Portable Power packs

Submitted: Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 11:13
ThreadID: 22996 Views:3031 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Bought a 900A power pack recently as a stop gap while i sort out a duel battery system for my Jerry Can, (not to mention save up the money to do it).

My question is, can i have my Weico fridge plugged into the Power Pack while the PP is being plugged into one of my car's cigarette lighter sockets for recharging. I'll use a double adaptor plug to enable the charging of the PP and the running of the fridge.

Basically i want to run the PP as a duel battery that is being recharged while i'm driving and thus enabling the running of the fridge whilst driving and also when I'm stopped.

Thanks

Dunc

Dunc
Make sure you give back more than you take

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Patrick - Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 11:29

Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 11:29
I'm no electrician but I would have thought that the amp draw from the Waeco (around 2.6-3 amps per hour) would be greater than what the cigarette lighter would be charging the battery at the same time.

Also the cigarette wiring would not be strong enough to take that type of load. From memeory you need 6 or 8 square cable to run for a duel bayyery system due to the voltage drop incurred.

Just mu 6 cents worth.

Cheers, Patrick
AnswerID: 111322

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 12:34

Sunday, May 15, 2005 at 12:34
The battery packs are very useful, but not to run a fridge. Also, the cigarette lighter charging is trickle charge and takes ages to charge the battery.

I use one to run a 12 volt flouro and an air blower for mattresses and things like that, but they are very small capacity. What they ARE good for is jump starting. Not much dearer than a good set of jumper leads and no risk of shorting the car that would have supplied the jump.