Animal deterrents

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 19:52
ThreadID: 23727 Views:2132 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
A thought about keeping wild animals away from camp when, without causing injury to yourself or the animal.

Have heard about ropes smeared in chilli peppers (elephants), juiced orange skin filled with tabasco (african plain animals) but not heard of any local thoughts on the issue.

Do these work locally?

What do you use?

I've always found a fire enough and that keeps away much. What to prevent crocs (which might be hard to repel with vegetables) and dingos (tabasco oranges work on hyenas, so maybe dingos too?)

Not bother with anything?

Curious to hear.

Thoughts, advise?

Tim

Reply By: Vinnie - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 20:52

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 20:52
Try:-

Shoo ya mongrel!!!

If it is an Aussie native animal it will understand that lingo.LOL

If it is not a native to Aussie you might have to get an interpreter to give it a blast.

Vinnie
AnswerID: 115120

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:06

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:06
Shoo ya .. "BLOODY" .. mongrel .. "BASTARD" .. !!!

Don't sook around ... some tough critters out there ......... ;-))
FollowupID: 370876

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:10

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:10
P.S.

Apart from the crocs, I prefer to invite them on board. Had a ton of fun calling up the local dingos out at Boggy Hole a few years back.

Wot's this I hear them say ... a new boy on the block ... well now let's see about that .... hoooooowwwwwlllll.

Good fun ... :-D
FollowupID: 370879

Reply By: hoyks - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 20:56

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 20:56
I find that my personality repells the most offensive animals, other people, from near my camp.

I go and camp in the animals back yard to be amongst nature so I don't try to exclude it.

Dingos are generally timid, except where they are in contact with a lot of people and I don't frequent these types of places. Fraiser Island for example.

As for crocks, pick your campsite and keep it clean. leaving food and fish frames around will bring them looking for a feed. Don't camp on beaches as they can get into camp easily.
More importantly leave a drunk in a swag between you and the water. When he screams, you know not go outside.
AnswerID: 115121

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 23:47

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 23:47
your genarally right most dogs will poq on sight but I have had them prowl around the fire just out of sight and on one occasion sneak up to the fire. I grabbed a lump of wood but it wouldnt be a party to being clubbed to death. i have also seen them follow utes and sit 200m away barking their heads off. I have been fishing at 6 mile hole and chucked out a float at dark and cooked tea only to poke my head out to see a croc munching my float
FollowupID: 370900

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:05

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:05
Tim

Most important of all - always smear vegemite all over your face and neck after dark to keep the drop bears away. Its a scientific fact that no one has ever been attacked by drop bears if they have taken that simple precaution.

Max
AnswerID: 115122

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:11

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:11
I always invite my friend Mr Winchester.

Very persuasive individual.

Has been known to influence feral humans, but that's just foul gossip and rumour that I've heard.
AnswerID: 115127

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:19

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:19
"Mr Winchester" ... now there's a gentleman of fine calibre.

Cheers cobber
FollowupID: 370885

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 22:19

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 22:19
You're a witty man Rosco.

Unusual for a Queenslander LOL
FollowupID: 370892

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 23:51

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 23:51
mr Winchester is a wimp and only goes off occasionly (trust me) sir smith and his mate Wesson are far mor likely to do the job!!!!!
FollowupID: 370901

Reply By: G-wizz - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:20

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 21:20
The wildest thing in the Australian bush is your imagination. You've got less chance of being attacked by a wild animal than you have of winning lotto.
AnswerID: 115130

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 23:53

Thursday, Jun 09, 2005 at 23:53
yea right you have obviosly never tackled a Mulga Monkey or been confronted by a drop bear or god forbid dazzled by a min min light
FollowupID: 370902

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 00:07

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 00:07
Max,
You cracked me up mate with the vegemite, I'm heading away outback and will be taking a few jars for all of us

Peter A
AnswerID: 115156

Reply By: Member - mikeyandmary (NSW) - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 01:14

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 01:14
Don't we go bush to get away from the feral animals?

P-Platers, Stereos on wheels, 50,000 year old drivers, Mr Scruby's mates, well... I guess anyone who's not a 4WD driver... It's amazing how few of these I see the other side of Broken Hill :-)
AnswerID: 115160

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 08:57

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 08:57
Stereos on wheels. That's something that really p!sses me off. And trams.
FollowupID: 370926

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 17:37

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 17:37
c'mon! If you donyt like my music, wind your windows up.
FollowupID: 371010

Reply By: floyd - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 10:25

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 10:25
Take Wolfie with you and tie him to a bull bar on a leash. I reckon he could scare the skin off a dingos donger.
AnswerID: 115210

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 10:55

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 10:55
For crocs ensure you camp on ground with a steep (NOT sloping) drop between you and the water otherwise camp some distance from the water - Alice Springs would be good :) Failing that a 12 gauge shotgun (semi auto if you can) loaded with solid shot should make a croc take notice.

Other than crocs I enjoy seeing animals around the camp (ferals excluded - but that’s where the lever action 22 comes in) they are part of the bush and we're visitors in their home.

One exception being big goannas (6 foot types!) I _REALLY_ wish people would not leave waste for or, worse still, feed the buggers - it's bad for the animal and it just encourages them to hang around campsites all the time.

AnswerID: 115218

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 11:25

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 11:25
there is at least 1 resident croc in Alice
FollowupID: 370949

Follow Up By: Member - iMusty (VIC) - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 18:15

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 18:15
>wish people would not leave waste for or, worse still, feed the >buggers - it's bad for the animal and it just encourages them to hang >around campsites all the time.

C'mon Mike. This is how I met my wife.

iMusty

Actually you've met her and you'd know that it was ME hanging around for a free feed.
FollowupID: 371013

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 20:22

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 20:22
iMusty!

You had better hope I don't bring my 12 gauge and some solid shot in order that Heidi make get some target practice in on _you_ this weekend! :)

FollowupID: 371022

Reply By: BenSpoon - Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 18:18

Friday, Jun 10, 2005 at 18:18
I have it on good advice from a mate in Seth Efrica ( I think thats how its spelt) Thatbleepin a different place a short distance from camp each time you go keeps the lions at bay.

I second the Drop Bear repellant. A tub of vegiemite is worth its weight in gold out bush.

Crocs apparently have the ability to learn patterns and can pick up on you if you develop habits- ie- using the same path each time to get to a river etc. Change your habits often and again keep camp tidy and foodstuffs packed away.
AnswerID: 115276

Reply By: mattandlana - Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 16:15

Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 16:15
Never had a problem with elephants in the Oz bush myself ...
AnswerID: 115365