What to buy

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 14:25
ThreadID: 24492 Views:2012 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Greetings, I am in the market for a second hand,manual, turbo diesel 4wd and having difficulty deciding between 1998 Toyota Prado GXL, 2001 Holden Jackaroo SE and Mitsubishi Pajero 1999 GLX. I am new to 4wdriving and would appreciate some positive and negative feedback on these vehicles.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 14:27

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 14:27
Not a personal question, but how much you got to spend and what is the intended use?
AnswerID: 119106

Reply By: DaveF - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 14:31

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 14:31
It will be used predominantly as our family wagon. We visit the Flinders in SA annually and want to be able to enjoy the various 4wd only tracks. Also to explore other 4wd tracks in SA eg sand dunes near Beachport in the South east. $ wise up to $25,000
AnswerID: 119107

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 14:44

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 14:44
I used to live next door to someone who owned a TD Jackaroo and at that stage, they were the quickest TD in their class. He never had any problems with the Jack in 100,000 k's. Truth be told, he's had more problems with his 3L GU.

Price wise, the Toyota's probably the most expensive, but also will hold it's value. Plenty of accessories around for the Tojos as well.

I do not know to much about the TD Pajeros so I will leave it to someone who does. In the end, make sure it's checked over, has had a reasonable life and good service history. I would prefer lower k's and perfect service history over any perfect body vehicle anyday.

cheers.

FollowupID: 374252

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 16:34

Wednesday, Jul 06, 2005 at 16:34