OT smoke oven

Submitted: Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 22:17
ThreadID: 21224 Views:3124 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
I've searched the web for the last 2 hours or so and can't seem to find much info on building your own smoke oven. Plenty of mega$$ units for sale but that's not what I'm after. Has anyone out there built one, have plans available, able to point me in the right direction??? I reckon I know the basics ie. heat/wood chips/meat=YUM... Getting the right temp(what is the right temp?), how long to smoke for(some sites hint at around 5-7hrs others are 24+hrs??????) Seems to be a "Black art" and no-one wants to share.
Blue

Reply By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 22:43

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 22:43
Got a mate who owned East Kew Continental Butcher and Deli. He and his dad had it for 20+ years. He's just got back into it again.

His dad did his trade in Switzerland I think.

They smoked, Every, Single, Day,

Will ask him tomorrow

THIS BLOKE KNOWS.

Cya iMusty
AnswerID: 102440

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 09:55

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 09:55
That'd be good, thanks iMusty...
FollowupID: 360189

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 15:08

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 15:08
Ouch!

Blue, I rang my friend today, re: smokehouse's, and his girlfriend answered HIS mobile. (very unusual).

It turns out SHE was robbed yesterday while she was inside the house taking a shower. No kidding.

I've never heard of a "HOT BURG" in Australia before. Im sure it's happened, but i've copper mates and they never mentioned it before.

"HOT" means while you are in the home.

They grabed her laptop, wallet, mobile phone & car keys AND drove away in her car!

Needlesstosay he's a bit occupied at the moment. There seems to be some good replys here to keep you busy for now, but I will msg you regard smoke house's when he is a bit more settled.

So glad it was'nt my Mrs. she'd be terrified!

iMusty.

Makes you think eh?

FollowupID: 360219

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 17:43

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 17:43
just as well it wasnt my missus the bloody robbers would have been terrified

lololol

FollowupID: 360243

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 18:43

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 18:43
6:40 PM

It's a funny old thing ...
I was given 30 minutes ago a second hand Weber. It's all there, just need a bit of TLC. It's one of those tilt lid jobbies.

I don't really want it. I have no room for it.
You can smoke on it I'm sure.

Probably not worth much?
I dunno?
It's yours if you want it. No scotch!

Just let me know, or someone else can have it.

iMusty

FollowupID: 360251

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 21:39

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 21:39
iMusty,

Sorry to hear about the robbery... Hope it all works out good and quick.

Looking to build something a bit bigger than a Weber, want to have a deer butchered and smoke the venison at home... Mmmmm, venison... LOOK OUT BAMBI...LOL
FollowupID: 360277

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 07:09

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 07:09
Why don't you put up a small tin shed?

I DONT have one. Lol
FollowupID: 360303

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 23:08

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 23:08
My grandmother used to hang meat up the great big chimney of the open fire. And that's all! I never saw it... before I was born, but she reckoned it was okay!
AnswerID: 102449

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 09:58

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 09:58
Unfortunately I have no chimney... I'm not going to build one for Santa Clause let alone the odd piece of meat so I guess I'll have to come up with another solution.
FollowupID: 360190

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 23:18

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 23:18
G'day Blue

What size unit are you after ?? Plenty around, oversized shoe box size for about $40-$50, or $60-$70 if you want the same unit in stainless.

No big deal, merely a sllide on lid with a built in bottom about 1/2 way up, on which rests a couple of mesh shelves.

Sawdust goes on 1/2 height floor under mesh shelves, metho burner on ground under same and hey presto, when the full burner goes out the tucker's ready.

Or if you want something bigger, when I was a wee lad I went to Fraser Is with my old Dad. Try a 44 gal drum for size...knock out both ends, punch holes at various levels to insert steel rods to support chook wire shelves, fill with fish fillets, place over fire upon which you've heaped a pile of banksia cones and cover the top with a wet corn sack ... enough to feed the multitude.

PS. ... Don't tell anyone ... but that was in 1960 ... care to imagine what Fraser was like them ..... you betcha.

AnswerID: 102452

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 10:00

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 10:00
WOW, Fraser in 1960... Wasn't even a glint in my old man's eye in 1960...
FollowupID: 360191

Reply By: Pedro14 - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 13:53

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 13:53
G'day Blue,
Try this site where there are heaps of suggestions.
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&rls=GGLD,GGLD:2004-32,GGLD:en&q=build+a+smoker

There are 2 types of smoking and the quickest is the "hot" smoking.

I made a smoker out of a 44 gal drum with the lid cut off and hinged at top so it could be lifted and reclosed. When smoking i would place wet bags on top to retain the smoke.
I later had the drum modified to have an old weber lid with temperature guage to fit on top for easy access and to control heat in need.
Racks were placed on bars across drum (4 in total) and the fire was per a 3 ring gas burner which was placed at bottom of smoker on ground.
On top of that i put an old frypan which i used for the sawdust.
Coat chicken legs, or fish in a combination of salt and brown sugar about 2 parts salt to one of sugar and after about 15 minutes it will be very moist. Either put on rack as is or wipe off bulk .
Chicken legs about half and hour and fish about 15 minutes.
Trial and error will give you the right time.
Enjoy
Pedro
AnswerID: 102511

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 21:48

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 21:48
Thanks Pedro, found that site last night but the idea of an electrical cord running into the smoker was a bit ordinary. figured a gas burner could be substituted but was looking for something bigger anyway. Looking to smoke a butchered deer, hopefully in one sitting. It's for a 30th birthday in a few months... Everyone has done the spit thing, how many people have had a whole smoked deer on offer???

Perhaps I could weld 2 44g drums together, that would allow for plenty of shelves...

Blue
FollowupID: 360279

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty(VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 14:42

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 14:42
Did someone say PARTY?

FollowupID: 360340

Reply By: awill4x4 - Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 22:02

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2005 at 22:02
On one of the welding forums I'm on someone posted his version in America. Have a look at http://hobartwelders.com/mboard/showthread.php?t=6685&highlight=bbq
Also see the thread at http://www.hobartwelders.com/mboard/showthread.php?t=11195
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 102719