Bush camping with dogs

Submitted: Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 21:22
ThreadID: 23341 Views:4213 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Done a search had no luck !!
Can anyone give me the name of the book available for Bush camping with dogs.
If I don't find it, my days of camping are numbered, ran out of "baby" sitters for our pooch.
Barry

Reply By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 21:25

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 21:25
Im in Vic. I dont have a house for a dog, but am happy to house sit yours and your dog.
AnswerID: 113085

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:36

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:36
Do you do house sitting?
FollowupID: 369248

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:31

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:31
NO. Not in a organized/progessional manner anyway.

I offered to do it in this post because I love dogs and they should not be a reason to not get away.

If I can help someone AND I MYSELF get away from my home for a few days it's like me getting away anyway. Does that make sense?

So I don't do house sitting but really it is not a chore anyway is it?

I've got a great place in Caulfield and I love it here. Being able to assist someone go on a trip is always a good thing.

Do you need a house looked after? Why did you ask that question?

FollowupID: 369263

Follow Up By: Member - Barry W (VIC) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 10:40

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 10:40
Thanks for the offer but at this stage we are trying find away to take the dog (Dalmation) with us we had friends looking after her last, 2 weeks in the Vic Deserts and she fretted even though she was in her own place
Thanks again
Barry
FollowupID: 369295

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 13:38

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 13:38
lovable lol.
FollowupID: 369314

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:31

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:31
iMusty email me your phone number please, keen to chat.

patrol6@ozemail.com.au
FollowupID: 369427

Reply By: rob&kev&roo - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:19

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:19
the book is titled "Bush Camping With Dogs" A guide to dog friendly camping areas in Australia. Published by flat earth mapping. 5 Brougham St. Magill, SA 5072. PH.(08) 8431 7750. Fax (08) 84316394 www.femap.com.au/bushdogs.
Hope this helps. I think about $25.
AnswerID: 113103

Follow Up By: Member - Barry W (VIC) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 10:43

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 10:43
Thanks for the reply I will follow it up
Barry
FollowupID: 369296

Reply By: Lyds - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:26

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:26
its in the shop here
AnswerID: 113105

Reply By: Pterosaur - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:46

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 22:46
G'day Barry,

I know where you're coming from ! I took my fox terrier for 4 months on the road a couple of years ago.

Result - NEVER AGAIN !

Untold hassles with dog continually having to be watched, couldn't even go fishing. That's before considering paid sites (caravan parks etc.,), and inability to visit most NP's.

Only enjoyed trip when I realised that EVERYTHING I wished to do had to be based around dog's needs rather than my wants.

Good Luck
Terry
AnswerID: 113114

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:56

Thursday, May 26, 2005 at 23:56
Hi I'm about to star my second trip around Oz with my dog (dalmation) I have never had any trouble finding the right type of accomodation for us all ( Her in Doors, me and my dog) We avoid the main holiday resorts during school holidays but most of the country towns make you most welcolme. There are numerous camping areas where you can take your dog including researves. Most of there reseaves are better kept than national parks and charge only a nominal fee. True we have never been in any national parks but what I have heard of of some have no wish to visit them ie Kakadont but I have been told that a number of them have kennels just outside the parks. So don't be afraid to take your dog. There are that many retired people travelling with their dog these days that many of the caravan proprietors realise that they are missing out on alot of money by not allowing dogs. Any rate who wants to be ripped off by staying in a caravan park. You are paying $20+ just for a bit of power and the use of their showers. We mainly use caravan parks to recharge our water supplies if no other water is available
FollowupID: 369271

Follow Up By: Pterosaur - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 09:28

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 09:28
Goodonyer Ray,

Like you, I rarely used caravan parks - except for recharge, and to refreeze the Engel. And I was travelling for a bit over 4 months.

BUT, as I was travelling alone (apart from the dog), I found that the dog had to be tied up, or on a leash wherever I camped - either for his safety (in cane toad country), or for my piece of mind where others were present. I reckon this was a bit rough on him (he'd never been tied up before), and also on me, when (as an example), he decided one morning on the edge of the Nullarbor, to clear my campsite of a flock of curious emus. He did a good job, but I didn't see him for 2 1/2 hours. Or the time at Coronation Beach when he mouthed a dead puffer fish while I was talking to another nomad, and nearly died - this without breaking the skin of the puffer. Or when I pulled in at a "rest area" on the West Coast and let the dog out for a short run, and ended up copping a load of abuse from a pommie because he reckoned there might be 1080 about, as it was part of the "baiting zone". (I had actually checked to find out when baits had last been used in the area, and was satisfied that the risk was minimal).

Hope you have a good trip - I'm still looking for a dog sitter for when I leave in July
FollowupID: 369289

Reply By: fozzy - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 07:19

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 07:19
barry
also worth looking at camps 3-latest addition about $50
campsaustraliawide.com
some book/maps shops may stock or can order direct from website
maybe even off this one
from all sites they list shows up whether dogs allowed or not
certainly from vic perspective it covers some good spots so would assume rest of states as good
still heaps of places to camp with dog just have to do bit of research before hand

fozzy
AnswerID: 113133

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:55

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:55
Bush camping

regards Richard
AnswerID: 113253

Follow Up By: Member - Barry W (VIC) - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 13:52

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 13:52
Very Helpfull