3 way fridge might as well be 1 way???

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 09:49
ThreadID: 22443 Views:5599 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Hi,

I am new to this caravaning malarky and we have a three way fridge onboard. it works great if we have a hook up but will not run on 12V and as for gas i have no idea where the pilot light is so i couldn't tell if it was lit so don't know if it runs or not. so to the questions.

Any ideas what might be up with the 12v??
any idea how to tell if the gas is lit???

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: trendy - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 10:00

Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 10:00
danccooke, the 12v problem may be associated with the wires from the battery in the van to the fridge, if they are not the right thickness they will not carry enough current to the fridge causing it to run inefficiently. This said the 3 way fridge will still use an extremely high amount of power so if you use it when stationary you will end up with no battery power in no time.
As for the gas pilot light location this will depend on the model of the fridge. Some are in the bottom corner of the inside of the fridge, some are just a light on the control board at the top of the fridge ect. ect. Best to ask your local caravan shop for specifics on your fridge.
hope this helps Trevor.
AnswerID: 108549

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 10:06

Thursday, Apr 28, 2005 at 10:06
G'day mate,

We'd probably need to know what brand and model of fridge it is please.

Most 3 way fridges are bloody woeful on 12 volts. At best, they might be able to maintain a fridge at or near the temperature achieved on either gas or electricity. 3 way fridges need to be dead level to operate properly; something that is not going to be possible when you are on the move.