Hi to all Terracan owners

Submitted: Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 08:08
ThreadID: 21546 Views:4910 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
I'm a newbie here, although I did spend some time on the Overlander forum a while ago until the politics there got a little too heavy for me.

Anyway, I notice that there are a few Terracan owners around this forum and would like to get some info from them.

I am in the process of trying to sort a dual battery system. I only need around 50-50amps from a deep cycle - enough to run my 45L waeco for a couple of days at most. I tried the Piranha kit but it doesn't fit vehicles with ABS...

Anyway, looking forward to hearing from you.

Feel free to email me at ants@tpg.com.au

My Terracan is an '03 model Highlander petrol engined auto with the following:
-Custom Alloy bullbar
-Cibie Oscar SC's
-Polished alloy full length roof basket (on custom made feet)
-Suspension lift kit (coils and dampers - torsion bars shouldn't be too long in coming)
-Polyair bags in rear coils
-BFG AT's
-After-market alloy wheels
-Hyundai towbar
-Hyundai cargo barrier
-GME TX3200 UHF
-Hyundai plastic bits (tupperware....headlight protectors, weather shields etc)
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: MarkC - Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 10:32

Monday, Mar 28, 2005 at 10:32
G'Day Ants,

I'm also sorting through the mess of a dual battery system. If you want to start an argument just mention "dual battery" around a group of 4wd owners. I made this mistake once and it's amazing how many different setups are around and it seems no one can agree on whats best. My Jerrycan is also an 03 but does not have ABS, so fitting a PiranhaTJM setup under the bonnet is possible. Available space will only permit a small deepcycle 55amp hour, which I believe is too small after doing the power consumption sums. A better choice of battery would help, an AGM or Gel, as you get more power from the same size wet cell battery, and they also recharge faster.