LT tyres - which of 3 brands?

Submitted: Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 22:49
ThreadID: 22877 Views:3092 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
Fixed too many puncture of late....the hard way..........Looking at new tyres as the old ones are buggered/wrecked/patched; all have tubes etc.

That's why I am interested in the New Cooper STT's. These are the ones touted to be stronger in the sidewalls, new design tread pattern, etc. Read all the ads etc - was hoping for some reports on actual performance by real drivers.

I drive 50 % bitumen; 45 % rough dirt roads/station tracks/no roads/gibbers/stony deserts; 5 % sand at Robe.

Standard 16 " Nissan GU steel rims 8 JJ, running 265/75/R 16's. Have bben running Toyo Opats. They have a relatively straight sidewall - part of the reason for buying them.

Reason I am particularly interested is resistance to puncturing walls. I have had a horror run with sticks & stones in walls. My Bro-in-law wrecked 4 tyres on the same trip with rocks casuing big tears & fractures in the walls & thru tread steel belts. He had daggy Kumhos on that are fine in the city & on sand, but show them a rock or sharp stone and.....well, I just told you.

I note that BFG M/T and Goodyear Wrangler MT/R both also feature a 3 ply wall. If all are 3 ply walls, LT rated and 10 ply, at any given pressure - say 28 psi @ 40 to 80 kph with 3.3 t load - which is the favoured tyre?

Why?

Thanks heaps

Rick

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 23:32

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 23:32
you want strong sidewalls, look at the Interco Trxus. :)
AnswerID: 110743

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 23:41

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 23:41
Ta, will do
FollowupID: 367176

Reply By: DukeAtty - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 07:45

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 07:45
Hi Rick... I run Kuhmo Adventurers on my old bus and cooper st,,,
anyway my point is that i found whilst running on rough roads 40psi - 50psi keeps those sidewall punctures at bay...
I have found over the years that lowering your pressures for mountain tracks helps the side walls meet the road...
AnswerID: 110752

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 09:46

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 09:46
Have a peek at Kelly LT tyres. I've had success with them.
AnswerID: 110775

Reply By: SAoffroader - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 10:19

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 10:19
Hey Rick
Also have a look at 265/75r16 goodyear at/s 10 ply excellent wearing
buy them through Beaureapires and pay an extra $16 for rhw if you damage a tyre they repalce it for you and do free punture repaires for the life
AnswerID: 110781

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 12:45

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 12:45
I see you are another unsatisfied toyo user. I have thm an an 80 and they seem incredibly prone to sidewall damage as well as tread block chipping. Remember if you are really giving your tyres a hard time cross country etc all buying Coopers etc will do is put you more out of pocket when you wreck them, for genuine no compramise tough tyres 14ply rag tyres will withstand conditions that radial pop just looking at including sidewall resistance
AnswerID: 110812

Reply By: prado-wolf - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 14:36

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 14:36
i am running the BFG Muds on my Prado and have done the high country and the simpson without any sidewall damage.
AnswerID: 110829

Follow Up By: Biggus - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 17:56

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 17:56
prado-wolf
I have a manual Prado turbo diesel and was considering BFG Muds, how do you find they have affected your handling, braking, fuel consumption and most importantly performance on dirt and muddy roads ?
Biggus
FollowupID: 367295

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 16:50

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 16:50
Rick, I'm running Goodyear MTRs in your size, only done 7000kms with them, mainly tarmac, couple of high country tracks, a bit of sand. No problems so far. I'm heading to Big desert/Ngarkat this weekend so should knok up a few more offroad miles hopefully. So far no problems at all. Got a good deal from Beaurepaires afrer the camping show.

A mate of mine did some tracks in Big desert state forest two weeks ago with Dick Cepek F-C 11s staked two in one weekend, not happy at all, also one has steel belt starting to show with not too many kms on them.
AnswerID: 110848

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 22:11

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 22:11
Pat,
It'll be bloody dry out there! So will it at Warraweena - I' m heading there 7.30 friday am. Hope not to have that horrible illness caused by brown bottles when we get there this time...........

PS what are the MTR's like regarding noise on the blacktop?
FollowupID: 367340

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 18:41

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 18:41
Hi Rick,

IMO, you can't go past Goodyear MTRs for puncture resistance. Mine have been flogged having done 30,000k of offroad trips over the past 2 years without a puncture. Last years Madigan Line trip had 7 vehicles - two had MTRs - no punctures. Only one other vehicle had no punctures. They still have 10mm tread left.

AnswerID: 110871

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 21:48

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 at 21:48
Thanks to all who replied.

I reckon responses to a Q like this are what keep me intereted in this forum.

I'll keep ya posted.

My inclination at this stage? - Goodyear MT/R.

Cooper hype & price scare me a bit, and as has been mentioned, when a tyre is wrecked, if it costs $ 270 Vs $ 320, it's an easy equation.

Rick

PS to Phil G - I'm off to Warraweena again, this long weekend! Fingers crossed for the old tyres which have 1/2 tread but 3 patterns/makes of 265/75's on Shirl.
AnswerID: 110920

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 12:30

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 12:30
Have a good time, Buddy? Keeping an eye on you!
FollowupID: 367396

Reply By: prado-wolf - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 13:14

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 13:14
Biggus,

I have never regretted that i went for the BFG Muds. The noise onroad is ninimal and off-road they are hard to fault. Steering is no different , fuel has gone up by about 1.5l on road but i only use the vehicle off-road for fun so that is not important to me.

in the mud they throw out everything and never have failed me in the high country.

Did the Simpson last year and no prblem at 20-22PSI , still nice straight sidewalls.

I busted one 2 min. before William creek , my stupidity. driving with low preassure at night , hit the rock and bead was gone. Looking to put internal beadlock's in for this years trip.

only other tire i would use is the Simex extreme tracker.
AnswerID: 110999

Reply By: Onayr - Friday, May 13, 2005 at 07:42

Friday, May 13, 2005 at 07:42
Just thought I would throw this in for you.

The Goodyear MTR is worth considering. It is a 3 ply case construction with thicker cords than the BFG MT.

However...... I would still stick with the new Cooper STT.
There is more to this tyre than just hype.
If you have a look at this thread from Outerlimits4x4.com it gives some detail and answers.
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=34963&highlight=cooper+stt

Hope it helps,
Ryano
AnswerID: 111132