SILVERSTONE MT-117 EXTREME TYRES

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 19:07
ThreadID: 20939 Views:30514 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Has anyone used/abused a set of these new tyres from silverstone yet, i am very interested about getting a set for my 80 series.

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 21:00

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 21:00
Timbobaroobo
My son run MT117 on his GQ and they are awesome off road and behave surprisingly well on Road for what are Mud tyres. On how long they will last we do not know. The MT117 extreme's are much less aggressive
Ray
AnswerID: 101028

Reply By: BenSpoon - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 18:16

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 18:16
If you are in perth, go check out the tyre bloke around the corner, but in the same building as Michelles Sacs. Hes running them on his 80 and is stoked with them, saying they are excellent for rock and mud work and quieter and more predictable on road than BF Muds.
Apparently their only drama is they dig down really well in sand.

(for the record, he sells BFs and the full range of offroad brands, so he had nothing to gain from the plug he gave them)
AnswerID: 101147

Follow Up By: Timbobaroobob - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 21:07

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 21:07
Is he running the mt117 extreme or the mt117 sports? the sports are more like bfg mudders. the extremes look similar to simex jungle trekkers or centipedes, so they are quite aggressive
FollowupID: 359170

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 11:10

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 11:10
They didnt look too similar to BF muds- they had larger spaces between tread blocks and the blocks themselves were larger- thats what made them stand out from any other tyre on a 4by.

Having just checked the website they are the 117 sports- certainly more aggressive than muds.
117 sport

If you do get yourself a pair, let us know how they go- after hearing they had 3-ply side walls im keen on a set myself.
FollowupID: 359456

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 21:58

Friday, Mar 04, 2005 at 21:58
The tread pattern works well, but the sidewall may be only marginally stronger than a Cooper or BF, but for the price, compared to other extreme tyres, they seem to be the goods.

We are the Geelong/Western Vic dist for these particular tyres.
AnswerID: 101177

Follow Up By: desert - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:52

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:52
What sizes do they come in for 16" rims?
FollowupID: 359304

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:02

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 21:02
35 x 10.5 and 35 x 11.5
FollowupID: 359313

Reply By: Big Woody - Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 23:23

Saturday, Mar 05, 2005 at 23:23
Hey Timbobaroobob,

I have just worn out a set of the Silverstone MT-117 Extremes on my GQ Patrol and they have done 50,000 km's which I don't think is too bad. Good tyre off-road and no problems on wet bitumen either.
Good luck,

Brett
AnswerID: 101276

Follow Up By: Timbobaroobob - Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:51

Sunday, Mar 06, 2005 at 20:51
cool, thanks for the info mate. i only plan to use them as a second set anyway for weekend trips/bashes in the bush, rocks and mud and whatever else i can get into down here in tassie.i am getting the 35x10.5R16s for about $230 each, good price i reckon as they reckon $330 retail or something. helps to know the tyre bloke
FollowupID: 359302