One for moving maps gurus :)

Submitted: Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 23:23
ThreadID: 22180 Views:1733 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
I'm new to this so be gentle :))
Have older copy of oziexplorer, 3.9. Have Natmap mosaic, 2003. Have exported the big map into oziexplorer and it tells me a trip to the shop involves going o/s. (China I think:). Ok, so I calibrate it as best I can and its still way out. Ahh, batch file for calibrating it is availiable. Makes nice subdirectory with some calib files. Moving explorer then says can't find file...hmm..maybe wrong name ? Has to be called same as calibration file I guess.
This is a lot of hassle. Is there an easier way ? Delete the lot and start again ?

TIA
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 23:32

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 23:32
Footy thats why I use Discover Aus Streets and Tracks.

Oziexplorer is a great program but in my view it takes a lot of time and hassle to get it set up and working well.
I don't have that time to spend so I just turn the Magellan product on and it runs, easy as.

VKS737 - Mobile 6352 (Selcall 6352)

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 107316

Follow Up By: Pluto - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 17:24

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2005 at 17:24
And then you're stuck with a single map that may not have the detail that you want. Have a look in the archives, you'll see that most users that have both programs installed preffer using Ozi. If you ar not going to take the time to learn it, then you're only short changing yourself.

Remember, this forum is a great place to get basic info on the use of OziExplorer. Ask the questions and you'll get the answers.
FollowupID: 364330

Reply By: pjchris - Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 23:54

Monday, Apr 18, 2005 at 23:54
The Natmap 2003 file can be imported simply by selecting the import ecw map in the load manu.

It will create the calibration file and work perfectly in moving map. Mine did.

Peter