Update on Morison DeBug unit for diesel fuel systems

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 13:44
ThreadID: 23774 Views:4312 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Seeing as how it was over 2 years ago that I installed it, I decided to pull my Morison and Morison DeBug unit out today and see what the inside now looked like. It had small amount of very fine sand/silt but no evidence of any algae etc. I cleaned the 3 large powerful magnets and reinstalled them.

However, I have not refitted it to the Patrol yet as I am a bit concerned that it's location could have a bearing on my temperature issue (stange as it might seem). The reason relates to something Dozer said on here the other day in response to a question about a smokey 80 series. He pointed out that if the fuel pump is under an abnormal load, it could affect the engine's timing, which in turn could cause the engine to run warmer than it should. Now when I fitted the DeBug unit, the only place I could find to mount it was under the driver's side footwell, mounted to the chassis rail. As I did not want to cut the fuel pipe where it ran by right near the DeBug, I decided instead to run a fuel line from just under the original fuel filter where the steel pipe terminates, back to the DeBug, then from the DeBug back up to the fuel filter (CAV replacement). This has added about 6 foot of extra hose and would have presumably made the fuel pump's job a fair bit harder than it was designed for.

So I'm now trying to find somewhere close to the CAV filter where I can mount the DeBug. I may have to try and mount it on the chassis rail just behind the steering box (hard to get to), or also wondering if I could cobble some sort of bracket to attach it to the rear of the inlet manifold, right opposite the filter.

Another issue which Dozer also raised was the use of an additional fuel pump....Walbros was a name he mentioned. I did a google search and found that these pumps seem to be used by hoons with hotted-up Bluebirds etc and I have no idea whether such a pump would help my situation and if so, what model or pumping capacity etc?

I have no interest in Morison's business but if anybody is interested, they have a website.......www.morison.com.au............there is an article in there about the same unit i have, which Ron Moon has (or did have) fitted to his GU. I recall he mounted his on the passenger's side near the vaccuum canisters, but that area on my vehicle is taken up with ABS and the pump for my Twine shower.

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 14:33

Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 14:33
I believe that Walbro pumps are also used by some diesel 80 series owners. Whether they could be classified as "hoons" or not probably depends on whether they have a turbo diesel :))))))))
AnswerID: 115359

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 16:13

Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 16:13
G'Day Roachie,

It will be interesting to see if that is a contributing factor to your temp problem.

Mate somewhere along the track with all the work you have done you must eventually get it nailed hey?

Here's hoping.
AnswerID: 115364

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 20:09

Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 20:09
Thanks Brian,
As a follow-up, I have now made up a bracket and mounted the the DeBug on the front section of the inlet manifold. That means that the original rubber hose was able to be simply moved from the inlet of the filter, to the inlet of the DeBug and then I just added a relatively short length of hose (about 18") from the outlet of the DeBug to the fuel filter inlet. The pump no longer has to "lift" the fuel back up a second time from the chassis rail area like it did previously.
FollowupID: 371078

Reply By: brian - Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 16:53

Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 16:53
Roachie,have you fitted an oil cooler to the engine of your patrol ???
AnswerID: 115366

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 20:05

Saturday, Jun 11, 2005 at 20:05
No Brian, although I understand the alloy part that the filters screw onto is actually an oil cooler.

In any case, I don't believe I need to cool it anymore. I recently fitted a VDO oil temp gauge with sender unit mounted in the sump, about 30mm above the sump plug. The gauge is calibrated from 50 deg c to 180 deg c. Most of the time the gauge hardly even registers; the highest it's been has been about 75 deg c.

FollowupID: 371077

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 23:46

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 23:46
Gday Roachie,

I have an 80 series and (as noted above) they can suffer from affected ignition timing if the internal pump pressure is reduced by blocked filters etc etc.

I don't know wetherthe patrol could suffer in the same way or not, but you would be wise to talk to a diesel injection workshop.

Regardless of that, I think your bigger problem with vacuum/pressure to the injector pump (if that is a problem) will likely be caused by the installation of the CAV filter. It is my understanding that they filter to 5 Micron whereas your OEM Nissan filter will be 10 or 15 Micron. Also, if you're using the 296 cartridge the flow capability may be insufficient for the 4.2Litre or 3.0 Litre turbo.
(I was advised by injection specialist to fit two single CAVs (not a double CAV) if my 80 was turbo'd)

Peter L
AnswerID: 116311