By-pass oil filtration set-up is now installed

Submitted: Monday, May 30, 2005 at 14:21
ThreadID: 23421 Views:2698 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
G'day everybody,
For those of you who have been interested in this subject, I will describe what I have done to the Patrol.
I have located an AMSOIL (see: www.amsoil.com) agent at Stansbury on Yorke Peninsula (Ian Bishop). Ian is a farmer who has also diversified into oyster growing. Several years ago he bought some AMSOIL products and has been using them ever since (I can't recall how long exactly, but at least 15 years). He showed me his GQ trayback which he has owned since new; now with 177,000klm on the clock. This ute has had it's oil changed 3 times during it's life. Sorry, but I didn't ask him what year model it was, but it is a 4.2 non-turbo diesel. He pulled the dipstick....oil was black but did not stain his fingers. This apparently indicates there is no soot in the oil, which is what destroys the oils ability to do it's job properly.

I bought a BMK13 remote dual head and a SDF15 & BE100 filters. Also included was an adaptor plate/fitting to take the place of my OE rear oil filter. I had to buy some hydraulic hose (can handle 400psi) and 4 T clamps (I thinks that's what they're called.....basically a fancy version of the normal screw-up hose clamp, but has a bolt that pulls the thing together and applies a lot more holding pressure on the joint).

This is a fairly large bit of kit and the only place I could fit it was under the right wing of the bullbar. It sits up nicely out of the way and shouldn't be suseptible to stone damage....If it seems as though it is coping some stones, I'll fabricate a rubber flap to cover it. The hoses entered beside the radiator through a large hole that already had a plastic surround to prevent anything chaffing on it. I then took the hoses above the steering box and column, before gently bending them 90 degrees to meet up with the adaptor fitting. Note that on the GQ that Ian Bishop has, he does not have a 2nd battery and the dual remote set-up is attached to a large bracket he welded to the chassis near the passenger's side engine mount.

One of my concerns with fitting something like this is that there is a higher degree of risk associated with a busted hose and loss of oil pressure. Accordingly, I have also fitted a buzzer ($5.95 from local Tandy agent) that is attached to the oil pressure sender unit. The buzzer is located above my right ear using one of the bolt holes that was designed to hold a grab handle (which the GU doesn't have on the driver's side). Note that as per indications I was given on a previous post about buzzers, that the buzzer needs to be wired with the EARTH to the sender cable and the + going to the ignition source (wiper motor in my case).

The buzzer activates whenever the dashboard's oil light is on......so I have to get used to hearing it every time I switch the motor on, until pressure builds up enough to turn the buzzer & light off......I can see that Annette is gunna be REAL impressed with that!!!!!!

Have also bought AMSOIL 100% synthetic oil (15w40) which is essential if I am going to try and get extended oil change periods. I'm going to send some oil off for sampling @ 10,000klm. This oil is $8-00 per litre (Caltex Delo I've been using up till now has been costing me $4- / litre).

I'd be interested in what others have to say about it.....but the negative comments have all been made before, so bear that in mind please.......

Cya

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 14:48

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 14:48
G'day Roachie,

I would like to thank you for this post. I was feeling a little down being Monday and all. Then this post and I realised that with my PETROL patrol I don't seem to have the same number of "opportunities" to play with the car. Mate, if I ever get a diesel I will contact you because if any one knows more about them than you I'd be totally surprised.

I know not the type of feed back you're looking for but from an ex banker to a serving banker, keep up the good work.

AnswerID: 113570

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 14:55

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 14:55
Thanks mate, but I don't know that much about diesels really. I've owned a couple for sure and I love 'em, but I'm still learning too.
FollowupID: 369648

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:01

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:01
I like the buzzer idea, but my missus would not be really happy with it either! LOL
AnswerID: 113571

Reply By: Redback - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:06

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:06
Boy i can't wait till i see this when your in Birdsville, aaahh bugger it i can't wait to just see your Patrol.

Mate brilliant report on the oil filtration set-up, Amsoil eh, might have a look at this product myself.

Good motoring mate and seeya in Birdsville

AnswerID: 113572

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 16:58

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 16:58
Thanks Baz,

Looking forward to meeting you and the others up there too.

