Other Ideas on Tyres

Submitted: Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 19:28
ThreadID: 22935 Views:2609 Replies:15 FollowUps:17
This Thread has been Archived
Remembering to when I studied the co-efficient of friction I would like to add a scientific angle to the new tyre buying debate. Here are some para phrased friciton rules which I hope some people here have real life experiance with proving they are true.

1. If the weight of the car does not change, the width of the tyre (excpet in mud and other heavy off road terrain) is irrelevant to grip. (water on the road can cause a car to aqua plane with wide tyres but this effect is a seperate issue when speaking of friction.)

2. The Type of rubber used will change the type of grip levels from tyres.

3. Therefore F1 tyres are not wide to add grip levels, because even a skinny tyre will give the same grip. They are wide to give more wear time and less tyre changing.

4. Completly bald tyres are better in the dry (onroad) than brand new tyres.

Q: Does anyone think that wide tyres get more k's? because from this point of view, the only advantage to wider tyres is a longer wear time, there is no theoretical advantage in grip etc...

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 19:34

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 19:34
Cobber

You've lost me a tad on the width aspect. Seems to me friction is entirely dependent upon contact area. Width or length ?? So what, you will still end up with a relatively small contact area. As friction is directly proportional to contact area it matters not one wit whether it's wider or longer. Having said that I have to say I'm not a great believer in the fat tyre syndrome ... ;-))

Cheers
AnswerID: 111047

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 19:43

Thursday, May 12, 2005 at 19:43
What are you talking about? I thought people only got wider tyres because they look cool LOL.