oil Changes

Submitted: Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 11:11
ThreadID: 23936 Views:4751 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
Hi to you all. Just wondering if I am wasting my money on my oil changes as I use to own a vitara (petrol) hence the name, then went to a real 4wd with a 2.8 diesel toyo lux duel cab lift kit etc, (slug but gets me where I want to go) The original owner use to change the oil every 2,500klms + filter as well. I have kept doing the same thing since Ive owned it 7 months but have been told that I am just wasting money but I use to see these things come in the workshop with rods hanging out the sides due to lack of oil changes but that was 20,000 + klms without a change of filter or oil. Is this excessive or could I do it every five thou and not have any trouble. Motor has done 270,000 still going strong not using any oil even on long trips.Mind you I even take oil and filter with me if I now i'll be doing more than 2,500 klms. Wife spewing at the cost . I also use genuine toyota parts.I do the oil changes myself ?????????

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 11:20

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 11:20
I reckon 5k oil changes should be just fine, I'd probably change it more often if I was towing a fair load. As far as wheeling around town going about your daily business, I'd go with 5k.

Happy to stand corrected, been a while since I owned a diesel...
AnswerID: 116128

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 11:44

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 11:44
Hi Vitara turned Hilux

Diesels certainly muss up the oil in a hurry. With my 80 series, I have been meticulous about doing what the handbook days - 5000 km oil change in normal running, but have changed the filter at each oil change, not just at 10,000 km. I have kept an eye on harsh environments as per the book eg changed before and after doing slow & dusty conditions on the Canning.

In your circumstances, I'd be doing the same - handbook intervals but always change the filter.

And as an aside, I seem to have freed up the motor (at about 210,000 km) by using Cost Effective Maintenance's Flushing Oil Concentrate (www.costeffective.com.au) as directed. I'm sure fuel economy and engine power are improved.

I will be interested to see other responses you get.

Max
AnswerID: 116130

Follow Up By: vitara - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:32

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:32
Hi there max, thanks for that web site have been on it and had a look, my only question is if you use this additive to the oil before you do a change if there is any carbon build on the engine will it then start to blow blue smoke or is this just an old wives tail. Dont want to unsettle anything that I shouldn't.???
FollowupID: 371687

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:03

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:03
I don't think an oil additive will cause any blue smoke. It did not happen with me - I think its only the fuel treatments that do that, and the injector guy I go to says don't use them as it can affect the fuel pump seals.

Just bery gunky oil came out the first time!!
FollowupID: 371699

Follow Up By: vitara - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:43

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:43
Hi again thanks for that will definately give it a go but wont be putting any fuel adds in. Pumps are too expensive to be rebuilding.Regards Vitara take care
FollowupID: 371702

Reply By: 80scruiser - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:14

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:14
HI Vitara
I have come across a few hilux's that thicken the oil up. Due to combustion pressures, gasses and fuel deposits. In these it is crucial to change the oil at 5000 intervals. For some reason only some do this and others are ok.
I would suggest to let yours go to 5000 next time and observe the condition of the oil when you drain it. If it is thick like molasses (spelt right I hope) then you will have to change it earlier. If not 5000 intervals are perfect.
My 1hz has been changed every 5000 from new and at 286 000 is perfect. No oil usage, excellent compression. Early maintenance is crucial to longevity IMHO.

80s
AnswerID: 116132

Follow Up By: vitara - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:50

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:50
Hi 80 cruiser will give it a go and see what happens. Wont hert to see how it goes.By the way you will have to tell my wife how good the cruisers are. She would'nt let me have one reckons there to big to drive. That was my first choice anyway the old luxs is ok.Thanks anyway Take care Vitara
FollowupID: 371704

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 22:32

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 22:32
Shurly it wouldnt have been too difficult to bring her around one ride in an 80 compared to the 2.8 hilux would have convinced her. We had 2 work vehicles and the gilrs refused to drive the hilux in the open pit because they said it wrecked their backs and smashed their ovaries - certainly the roughest vehicles I have driven
FollowupID: 371750

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:19

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:19
Here's a thought for you

When is a filter(oil,fuel or air) at it's most efficiency?

Just before it's blocked up.