Cya
FollowupID: 369664

Reply By: Member - Karl - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:11

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:11
Roachie,

How much did it cost all up. I like the idea - it might go well in my 80 Series.

Karl
AnswerID: 113573

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 17:06

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 17:06
Karl,
The unit I bought was a superceded head unit, all cast in one piece of aluminium. Ian Bishop had had it for a while as old stock. He charged me $200- for it and threw in the 2 filters (the big one is normally $45-, but I'm not sure about the SDF15 which is more like a "normal" filter; say $20-). He also gave me the brass barbs and other fittings. The hydraulic hose was $45- ($15-/metre) and the T clamps were about $2- each I think.

Looking at the website, the head unit you'd get now is US$201- (or about AUD270-) and the filters would be extra. However, I think the head unit comes as part of a kit with mounting bracket and lots of other bits and pieces, as per the website. Ian Bishop doesn't seem too interested in buying in other hardware of this nature, but does still import oils and i reckon if he had a pre-order in place, then he could add any head units that people wanted to his next oil order from USA; but I don't know when he'd be likely to be placing that.

Somebody else on here said they knew an AMSOIL agent as well; in Queensland from memory.

Cya mate
FollowupID: 369668

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 11:02

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 11:02
Thanks, I will look into it.

Karl
FollowupID: 369767

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce H (QLD) - Friday, Jun 03, 2005 at 22:35

Friday, Jun 03, 2005 at 22:35
Hi Karl /Roachie
PostID: 23043
and answer ID 111567

Karl if you want pics for a raly tidy 1HZ setup drop me a line

the Bris AMSOIL distributor is

Alpha Lubrication
Ross Lawson
07 5448 5953 pH
07 5448 5943 Fax

Harrow
FollowupID: 370266

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:18

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 15:18
Hi Roachie, they really work. I used to be an agent for a company that sold auto by-pass filters. My wifes GU4.2,is fitted with one, 310,000 ks still like new, my brothers Hilux petrol has one also and has 350,000ks, petrol engines the oil stays the same honey colour as new. I have fitted mine but havent had time to hook it up. I waited till the 100,000ks warranty finished. Even if you are not keeping the vehicle for a long time it is still a good idea if your vehicle sees a lot of dirt roads, it removes all solids down to a micron or two. Double your oil changei ntervals or more and your spin-on filters also.. Michael.

AnswerID: 113575

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 17:08

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 17:08
Yeah, that's the idea Michael......looking forward to not spending every 6th or so weekend underneath the Patrol!!
FollowupID: 369670

Reply By: snowman - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 18:19

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 18:19
Fleetguard now make a filter that is a full flow and bypass filter in the one canister, it is called a "Venturi Combo". I dont know what is available for different engines other than the 7.3 powerstroke diesel (LF9027).

cheers Dave
AnswerID: 113602

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 22:47

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 22:47
Hey Roachie,
Have you ever calculated how many metres of extra electrical cable you have put in? You have wires, switches, lights everywhere and now you put in a couplke of more wires for your buzzer! I can imagine a bonb expert sitting there wondering which wire to cut.
AnswerID: 113656

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 22:57

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 22:57
I heard that he rents it out by the hour to TAFE colleges so that budding auto-sparkies can see what a "worst-case scenario" looks like in real life!

Muddy
FollowupID: 369735

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 30, 2005 at 23:12

Monday, May 30, 2005 at 23:12
I think I was probably an Italian in a previous life.....such is my love of spagetti!!!! I pride myself in having the wiring all in full view so it can be traced easily. Unfortunately, the regular use of only 2 colours of wire (red and black.....not always positive and negative respectively either..lol) does tend to make trouble-shooting a bit of a hit n miss event. hahaha
FollowupID: 369737

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 03, 2005 at 23:47

Friday, Jun 03, 2005 at 23:47
How many mega tons is your truck now?

did you ever fix the overheating
AnswerID: 114303

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 00:53

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 00:53
Yes Roachie, interested to here if she still gets hot.

PS truckster, how's that parcel coming ?

Muzz
FollowupID: 371662

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 02:24

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 02:24
you dont have it yet?
FollowupID: 371773