chev diesel who has one

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 14, 2005 at 20:16
ThreadID: 24729 Views:3014 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
just wanting to know from an owner of a gu 99 td 2.8
to any one who has one or knows any one who has one, are they worth it or just go with the 4.2 upgrade instead of the v8 chev. i am a carpenter by trade so i tow a trailer about 900 kgs to a 1T daily & have a 21 offroader to go on holidays with.
what sort of economy can i expect from either engine & which would be the best up grade.

ps am not chnging the Vehicle regardless, of $

thank u
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2005 at 21:37

Thursday, Jul 14, 2005 at 21:37
There is one in kalgoorlie but that is the only info i have except the 2.8 blew up and it cost 16k all up total conversion
AnswerID: 120424

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Jul 14, 2005 at 22:24

Thursday, Jul 14, 2005 at 22:24
adam, My mate blew his 2.8 up, fitted a 4.2 non turbo, all up cost him about $5000, would have been better to pay a little bit more for a turbo 4.2, maybe even fit the auto? He swapped his gearbox, transfer case and buggered 2.8 for the complete 4.2 and gearbox, transfer case etc. Just my two cents worth, hope it helps in some way?
John and Jan

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 120433

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:09

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:09
I've got a 6.5 V8 Chev diesel in a Landcruiser 75 series.

To do your GU 2.8 properly could be in excess of $25K - no joke.

Your gearbox is not up to the job and will need replacing with either a petrol or 4.2 box. I'm fairly sure you will need to replace both diffs as well with new ratio's to suit the 6.5 (you need somewhere around 1,800 - 2,000 rpm @ 110km/h)

The resale value of your surplus 2.8 motor is low. Even the new 3.0l's aren't bringing a huge amount surprisingly enough.