It's hard to tell when this is but think about the principle behind this. The more blocked up it is then it's harder for anything to get through. Therefore by changing the filter WAY before it's necessary then particles are getting thru.

What do you think? By the way we've got a 1989 ford with 520,000 km on clock and it's had 5 oil and filter changes. Rus.
AnswerID: 116133

Follow Up By: vitara - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:39

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:39
Sorry Rus no disrespect to you but I think yourv'e just been lucky. My idea of an oil filter is to filter the oil to catch any contaminents. You say that the more blocked up the better but wouldn't that be stopping oil flow? My advice to you is never buy a diesel or you will be up for huge engine repairs. But thanks for your thought anyway. Take care vitara
FollowupID: 371701

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 17:05

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 17:05
Point noted Vitara. I've got a 2002 Navara diesel. I bought s/h at 45,000 km now it's done 110,000 and I've changed the oil and filter once. We have two tractors and they get similar treatment.. One is 5 years old and worth $80,000 it gets oil change once a year and filter every two. I am a mechanic so I'm not talking out of my peverbial and I constantly challenge my friends why they do things to their vehicles. eg one friend would always check the oil level in his diff when he serviced it. I said "if you can't see that it has leaked out anywhere, then it's still got to be in there." This is getting a bit off the point I know but you see what I mean? Why change filters just because the book says? Do they want you to buy genuine parts? Hullooo, is the spare parts industry thriving on the guilt of people not wanting to do the "wrong" thing? Just food for thought and that's what makes this forum so damn interesting. Rus.
FollowupID: 371711

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 17:38

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 17:38
"When is a filter(oil,fuel or air) at it's most efficiency?

Just before it's blocked up."

I'd have to disagree with that too. A filter does two jobs one it filters out cr*p, the other is it lets clean air, fuel or oil flow to wherever it's needed. A filter won't allow good flow "just before it's blocked up" IMO
FollowupID: 371715

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 23:10

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 23:10
Eight years and must be over 200 mows I've never changed the oil in my motor mower. Still goes like a rocket, plently power and torque and only been topped up with a coupla thimbles full.
FollowupID: 371760

Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 13:29

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 13:29
In my view, if the motor is running well (even with those clicks on the clock) its worth fussing over..... repairs are expensive........BUT 2500 seems excessive - modern TD's are specified at 10000 commonly - I choose to do the oil and the filter at 7500 now - was 5000 (for the first 5 years, as it was "settling in") - its 10000 in the manual (but what do they care ?). Hell...... the early Holden grey motor was spec'd at 1000 miles for oil changes I think, and that didn't even have a filter ! If you can't get to 5000 km (with a filter), in a car 40 odd years younger by design, the game's crook !
AnswerID: 116147

Follow Up By: vitara - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:53

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 15:53
Thankyou for your imput banjo but will give it a go to 5000 and see how the oil looks. Thanks Take care Vitara
FollowupID: 371705

Reply By: banjodog - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 16:43

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 16:43
2,500km seems way too short to change oil/filters, as most comments have indicated 5,000km is the go. I’ve got a 280,000km ’84 diesel Hilux and change the oil and filter at the 5,000k intervals – sometimes stretch it to 7,000kms.

Only used Shell Helix Super Diesel and a Ryco filters (oil/fuel/air) and don’t need to top up between changes either. Oil very black as you’d expect but never sludgy – do the drain when hot and leave it drain overnight if possible – just be careful of burning fingers in the hot oil though taking out the plug.

No doubt the previous owner took good care of it for you.
AnswerID: 116168

Follow Up By: vitara - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 10:20

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 10:20
Hi Banjodog, will give it a go and see how the oil is at 5k. I use castrol diesel oil anti soot probably or bull sh@t but at least it's diesel oil, unless someone has had any trouble with this oil. Original owner use to use valvoline super diesel oil.But i was unable to get it at the time so went for the castrol, I also use genuine filter once again prob all made by the same company who knows the original owner use to use coopers filter at his 2500 intervals toyota every other (done by dealership) Thankyou take care vitara
FollowupID: 371789

Follow Up By: banjodog - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 14:50

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 14:50
This is worth a read from the Pajero forum - diesel oil
FollowupID: 371804

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 23:19

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 23:19
Well at least you know it's been well looked after!! ;-)

I was under the impression that the 2.8 problems (pistons through block etc) where more to do with over revving and a badly under designed crank in the earlier models.

