Improving fuel economy

Submitted: Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 13:47
ThreadID: 23324 Views:1943 Replies:6 FollowUps:3

Hoping for some advice from the wealth of knowlegde of which this forunm is.

I can't afford to run the Padj at current petrol prices. I am currently getting around 19lt per hundred, regardless of whether it is towing, city or country driving, so to improve economy I am thinking of either;
1) Changing carbies
2) putting a carbie kit in

Has anybody done this before. Also any advice appreciated.

Cheers Patrick

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 14:28

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 14:28
This seems to be happening a lot more so of recent times... people looking at fuel economies of their vehicles. Ya can spend lots of dollars to hopefully improve it.

But in the end the only way $'s will be saved is by contacting/targeting both you state and federal politician to get the governments cop (taxes) reduced from the 35%-40% down to the 10% GST.
AnswerID: 113011

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 18:49

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 18:49
Gday Rod

I believe this has already been planed; the current tax will be replaced with the 10%GST in 2009/2010.
FollowupID: 369217

Follow Up By: Rod W - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 09:04

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 09:04
Thanks Exploder. Have ya got ant further details?
FollowupID: 369610

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 14:38

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 14:38
What PSI to you run your tyres at?

Put em' up to 42psi, instant saving on fuel.
I ran my passenger cars at 42psi and I run my LT 31's at 42psi and never had a problem.
AnswerID: 113013

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:22

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 15:22
Relatively speaking the fuel despite current prices is the cheapest part of running a vehicle, tyres, servicing and depreciation etc will far outweigh any savings in fuel gained by fiddling with the vehicle.
Run tyre pressures as high as practicable, run narrower tyres, remove anything that creates drag, roofracks etc, unload anything that is in the vehicle that isn't required, lighter the better. Drive slower and accelerate slowly.
Changing vehicle components like carbys will usually never gain any financial benefit when the costs involved are added up.
AnswerID: 113021

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 17:18

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 17:18
19l per 100 - Man I think you better check that you've unhooked that tractor from behind you!
AnswerID: 113036

Reply By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 18:27

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 18:27
Hi Patrick,
I read with interest one of the posts re different economy from different fuel stations. The forumites related a HUGE difference in economy just from servo to servo. I've also found the same. I fill up at Bi-lo Servo in Bundaberg and get up to 100km's LESS per tank than I do if I fill up at the United Servo north Bundaberg. For a 65 litre tank that's certainly a big difference. Do you always fill up at a particular brand servo when you are at home and travelling ? (such as ampol...mobil?)
AnswerID: 113050

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (SA) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 20:19

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 20:19
Fuel economy does change, if I fill up at a different servo, and also does'nt change dramatically in different driving situations.
Other people with the same engine said that they are getting around 12lt per hundred, so that is why I am thinking of working on the carbie.

Patrick
FollowupID: 369232

Reply By: MrBitchi - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 09:10

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 09:10
Go and have a look on the Pajero Club Forum

Lots of good info there for you. There's something pretty crook if you're only getting 19/100.

Cheers, John.

AnswerID: 113526