Allergic Landcruiser??

Submitted: Monday, May 02, 2005 at 22:38
ThreadID: 22593 Views:2205 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
I've had this 100 series TD Cruiser for about 18 months and I've finally sussed out that there is SOMETHING in the heater/air system that causes my eyes to run and nose to start snuffling etc. It's 2000 model with about 85,000 kms on it. I'm in WA but this vehicle originated from NSW. I bought it with 50,000 kms on it.

It's taken a lot of random testing to find out that it's the car and not external pollen etc. I'm not normally a hay fever sufferer. My wife doesn't travel in it very much and she doesn't seem to suufer it when she does.

As soon as I put the blower on, it starts. If I have the drivers window down it's not too bad. But with the windows up and the blower on, within 1 km I'm in trouble. It's a bit annoying 'cos I'm off on a long trip up north in about a weeks time.

Anyone had similar probs? Anyone got a fix for it? The only thing I can think of is somehow blowing out the whole heater ducting with compressed air and then fitting some sort of anti-allergy filter - but do they do these sorts of filters??

Bilbo

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, May 02, 2005 at 22:47

Monday, May 02, 2005 at 22:47
Telfast 180mg super strongs. In the green box. Effects last about 24 hrs on me without making me drowsy.

What an odd one. Allergic to my fourbie I couldn't think of anything worse.

Sorry not to be of more help. Best of luck.

AnswerID: 109335

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, May 02, 2005 at 22:52

Monday, May 02, 2005 at 22:52
Thanks for the advice, Geo. But this trip is gonna be a long one - about 4 months on the road - fishin', prospectin', drinkin' 'n thinkin'.

I don't want to be taking tablets every day for 4 months - addictive?, loss of palliative effect etc,etc.

But I will bear it in mind.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 109339

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 10:41

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 10:41
are you running on fresh air or recirculating....
if fresh its something from outside i would say....picking up exhaust from cars in front?

if its recirculating...check your feet..hehehe no seriously...it could be something in the car....
If it happens on both ??/ was the prevoius owner a smoker?

After 80k i dont think there would be too much vapour gases coming from intrenal plastics.... but one never knows

hope your not your allergic to your 4by...
FollowupID: 366027

Reply By: ianmc - Monday, May 02, 2005 at 22:55

Monday, May 02, 2005 at 22:55
Could it be the gassing of the new plastics in the ducting ? used to have trouble whenever I walked past a carpet store, formaldehyde glues I think. Maybe some sort of deodoriser or eucalyptus or tea tree oil on a pad in the air collector may help?
AnswerID: 109341

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 12:05

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 12:05
Yep toyota service departments are very pushy at trying to get you to pay for an air conditioner "deoderising" at services. Probally whatever crap is in that that's causing the problem!
FollowupID: 366045

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, May 02, 2005 at 23:22

Monday, May 02, 2005 at 23:22
ianmc, I don't reckon it would be the "new plastics" in a car that's done 85,000 kms. But I do like your idea about the "essential oils" in the air box.

The only prob now is how do I get into the air box on a Landcruiser?

Bilbo

AnswerID: 109351

Follow Up By: joe1 - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 09:04

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 09:04
Hey Bilbo, Try going to a car yard and take one simular to yours for a drive and see if it does the same thing with the blower on.

Joe1
FollowupID: 366018

Reply By: crfan - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 09:57

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 09:57
Hi Bilbo ,
Dont knoe if it will work but Wurth Australia do a lot of stuff for panel beaters
and have a spray can that is an air cond ducting conditioner I think you just spray it in the vents it's ment to kill the germs and get rid of smell I think it was about $15 a can so may be worth a go.
AnswerID: 109412

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 11:58

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 11:58
Yep ..what crfan said above, definately worth a try mate.

I always said those bloody cruisers bring tears to your eyes.
FollowupID: 366043

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:26

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:26
cokeaddict said
"I always said those bloody cruisers bring tears to your eyes."

ROTFLMFAO!!!!!!!
You're a funny bugger Angelo!! Have you still got the Mighty Patrol mate?? Or did you sell??
FollowupID: 366097

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 08:35

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 08:35
G'day Brian,
I just couldnt restist that one mate.
I still have the old girl. withdrew the sale.
How have you been anyway?
Done anything interesting lately?

FollowupID: 366177

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 15:43

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 15:43
Glad to hear you're still in the game matey.... Just been working... had my 10 days annual leave last week and a bit... 5 days on Fraser island and 4 days at Gorge Station at Bonalbo..... a really good break actually although about 51 weeks too short.......

FollowupID: 366226

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 12:07

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 12:07
I'm not sure about the 100s but in the surf there is a filter behind the glove box that you can remove and clean, or maybe just remove all together and see if it helps, maybe some compressed air through the system as well...
AnswerID: 109429

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 15:30

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 15:30
Bilbo Im with Jeff I have a feeling there is a filter in the intake, very common in Jap vehicles. I would DEFINATELY give any Toyota dealer a ring, ask to speak to the service manager and ask him directly. I have NEVER found any service manager unwilling to help solve a prob over the phone if you ask nicely.

Other than that, I would drop the blower out of the passenger side and blow back out the intake. Plus use the chemical disinfectantant deoderiser suggested above or similar like glen 20!

Goodluck
AnswerID: 109462

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:03

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:03
ha ha ha ha try in Kalgoorlie the service manager wouldnt give you change for 1 dollar if you cave him a couple of bucks
FollowupID: 366084

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 22:51

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 22:51
Aint that the truth! Goldfields Toyota got it far too easy to have to look after clients. Just replaced work fleet - LC100 GXL, LC100 & 79PC all from outa town and none of them will EVER be serviced by the local dealer while ever I have anything to do with it.

Paul B Kal
FollowupID: 366153

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:58

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:58
Bilbo,

Just wondered if this vehicle may have parked under a tree/shrub, in NSW, that has a hay fever type pollen, or flowers. This might be what is irritating your eyes.

The suggestion about deodoriser might be the go too.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 109479

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 20:43

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 20:43
Bilbo

We had a Horrible smell in our 100 series after about 20,000 k's at its next service
our Toyota dealer sprayed the A/C with some Bacterial Spray cleaner. We haven't smelt it since. Now 40,000 k's
AnswerID: 109508

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 22:38

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 22:38
Hi Bilbo,

The answers easy! Car originated from NSW - dead coackroaches in the ducting!

Seriously though, I think as Jeff mentioned you will find that there is a replaceable filter.

Hugh
AnswerID: 109541

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 23:19

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 23:19
Guys, once again there's a heap of good advice on here. Sounds like taking the airbox apart is a good starting point 'n at least have a squizzy in there. I'll take it from there.

Thanks again, fellas - yer a top mob.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 109549

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 07:02

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 07:02
Hi Bilbo
There is a product that is used to remove odours from A/c units it also kills the fungi and mould the tends to grow in the cores. Most A/C repair shops should know about the product, there are a number of brands to choose from
Ray
AnswerID: 109560