But to answer your question, 5K oil and filter. Doesn't matter if it's a Diesel Hummer or a petrol mini IMHO.
AnswerID: 116215

Follow Up By: vitara - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 10:09

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 10:09
Hi Jeff M,I think with the replys that are present it sounds that if I do the oil / filter evry five I should be pretty safe.I was under the impression that the 2.8 is just a 2.4 bored out. Dont know how true this is and that is the reason for them blowing up because the oil gallerys are to small and sludge up very quickly hence so many 2.8 s with rebuilt motors some with less than 200k. Anyway thankyou everybody for your responses much appreciated. Take Care Vitara.
FollowupID: 371788

Reply By: Member - Grazierbill - Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 20:58

Monday, Jun 20, 2005 at 20:58
Vitara
We operate a number of diesel vehicles on our farms. Mostly Toyota T/D Utes. We always change the oil at 5,000 kms and the Oil Filters at 10,000 kms. Have never had any problems but we do trade the vehicles once they reach 200,000 kms. We drive them hard. Conditions vary from serve dust to often short cold runs. I think modern vehicles and current oils are up to lasting at least 5,000 kms under the most extreme conditions. Changing the oil sooner won't do any harm but it's really and unecessary expense. Changing the subject for a moment we brought a new Holden Rodeo RA T/D intercool and have fitted a "Furmoto Oil Drain Valve" to assist with oil changes. It's so much easier to reach under and change the oil without having to use a wrench each time. We have travelled nearly 30,000 kms with no problems and are considering installing the "Furmoto Oil Drain Valve" on all the Toyota's.
AnswerID: 116609

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 07:27

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 07:27
Hi Grazierbill, the Furmoto Oil Drain Valve sounds like a top idea, where are they available from and roughly what are they worth. Ive decided that Iwill strech it to 5k and see how the oil looks. I do notice that at 2500k it is fairly dark grey/ black but never sludgy.the way I look at it it's easier to find $40.00 bucks every 2.5k/5.0k than $6000 for a rebuild. Anyway thanks for your imput. Regards Vitara take care
FollowupID: 372164

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:16

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:16
Some great info on the link provided by banjodog.
Like many others, I've been using Shell Rimula X 15W/40 in my 3.0 TD Hilux. This is an oil designed for heavy duty use.

The expert on this link suggests that I'd be better using Shell Helix Plus 15W/50 or Shell Helix Plus Eco 10W/30.
I believe these are bothe semi synthetics.
Anybody here got some thoughts on this.
AnswerID: 116680

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:47

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 11:47
Hi Norm c, I also went to that site what a brilliant read on oils. I cant really add any more info for you but I think I might go for a synthetic oil myself next time.2.8 diesel hilux Give it a go. But I have heard contradictions about this as well.We bought a new s pack commodore in 01 and I use to use synthetic in that but noticed a lot of tappetting coming from the engine(v6)I stopped useing it and went back to normal vavoline no more tappetting, and have also read in a magazine not to use with vehicles that have roller rockers which the v6 has, BUT go to holden and hsv specifiy that you must use synthetic or void warranty but hey guess what they have roller rockers as well. who really does know ??? Take care Vitara
FollowupID: 372186

Reply By: Member - Grazierbill - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 15:40

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2005 at 15:40
Vitara
I got the information about the drain valve from the following site:

http://autospeed.drive.com.au/cms/A_2029/article.html

I think the Fumuto Oil Drain Valve for the Rodeo was approx. $50.
It's one of the best little gadets we have bought and will fit them on the other vehicle shortly. Despite what people may think it would be almost impossible for the valve to be accidently turned on. I always carry the original plug in the tool box just on the off chance. Extremely handy when travelling long distances and you need to change the oil when away from home.
AnswerID: 116737

Follow Up By: vitara - Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 07:55

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2005 at 07:55
Thanks for Grazier Bill will follow that up Regards Take Care Vitara
FollowupID: 372298