Dual Battery system

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 14, 2005 at 19:41
ThreadID: 23864 Views:2432 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
I'm a novice outback traveller and about to go on my first trip (for 3 months). My wife and I have bought a camper trailer and all the bits and are wanting to install a dual battery system for powering fridge etc. I've bought a '90 model Patrol to do the trip but plan to sell the vehicle when I return (I have a Jeep but I don't think its big enough for this trip). My question is - am I better off setting up the battery system to the trailer and then I can use it with the Jeep when we get back or is it better to set up in the vehicle (Nissan). I'd appreciate any advice?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Chris L (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2005 at 21:25

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2005 at 21:25
Darl I have a battery on my camper trailer I think it is a good way to go as in the fact that when you set up camp the fridge has power. and it gets charged by the nissan while you drive .I am running a 80l waeco and 2 12v fluro's off a 75amp deepcycle battery. haven't had any trouble with it cheers chris
AnswerID: 115783

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2005 at 23:36

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2005 at 23:36
A question; where is the fridge?

Another way of looking at it is;
setup the battery system up in the truck, and it is charged every time you start the engine.

If the battery system is in the camper and you go for a drive and leave the camper at the camp site you can't charge the battery!

Remember the fridge should be with the battery, or they will be disconected when in different vehicles (truck and camper) and you seperate the camper from the truck, which happens on a long trip!

FollowupID: 371389

Reply By: old-plodder - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 08:07

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 08:07
I have been thinking about fridges and batteries in camping trailers too.