Honda EU10i copies

Submitted: Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:31
ThreadID: 22924 Views:4595 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
So notice there are at least a couple copies of the original Honda EU10i out, Yamaha being the only brand name one - there is also one called a Kipor and another red one i found that the advert did not even name the brand. Kipor clearly after some research make a lot of generators and quite large ones. But do people educated in this area have an opinion on these and similar units (still quite expensive, not the $98 bunnings jobs).

Reply By: Paul from Ozroamer Camper Trailers (Hire & Sales) - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:36

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:36
porl
A camping store owner in Qld told me that Kipor had been making generators for 30yrs!!
Dont know how correct this was but it did start the first time and did seem as silent as the honda?
AnswerID: 110970

Follow Up By: Member - Troopytrek - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:51

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:51
We have just purchased a Lipor generator and have tested it out doing a similair test beforhand with a honda same size and really can't tell any difference.
So far we are happy with it and hoping that we can test it out further on the long weekend coming up before we go on our 3 month trip this july.

Hopefully I can give a better response before we go.

Troopytrek
FollowupID: 367385

Follow Up By: Member - Troopytrek - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:53

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:53
P.S Kipor generator not Lipor
FollowupID: 367386

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:42

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:42
G'day porl,

couple of mentions of Kipor in the archives, check 18885. I can't comment otherwise, I only have a 2300W GMC for home use.
AnswerID: 110972

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:57

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 10:57
bushfix, how do find your 2.3K GMC? They're a big gennie for under $600 brand new, I was looking at them just a couple of days ago actually. Big enough to run my saw, 9" grinder etc.

Any problems, noise levels, design faults etc?

FollowupID: 367388

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 11:42

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 11:42
G'day,

have had it for about 6 mths. I have a 17 kL rainwater tank at home with a big DAB Jetinox pump. I bought the genset mainly for the pump during blackouts but also (at the same time) to support various stuff at home that the wife or rugrats might need at such a time. It's a ball tearer alright. If angle grinder is a universal commutator rather than induction motor than I would say that the 2300W would be more than adequate for a 9" grinder. Probably too much for it alone if that's as big a need you have, you would probably be better off getting a lower powered unit. I believe it may be detrimental to a large gennie if you only ever run it on a relatively light load.
Noise level of course is nothing like the Honda/Yamaha inverter type generator but is not too bad for a four stroke and does quieten down with use it seems as the muffler probably gets "lined." No inherent probs found when researching and no probs found so far. Very well put together unit with the 2 yr warranty. I had been looking for a big four stroke for quite a while, trading post etc. in the end I am happy with the purchase but time will tell. I run it on load for a few mins each week or so if it has not been needed for "emergency" use.

GMC gennies

some help here for people considering purchasing a genset.
FollowupID: 367393

Reply By: prado-wolf - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 12:56

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 12:56
Porl,

checked them all out and in the end paid the money for the EU10i. Starts first time , everytime , low noise level , just runs and runs.

i reckon in this field the price does make a difference.I am very happy with my one.
AnswerID: 110996

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 14:23

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 14:23
I've got the Yamaha 1kva unit and don't believe it is a "copy" of a Honda or any other brand. (In the same way as a 4.2ltr toyota is not a copy of a 4.2ltr patrol).
They are devices which happen to have the same claimed output (ie: 1kva). The Yamaha claims to be fractionally quieter than the Honda when on eco' mode (and the same db as the Honda when on full power). Mine hold 2.2litrs of petrol and on eco' mode it'll run for about 12 hours. Eco' mode is all that is required for it to run my 2 Engel fridges (80ltr + 40ltr) as well as the 2 battery chargers (15amp 3 stage in the camper and old Arlec 4 or 6 amp in the patrol).
AnswerID: 111006

