Snap-On Fittings for ARB Compressor

Submitted: Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:15
ThreadID: 22843 Views:11506 Replies:11 FollowUps:3
I have a portable ARB air compressor that I would like to now mount under the bonnet. The portable compressor has the air hose attached with a clamp. I would like to be able to remove the hose with a snap-on fitting. ARB want about $130 for the snap-on kit which to me seems a bit expensive.

Has anyone converted a portable ARB compressor to have a snap-on air hose??? If so, is it an easy alteration??

In addition, do I need a mounting plate to put the compressor under the bonnet or is it simply a case of drilling 4 holes and screwing it on in a suitable position??

Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:21

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:21
Yep - did mine with a few fittings - all works fine. I went to Beissbarth Aust. here in SA - they specialise in the supply of hardware and goodies to auto tyre retailers.
Threads on the ARB matched the fittings that this mob have. They seem to carry everything connected with that game - metal fittings, snap-ons, hoses, clamps, nozzles, tools, etc. This is the mob in the UK - they may have an office in your state.
http://www.beissbarth.co.uk/
AnswerID: 110610

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:28

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:28
Thanks. I'll look them up.
FollowupID: 367082

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:39

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:39
G'Day Moggs,
The likes of Enzed, Pirtek or some other hydraulic supplier has generally been where i have had the most success finding hose fittings etc so might be worth a phone call.
p.s. I've generally found these sort of places cheaper because they are the typye of company that make and sell the fitting to manufacturers of compressors and the like therefore cutting out the five or ten middlemen that all want there slice off the pie.

Troopytrek!!!!
AnswerID: 110614

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 12:07

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 12:07
Couldnt agree more.
I headed to Enzed in both Ozzie park (perth) and Kal and the blokes in both always seem keen to take on a mission. They've helped us out with both compressed air and car LP Gas problems. Significantly cheaper than a hardware store or getting a specialist in just one field to do it. The guys there are full of top tips and advice too.
FollowupID: 367230

Reply By: db courier - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:57

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:57
moggs,
your local blackwoods or industrial supply store will be able to help you out and should be cheaper than others.
AnswerID: 110615

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:58

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 13:58
Look up air tools/parts/supplies in the yellow pages for specialist, otherwise, Repco, Super Cr@p, Coventrys, Auto1, AutoBarn, etc etc etc

They all do air fittings to some extent with lots of different brand (Hicouple, Ryco, Jamec), the fittings are standard bsp threads and you just choose the ends that suit. Like the threaded end of your hose to the comp, you can get a threaded male inlet that srews on, or you need barbs if the hose is cut. The compressor can have a female stopper end, allows the reservoir to keep pressure and fit another at the end of your hose to allow you to use different tools. (inflator or air duster etc).

Just take your compressor in with hose and lay each connector out so you dont buy more than you need!

AnswerID: 110616

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:09

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:09
I get my stuff from a local (country SA) supplier of gear to farmers etc. (AgServ, Kadina).
Just a word of caution.....there are many different types of what you call "snap-on" fittings. Personally, I prefer the Ryco ones, which are what most service stations etc have used for years. When I bought my MaxAir compressor a few years ago, I immediately changed it's fittings to match my home compressor and the 3 hoses I have that all fit each other.
I actually have another female fitting at home that I bought before i knew there were so many different ones. I'm not sure what it is known as; they all look very similar, but won't take each others male fittings successfully. If anybody wants it, they'd be welcome for the cost of postage. It is one that is all brass (as most of them are) but has a black plastic outer cover with small pimple bumps to enable grip. When it does not have a male part inserted into it, the sliding section stays back, ready to be inserted into...(struth, that sounds kinda kinky, eh?).
As far as mounting under the bonnet is concerned, I personally do not like the idea due to moisture and dust problems; plus in my case there simply is no bloody room. My Maxair + 2 airtanks and associated plumbing etc are all mounted in the cargo area, on one side where the space would otherwise be unusable.
I reckon if I did mount one under the bonnet, I would do away with the intake filter and replace it with a suitable size brass barb and take a hose off to the outlet side of the vehicle's air cleaner box, so the compressor would be getting the same clean air the engine is breathing in. Mounting should be done where ever you can fit it; preferrably as far away as possible from the "hot" side of the motor (ie: the side where the exhaust etc exits).
AnswerID: 110617

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 16:32

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 16:32
With my 4.2 TDI Bill I have it behind the battery on the hot side, but it gets a darn sight hotter when it is going than when the engine is. ARB is mounted on a plate off the inside of the mudguard and a brace off the firewall. Behind the a/c drier can. Think I will get a small air tank to mount under the box somewhere.
FollowupID: 367100

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:12

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:12
Hi Moggs,

As for mounting the compressor, I just used 2 of the 4 holes as they lined up perfectly with some empty standard holes on my 80 series LHS guard under the bonnet. It was in this location for ~8 years with only 2 bolts and never had a problem (large washer under bolt heads to spread load). I could have drilled an extra two holes but it served me well and i don't like drilling when it can be avoided.

As for the fittings, all good advise above.

AnswerID: 110618

Reply By: V8troopie - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:19

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:19
Moggs, I got the fittings from Enzed.
I did make a mounting plate that sits on rubber anti vibration bushes and bolts under the troopie's bonnet. I guess the compressor would be quite noisy without these bushes, even with them I can hear from inside the car when it comes on.

On thing about these compressors, mine refused to pump any pressure when I really needed it, tightened all the hose clamps ( front and back air outlets) but still no good. Ended up borrowing a portable compressor to fix the tyre. Back at home upon investigating the problem I found the single bolt that holds the integral air tank on came loose. Spraying the o-ring seal with lanolin and tightening the bolt up fixed the problem.
This bolt obviously can shake loose, there is no locking system for it. So, either putting on some thread locking locktite or periodically checking it is advisable.
Klaus
AnswerID: 110620

Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:28

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 14:28
Wow! Thanks guys, plenty of info - much appreciated.
AnswerID: 110624

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:00

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:00
Since your ARB compressor is the one without the snap on hose already fitted, when you buy the fitting make sure it is not the type which will hold the pressure when not attached to anything. As the compressor you have does not have a pressure switch to cut the compressor at a certain pressure. However you could always buy a switch to fit.
AnswerID: 110634

Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:02

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 15:02
Er...forgot to say.....folded up a bit of metal and made a shelf to bolt mine onto (with a bit of rubber cushioning)....damned tight fit.... you can see it right up high in the rear of my engine bay - has always stayed quite clean there.... the filter stays clean too... just lucky I guess.... You might even see the 3 way tee coming out the near side with the snap on fitting at right, the pressure cut off going left, and the blue hose heading south to the 5 L aux tank......Onya.
AnswerID: 110635

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 16:27

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 16:27
Moggs any pneumatic company (spray paint equipment and aircompressors) can help....my local mitre10 also carries this stuff as do bunnings and repco etc etc but do not have capabilities of crimping flexible lines to fittings like pnuematic company could...i hate using hose clamps on these things...proper crimps make for professional job
AnswerID: 110648