Radio SPEAK

Submitted: Thursday, May 03, 2001 at 00:00
ThreadID: 211 Views:1762 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I have just purchased and installed a UHF TX3400 radio into my GU Patrol for our planned trip to the centre of AUS during Sept - Oct.

My question is that as I am new to mobile radio, what do I say to call another user or how do you communicate correctly.

My question may sound stupid but communication language is not an area that is supplied within the USER Manual.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Shane - Thursday, May 03, 2001 at 00:00

Thursday, May 03, 2001 at 00:00
Hi Tim,

I think the best answer is to "lurk". Just listen to common channels and listen to how people talk. These days we still use "Roger" ( I agree or I will do what you suggested)and "Breaker" (I would like to interrupt your conversation to ask a question). "10-4 Good Buddy has (thankfully) disappeared. Be natural and be polite is the best advice.

Hope that helps a little.

Cheers
AnswerID: 415

Reply By: Nigel Gorry - Thursday, May 03, 2001 at 00:00

Thursday, May 03, 2001 at 00:00
Excellent Choice of Radio...

Another thing that probably isnt in the users manual is the details of specific uses of channels.

It is illegal to use channels 5 (and 35) for any thing other than an emergency. Of course in a outback emergency you would be better off scanning all channels to find one in use and then ask for help rather than just staying on channel 5.

Channels 31 to 38 are repeater input channels and you should take care not to use these channels within the range of a repeater if you want to stay on the right side of the law and not annoy everyone who uses the repeater. It is also not permitted to use a repeater output channel (1-8)in simplex mode when in range of a repeater.