Diesel Fuel Additives

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 20:16
ThreadID: 21533 Views:2677 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Just putting a question out there to see what people think of Diesel Fuel Additives,I have a 4.2 lt Diesel GQ Patrol 216,000kms,doing the trip up the centre then down the West coast in june/july and august,do you think there is any benefit to run a fuel additive in my vehicle,if there is could you recommend a type of additive to use.
Peter.

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 20:33

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 20:33
You could try something that gets rid of diesel "bug" (growth of algae). If you do be sure to check your fuel filter for a while. Don't want the bug clogging up the system on your next trip :)

AnswerID: 103915

Reply By: warthog - Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 22:35

Saturday, Mar 26, 2005 at 22:35
I have a td42t GU that has a rotary fuel pump and relies on diesel for its lubrication. This new low sulfur diesel must comply with a lubricity standard however I am still worried about pump wear as I don't know that it lubricates as well as the old diesel. Perhaps this is unfounded but there are now a number of additives that claim to improve diesel lubricity. I am using Moreys diesel stop smoke for the reason that their upper cylinder lubricant for gas/petrol motors is a good product. They make some other claims for this product as well however I am using it in the hope it will increase the service life of pump and injectors. Maybe Captain will read this and give us the low down on low sulfur diesel lubricity.
AnswerID: 103925

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 22:32

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 22:32
I use Morey's too in my 6.5 Chev. I reckon it is cheap insurance and can't hurt.
FollowupID: 361694

Reply By: BAHQ - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 01:21

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 01:21
There are lots to choose from, most will give some results or at least pay for them selves. Having good results from synforce diesel treat. More power and better economy. Trip to Gulf ( 5000k ) in a cruser ute which is usually fairly consistant on consumption, used about 180lt less with treatment.
AnswerID: 103935

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 09:44

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 09:44
Thats certainly an interesting result. Was there anything else different about the vehicle or your driving technique ?
FollowupID: 361436

Follow Up By: BAHQ - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 23:33

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 23:33
No to both, usually get a small variance, but there was no tail wind or anything to help the result.
FollowupID: 361571

Reply By: Member - Bruce B (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 08:17

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 08:17
I use PRO-MA, claims to break down water in the fuel to aid combustion,cut down waxing, lubricate the fuel pump, etc,etc. The fact is that it has cut down the fuel consumption and smoke so something is working, I think.
AnswerID: 103938

Reply By: NedKelly - Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 11:44

Sunday, Mar 27, 2005 at 11:44
I got some Falsh Lube diesel conditioner from 'the experts' in the southern highlands last time I had my vehicle serviced and i've been pretty happy with it. It is supposed to improve the low sulpher fuel as well as give fuel economy improvements on top of just cleaning and lubricating. I haven't done any tests or keeping of figures but I will try to over the next few months to see just how much better the economy is. They claim up to 6.5% as well as improved power.
AnswerID: 103944

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 07:40

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 07:40
Yeah I am using Flash Lube as well and as yourself haven't done a long term test yet. Going bush for a couple of months(about 10,000K) soon and will see if it makes any difference.
FollowupID: 361479

Reply By: Roger From Tassie - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 07:25

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 07:25
Bumped into a guy the other day who says he has always added a "cup" of gearbox oil whenever he fills up (for added lubrication). Swears by it. Anyone ever heard of this one?
AnswerID: 103993

Follow Up By: warthog - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 12:48

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 12:48
Have heard of auto trans fluid however have also heard it does not burn cleanly and leaves ash/carbon deposits. I'd have thought gear oil to be worse.
FollowupID: 361522

Follow Up By: Roger From Tassie - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 18:56

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 18:56
Hi warthog

Now you mention it I think he may have actually suggested auto trans fluid not gearbox oil. The guy was a fellow 4x4 traveller we met up at Tunnel Creek in the Kimberley last year. He was in Tassie on his continuing travels & we were part way through a long conversation involving many topics & red wine. Either way it sounds like you have heard the postives of added lubrication come with the negative of carbon build up so may be best not to try.

Thanks for jogging the red wine soaked memory.

Roger
FollowupID: 361543

Follow Up By: BAHQ - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 23:38

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 23:38
Hi Roger & Warthog,
Not saying don't use it, but check with your injection expert to see if there could be any detremental effect on your injector pump.They're finicky little buggers.
FollowupID: 361572

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 00:05

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 00:05
Yes. The 4.2 patrol or cruiser won't have any drama's, but the 3.0 Hilux/Prado and 3.0 Navara/Patrol donk's have computer aided fuel pumps. There is a small amount of electrical wiring inside the fuel pumps, and although I'm sure it would be insulated from the diesel, some of these fuel additives contain corrosives for cleaning purposes, and this is a grey area for me.

I have spoken to the guys at United fuel injection here in perth, and they have advised me not to use fuel additives. Besides, these new high falutin' fandango hitech turbo's are made to run on low sulpher diesel

I wrote to 4WD Monthly about this, but up to now have not had a reply.

My mate spairingly uses a fuel additive in his 4.2 80s cruiser, and has found that his fuel filter cloggs up more quickly with the gunk being cleaned out of the fuel system. At first we thought it may have been a dirty batch of fuel, but on reflection it is more likely to be gunk from the tank and fuel lines.

As for the auto trans fluid. TUT TUT. This would shorten the life of the motor oil, let alone be very poisonous and poluting.
AnswerID: 104082