brake bits for improved brake performance

Submitted: Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 13:15
ThreadID: 23451 Views:1948 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Hi folks,
can anybody recommend good after market brake pads available in Australia to get better brake performance out of my 60 series Landcruiser. Any other suggestions on how to improve brakes w/o major updates like new booster with higher performance etc.

Reply By: Rod W - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:04

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:04
Fit discs allround.

Slow down.
AnswerID: 113725

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:33

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:33
C'mon Rod, you make youself sound like such a fuddy duddy when you talk like that!! LMAO

Anyway, you can never have too much brakes! It's not going to make it any less safe is it...
FollowupID: 369807

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:34

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:34
BTW When your going really really reeeeealy fast, it's heaps easier to "slow down" when you've got good brakes hey.

FollowupID: 369808

Follow Up By: Rod W - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:37

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:37
Don't ya mean a fuddled dud?
FollowupID: 369809

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:41

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:41
Nah duffled fud I was hintng at...
FollowupID: 369812

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:12

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:12
for what it's worth - due to a stuffed disc a couple of years ago i replaced the front discs with new released slotted ones - cheaper than the nissan original - have replaced the pads recently with some super heavy duty 4wd exclusive fantastic pads - no noticeable difference with the pads but there was heaps of squeals and squeaks and had to file down the edges. have also recently replaced the disc pads on my corolla and along with the 4wd have now entered the dust on the rims crowd - never a problem with the old bad for health/environment pads but these new ones seem to blacken the rims very quickly. does this help at all??? rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 113729

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:44

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:44
Jeez Lotte you must drive the guts out of it or a brake problem ! I have the same in T/D & tow a 21ft boat which weighs 2 1/2tons all up & it will stop the boat easily even with the trailer brakes not working. The pads on mine are standard Bendix. Even coming down the Toowoomba Range I don't get brake fade and I don't nurse it. I would say you have a problem somewhere. Cheers.
AnswerID: 113737

Follow Up By: Lotte - Monday, Jun 06, 2005 at 08:26

Monday, Jun 06, 2005 at 08:26
Hi Shane - are the Bendix pads available through the normal 4WD shops in Oz?
I know the truck should stop even with the stock fitted brakes and w/o fading but she's coming into the years the good old lady. I bought her with almost 300Tkm on the odo and suffer the maintenance mistakes from the previous owner. I will change pads and give her a good bleed.
FollowupID: 370396

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:49

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 14:49
How about fitting stainless steel braided flexible brake lines. Guys have fitted them to their big tyred vehicles and reckon the brakes improve considerably.
AnswerID: 113738

Follow Up By: viz - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 21:27

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 21:27
some of that stuff is not legal - check with your insurance before putting it on. yeah I know they are better etc etc and race cars have them, but RTA inspections can reject some of them and thus insurance will be an issue...

/viz
FollowupID: 369885

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 23:00

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 23:00
I don't know about other States but they are legal in Qld. We had a guy come and do a show and tell at a club meeting last year.
FollowupID: 369901

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:31

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 15:31
Might just need a good bleed... The brakes on the surf were always very average. When the pads wore out I put on some Bendex 4wd Pads and it didn't make any difference, so we bled the brakes and WHOA it stops!!!

Might be worth a crack.
AnswerID: 113744

Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Wednesday, Jun 01, 2005 at 11:04

Wednesday, Jun 01, 2005 at 11:04
I would start by adjusting the rear drums for minimum play.
Then replace the master cylinder seals. They get old and gradually perish.
Fit new brake pads, bendix 4wd is a good pad. Make sure you bed them in properly.
Then bleed the whole system with a mate helping you.
Your brake system will then be as good as is possible for not too much money.

HTH

John D
AnswerID: 113881