It weighs how much?

Submitted: Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 15:17
ThreadID: 22613 Views:3546 Replies:11 FollowUps:17
got a shock on Sunday while driving out to Goongarie nat Park, I went past the tip and pulled up on the weigh bridge which I assume is accurate enough as it is used to charge comercial dumpers and as such would be subject to testing - 2820kg! not even 200kg less than my huge camper. The vehicle is an 80 Standard with full barwork and sidesteps and winch (200kg max) full watertank (50kg max) roofrack (10kg max) milford cargo barrier (20kg max) 3 quarter of fuel( 120kg max) misc junk(100kg max) and me (not even 100kg) I have grossly overestimated most of these weights but I still come to 2500kg assuming 1900kg stock weight as quoted - where does the rest come from?

Reply By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 15:59

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 15:59
I warned ya mate
Be thankful you havent got a 100 series... they are another 200kg ontop of an 80!

AnswerID: 109470

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:04

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:04
c u 2 nite!
FollowupID: 366085

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:46

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:46
3500kg for mine
FollowupID: 366089

Reply By: The Rambler - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:22

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:22
Davoe,
As a matter of interest Iweighed my fully loaded Troopy last year before my trip and she went 3.2 t which also was more than I thought but that is with 180l of fuel and 60l of water plus the usual camping and recovery gear.
AnswerID: 109475

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:40

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 16:40
I had the same thing with the surf. I went over the weight bridge at my local dump towing a small box trailer (250kg).

I had:
1. No water or tank (I was rebuilding it at the time).
2. No tools or recovery gear (as they were out while I was doing the tank).
3. No storage box (as I was building a new one around the tank).
4. An almost empty tank of diesel.
5. Myself (105kg) and my father in law (75kg)

With the empty trailer on a little over 2400kg.
Car is 1750kg T and has no bullbar, only a factory nudge.
????
So 1750kg
+ 105
+ 75
+ 250
= 2180

That's a 220kg difference?
AnswerID: 109477

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 17:34

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 17:34
Davoe

I can never work it out either. My 80, with same sort of stuff as you fitted is about 2780 kg coming out of the tip every time, varies a bit with fuel load.

On the rego papers it shows Tare of 2010 kg, GVM of 2960 and GCM of 3260 kg. All I can say is that to get down to 2010 it must be dead set dry - no oils, fuel or anything - maybe no air in the tyres?

Max
AnswerID: 109484

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 18:12

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 18:12
Tare weights as provided by the manufacturer for new vehicles are a 'dry' production weight, no fluids at all in anything, no jack, tools and probably no spare tyre either. They may have even left off the weight of some of the trim.
When I had to weigh my Humvee for rego it was a full weight, with all fluids, about 30 litres of fuel etc. No spare tyre or tools though.
AnswerID: 109488

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:05

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:05
Last Sept the night before leaving for our trip I thought , wonder how much this all weights ?. So I drove to work we have very accurate electronic weightbridges for our trucks, so it was all fueled up, watered up and the fridge full of beer and food etc ready to go. Oh and had the tinny on top with the outboard etc in the back of ute. Shock horror the lot came in at 2980kg without the two of us, I nearly stayed home. No wonder I get such bad fuel economy. I guess it all adds up.

Athol.
AnswerID: 109493

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:27

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:27
I don't feel so bad now .
AnswerID: 109496

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 14:07

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 14:07
Hi Errol,

What do you weigh when fully loaded??
FollowupID: 366208

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 19:17

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 19:17
About 3.5 t . Thats with 279l of fuel and 70 l of water plus recovery gear and camping gear for two . oh, and a 9000 p whinch .
FollowupID: 366262

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 08:53

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 08:53
Hi Errol,

That's pretty damn light, how have you accomplished that, using alloy, no tray ?????

Do you get any or much wind noise by putting the wheels on the roof??

FollowupID: 366920

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 13:03

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 13:03
One more question Errol, just noticed you have a Barrett 250 HF. I'm about to fit one myself, can you tell me were you fitted the remote head and also the main box??

FollowupID: 366944

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Monday, May 09, 2005 at 19:43

Monday, May 09, 2005 at 19:43
Sorry i didn't get back to you Austravel , haven't been on for a few day's . I don't know that's it's light , i am over waight a bit . No wind noise from tyer's on top , thay'er only caseing's , wheels would be too heavy up there . Carry a couple of tubes in case needed . The barrett raido is in one peice and becouse we have an xcab , it fitted in the back up near the roof with two small storage cabnets , one each side . Cheers Errol
FollowupID: 367012

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 08:55

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 08:55
Thanks Errol,

I just hope I can get down to the weight yours is. Couldn't see that they were casings. Am considering putting two complete wheels up there, will have to see what the roof is rated at.
Thanks again.
FollowupID: 367057

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:41

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 19:41
Never trust the scales at Tips.. they are used to MAKE MONEY...

goto a proper weighbridge..
AnswerID: 109498

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:44

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:44
Well up here in NSW they have to regularly tested for accuracy and the RTA accepts any ticket from them as evidence of vehicle weight.
FollowupID: 366134

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:52

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:52
yea know what ya sayin.
but its like Taxis and Petrol stations.. somehow they seem to "CHANGE" by themselves...
FollowupID: 366139

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:36

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:36
Now guys, if I offered you a one of two new 4X4’s to buy but said with one you have to carry 10 bags of cement around in it all the time, what would you buy? If I also told you the one with the 10 bags of cement has a 2.7 lt diesel motor and the other had a 3.0 lt motor what would you say then? Finally if I told you one was British made and the other Japanese, which one would you choose? If both cars were second hand which one would you buy?

