turboing hilux

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 07, 2005 at 22:22
ThreadID: 24542 Views:17269 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
i have put a turbo on my 98 hilux diesel ,5l engine,and all is great ,just wondering ive been told i have to get the injector pump recalibrated and a boost control valve fitted, which is another 2000 big ones.does this extra stuff have to get done or can you just get the pump timing changed on a dyno to suit the turbo,as all is going unreal wiith the vehicle now and it dosnt feel like it needs any extra work done. just dont want to have any problems down the line .ie from running to lean.but i dont want to fork out more bucks if its not needed.any help would be great.ta.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 01:30

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 01:30
Shop around for a better price.

I'm no diesel mechanic, but I understand it's quite often more complicated than just whacking on a hair dryer and driving off.
Engine manufacturers spend big bucks on R&D and in most cases get
turbo boost/cooling/fuel pump/EGT properly worked out (Nissan patrols excepted).
AnswerID: 119373

Reply By: Rigor - Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 08:38

Friday, Jul 08, 2005 at 08:38
Hi Axeman, I turboed my 83 model 2.2 Hilux years ago , made the manifold myself and bolted it on went great . Yes you will do better if you add all the expensive stuff but with a couple of precautions your current setup should be quite reliable and not harm your engine. A couple of things to look out for , don't be tempted to overfuel it by screwing up the fuel at the injector pump . Does it blow more smoke now ? If less smoke under load than before probably be OK . An EGT gauge would be the best bet IMO as if you aren't cooking the motor your reliability should not suffer.