emphasising the thread subject. I, for one, am less interested in who posts, as what is posted. Options 3 and 4 do it for me.

Considering many people are more focused on who is corresponding, option 4 tends to favour people who scan the names.
AnswerID: 100942

Reply By: TheUndertaker - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:52

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:52
Wasnt broke,why try to fix it, back to no1.
AnswerID: 100944

Reply By: Alan S (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:55

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 09:55
Option 1 is my favourite and not just because that's the way it was. I like being able to see who posted in bold.
Option 4 with the poster at the left hand side in bold might also work.

You did ask.
AnswerID: 100945

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 10:15

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 10:15
One thing I noticed today is that I remember the persons name who posted something I'm searching for, but have no idea what the thread name was..

As Happens its now not much to do with where th thread discussion started... But cant find it, cause its a bitch to see the posters name..

:(
AnswerID: 100946

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 13:30

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 13:30
Hi David

After viewing and thinking about it, I actually prefer the original. It is "slightly" more cluttered visually, but it has the most info and highlights the person posting better.

But the new way is not bad at all and I won't be viewing any less than before (spend way too much time here!). To paraphrase Roachie, in a weeks time we will think it was the original way anyhow.

AnswerID: 100959

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 13:53

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 13:53
#3 's GOOD. Easier on the eye than Orig. All the Info is still there. It's got my vote!
AnswerID: 100961

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 13:59

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 13:59
I think all of your alternatives work David, but I would be hesitant about removing the time information as I think it may be used as a reference point on many occasions. From a readability perspective options one or three are preferable as they supply both topic and personality in a continuous eyeline.
AnswerID: 100963

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 22:54

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 22:54
Yup agree on the time thing..
FollowupID: 359080

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 19:59

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 19:59
The current layout is great. Anything that focus's on the subject & not the author will hopefully cut down on some of the useless banter that some of the regulars seem to drag up :-)) A little less chat & alot more tech discussion & exchange of ideas is what this site needs. Give it a run for a few weeks & they'll forget there even was a change.
Cheers Craig................
AnswerID: 101016

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 20:21

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 20:21
David,

4 is the business.

Dead easy to view the topis and the poster. I love it.

Good to see you trying alternatives.

AnswerID: 101021

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 01:09

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 01:09
David,
I read only on SUBJECT MATTER, not on who has posted the subject matter, so I go along with your NEW look..........

If I was of a somewhat closed mind and I looked only at POSTERS, I would only be looking at existing members who post regularly, however the NEW MEMBERS then would never be read under that system, hence when I read on SUBJECT MATTER, I get to read the views and opinions of ALL posters, new and also old, including questions and also answers, opinions and arguments, however only on the subjects that are of interest to myself….!
AnswerID: 101065

Reply By: MrBitchi - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 15:00

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 15:00
David, another suggestion. When viewing a thread and you click "reply" or "follow up" all you can see is the original post (reply) or current reply (follow up).
Would be better if the reply or follow up window simply opened at the bottom of the thread so all the thread is visible simply by scrolling. It's most annoying to be half way through typing a reply and then having to open another tab to see the rest of the thread to check on something or reply to another point in the same window (???) (ramble, ramble...... clear as mud said the blind man!)

Cheers, John.
AnswerID: 101446