The Discovery weighs in a porky 2718 kgs and the Prado at 2289 kgs. Basically the Discovery weighs half a tonne more. I think the Discovery is going to have a heart attack long before the Prado, especially as the Discovery has a smaller heart than the Prado?

When it comes to weight problems the Discovery wins hands down. Mind you it is made for Motorways and short distances. If you drove in Britain a quarter of the way you can in Oz in one day you would fall over the edge. Probably the furthest they go off road in the old dart is the car park at the local rugby match or the gravel driveway up to the big house on a grouse shoot.

My Frontera fully laden for three months on the road with a trip to the top end thrown in as well as lots of national parks weighs in at 2456 kg. That includes 150 lts of fuel, 50 lts of water and me and the wife. With that weight aboard we averaged 15 lt per 100 kms for the whole trip. However I would like a deisel and a bit more space.
AnswerID: 109521

Follow Up By: MT - Saturday, May 07, 2005 at 23:07

Saturday, May 07, 2005 at 23:07
Oh dear... another ill informed Disco 'expert'.

Firstly - the disco TD engine is a smidge under 2.5 litres.

Its net load capacity is virtually identical to that of the Prado.

It costs less to buy in its basic form, but comes with more fruit.

It has a 20,000 km service interval (versus 5000Km).

Oh did someone mention fuel economy? try 11 litres / 100 km fully laden.

Good thing you have the 'space' for more diesel - in a Frontera or a Prado YOU NEED IT!

MT

2000 TD5 Series II Discovery.
FollowupID: 366793

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Sunday, May 08, 2005 at 10:21

Sunday, May 08, 2005 at 10:21
MT
I do not know where you get your info from but the brochures tell me;
A V6 diesel Disco 3 weighs 2718 kg dry, max weight 3200 kg which gives a load capacity of 482 kg and has an engine capacity of 2720 cc.
A Prado weighs 2289 kg dry, max load 2900 kg which gives a carrying capacity of 611 kg and it has an engins capacity of 2982 cc.
So the answer is before you drive a Disco 3 out of the showroom you are already carrying 10 bags of cement compared to a Prado.
I am not interested in second hand Discos so have no interest in their stats.
Fuel economy is dependant upon ones left foot.
Prodos in basic form are cheaper
A basic GX diesel Prodo is $44,470.
A basic Disco 3 S is $64,650.
Become a ExplorOz member so people can reply to you via email and you might learn something through informed discussion.
FollowupID: 366811

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:48

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 21:48
there is an interesting article at http://www.drive.com.au/editorial/article.aspx?id=9620
regarding vehicle weights and carrying capacity, how long before ins companies and authorities start to take a look at the average 4wd loaded for an outback trip.
AnswerID: 109527

Reply By: Cabbage - Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 23:06

Tuesday, May 03, 2005 at 23:06
I suppose all you people realize that none of the motoring clubs [racv.racq.raa etc]
will carry your vehicle on your membership card. I found out the hard way last month when I stripped an axle spline 120k's from Broken Hill. Qoute for tow into the Hill was $920 thank you. All the clubs have a limit of two [2] tonnes which will exclude all of us. I've got an F100 4wd and with just the usual junk in the back weighs in at 2700kgs. With all the stuff for trip goes just over 3000kg, plus an 11 metre van at 3200kgs puts me almost 4000kg over the limit. They don't tell you this when you pay your m/ship only when the tilt-tray gets to you.
And $100 per hour at the garage in the Hill.

Leave nothing but footprints and take nothing but photos
Cabbage
AnswerID: 109546

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 01:55

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 01:55
CRAP, sorry but it is I upgraded my membership to pluss and got a fre tow when a loose pipe holed my radiator in my 3t pluss camper for 106km from near artunga to alice on a flat bed you have been ripped off (racpluss cover honered in nt)
FollowupID: 366161

Follow Up By: Coops (WA) - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 02:03

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 02:03
RAC recovered me from CSR (probably wouldn't do it again) fully laden and probably around the 3.5 tonne mark
FollowupID: 366162

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 06:14

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 06:14
RACQ put my GQ Patrol (3000kg) on the tilt tray and hitched a 2500 kg tandem trailer with cattle in crate late last year and gave me free $150 km tow.
All of this was on the standard membership.

I think sometimes the difference is the tow truck driver themselves. I don't think he mentioned the trailer to RACQ. He even offered to unload the stock at his farm until it was all sorted out.

Brett
FollowupID: 366165

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 20:00

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 20:00
I just had a look on the NRMA web site for its rules. Basically they will service your vehicle up to 2.5 tonnes GVM, and will "endeavour to assist" over that. A bit tougher for towing. Will only cover the caravan on the top cover which costs the earth these days.

Looks like I keep up the top copver (which I was thinking of dropping) and be very polite to the bloke who comes out to the job!

Max
FollowupID: 366274

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 20:08

Wednesday, May 04, 2005 at 20:08
The other thing I found (I tried to get it out of a phone person once and got no clear answer) ... service on 2WD roads only - public roads and private property where they have permission to enter only. If I read it right - not National Parks.

Max
FollowupID: 366275