4runner Engine Conversion

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 12:58
ThreadID: 21583 Views:10681 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,

My car the 1995 RV6 4runner has been a trooper in the last year and a hlaf that I've ownd it but have just got some bad news about my engine. The 3ltr 3vze V6 has lost just about all compression. It's down to 30psi and should be up around 160psi. So it's time to start thinking seriously about a transplant. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas about a good engine conversion to do... ????? has anyone had any experience doing these? I'm in Melb and would really like to get it done by someone with a lot of experience in this model car.

Also I would like some advice on if it would be better to convert to a diesel like a 4cyl turbo or something for better fuel economy?

Any help would be much appreciated, I'm a Uni student with not too much money so it'll be a trip to the bank for a personal loan to finance this. However, I want the job done right so it'll last me a long time.

Thanks in advance,
Longy.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Kerry (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 13:43

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 13:43
G'day there sorry to here the motor is dieing, marks 4wd adaptors do a commodore six conversion although i havent done it, i assume they know what there doing, all depends on how deep your pockets are, other things to maybe remember are, engineers cert, emission laws insurance etc, im sure some other guys on here will give you some info...

www.marks4wd.com

cheers
AnswerID: 104128

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 19:58

Tuesday, Mar 29, 2005 at 19:58
The best conversion I have EVER seen is a Toyota Soarer/Lexus motor 4L quad Cam V8!! A few have been done and if you go to http://lextreme.com/forum/index.php and have a squiz you will see a few Surf/4Runners converted.