Reply By: Tony Shaw - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 17:04

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 17:04
Hi Guys, I've done a little research into these Kipor's as a retailer. They seem to be an exceptional product and we've sold lots over the last 3-4 months. The biggest problem i've had so far was a sticky float valve in the carby which took about a minute and no parts to fix. I can't say that kipor have been around for 30 years but i know they've been around for at least 15 in america and europe. They are one of the top brands over there along with honda. When the kipor and honda 1kva models are running side by side with no load, on eco throttle, the honda is fractionally quieter but with a load on it could be different. I've run my computer of a Kipor 1kva with no problems so it must be putting out a good sine wave power. They both start first time and always remember to take the choke off once running or they'll flood (i learnt this by experience....) The biggest thing i learnt was when looking at fuel consumption was to make sure your comparing them both at rated output or no load at all and to check the start up wattage of what you want to run. The start up wattage can be considerably higher than the running wattage, specially on air conditioner's and standard fridges etc. This might be common knowledge to everyone but it was new to me so i just thought i'd mention it. The Honda, Yamaha and Kipor are all great and i don't think you could go wrong no matter which one you buy.

Does anyone know weather waeco cover their fridges under warranty when runnning of generators (the cheap ones)? I know engel do but can't get a straight answer from waeco so i thought someone out there might have had some personal experience.

Thanks ToNy!
AnswerID: 111025

Follow Up By: ginga - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 17:27

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 17:27
Hi Tony

Could you provide the respective selling prices of the 3 gennies pls?

FollowupID: 367437

Follow Up By: Tony Shaw - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 18:15

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 18:15
Hi ginga,

The Kipor 1KVA $899, 2KVA $1399 The Honda 1KVA $1400 2KVA $1995 The Yamaha $1320 2.8KVA $2065

The Kipor definately come out ahead in the priceing.

Maybe its because honda has had the australian market to them selves with no competition for way to long.

Cheers, ToNy!
FollowupID: 367450

Reply By: Patrick - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 18:45

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 18:45
Hi Tony,

I ran into a chap at a van park recently who said that he was using a 2KVA unit to run his airconditioner. When I said that I felt that the power drain was too great for his unit, he said that he turns on his fan before setting the chill or warm as that reduces the current draw from the generator and allow him to use this smaller unit,

Does this sound right to you?

Cheers, Patrick
AnswerID: 111036

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 19:01

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 19:01
I would back that up. My father runs his Dometic caravan air con off an eu20i. Dunno about the staged start up. Might mention that to him as it sounds like a good tip!

Muddy
FollowupID: 367461

Follow Up By: Tony Shaw - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 20:02

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 20:02
Hey Patrick,

That sounds like a great idea, plus it depends on each individual model of air conditioner.

Cheers, ToNy!
FollowupID: 367474

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Friday, May 13, 2005 at 10:21

Friday, May 13, 2005 at 10:21
I just went through the motions of buying a 2kva and went with the Honda. The Kipor looks good on paper but-look at the running time/fuel capacity difference. I wanted the generator for solar back up for the van and be able to run the dometic aircon. I knew for a fact the Honda would run my air con (and 50amp 3 stage charger simultaniously), where as I couldn't be sure about the Kipor. Also Honda has dealers everywhere. I travel/work full time and even in fairly remote towns a Honda dealer is often there if anything goes wrong (4 year warranty).

Just recently one of the guys on the caravaners forum bought the 2kva genny assured if the Honda can do it so can the Kipor-Not so. It was unable to start his aircon! I know I'd be peeved if it were me.

But, somebody else on the same forum has said there's a Yamaha 2kva coming out to compete with the Honda which might knock it off its perch (and explain Hondas lack of price rise on this model for at least 3 years)

I'd say if you were after the 1kva either the Honda or Yamaha would be perfect. The $98 job might also be fine for occasional users of non sensitve electrical equipment, who also have no neighbours!
Matt
AnswerID: 111151

Reply By: Grinch - Friday, May 13, 2005 at 17:46

Friday, May 13, 2005 at 17:46
what is the warranty with Kipor?
thanks
Anthony
AnswerID: 111212

Follow Up By: porlsprado - Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 17:45

Saturday, May 14, 2005 at 17:45
I was told 12 months but for the yamaha its 2 yrs so that is impressive but i guess is 30% more worth it. I'm still in research mode.
FollowupID: 367653