2nd Spare Condition, is it safe?

Submitted: Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:01
ThreadID: 24739 Views:1887 Replies:6 FollowUps:5

A question to the learned ones about my 2nd spare. I knicked a sidewall in Tasmania, which caused a reasonably quick leak. 45-60secs and it was down. At the time I plugged it just in case, and then got it repaired at a tyre centre. I'm just wondering whether it will still be safe as a 2nd spare. The puncture was high up on the sidewall...

Chances are Iwon't needit at all...but if I do, will it be safe to travel on? I guess I wouldn't do 100kph on it. Just a get me out of trouble measure.

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:05

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:05
From your description of the damage, and the way its been professionally repaired, I'd have no problem using it as a spare. I wouldn't use it for high speed hwy use, and I would only use it until the original is repaired.
AnswerID: 120475

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:07

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:07
Thanks Bob! That's what I was thinking,hoping, wishing! At $250 pop, hell I was praying!

FollowupID: 375519

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:15

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:15
I agree with Bob here. I have one similar to your repaired tyre. Have used it 3 times while heading into town to repair main tyre, I just keep my speed down to 80 until i hit the next town, never let me down yet, I still keep it as a second spare on trips only. She will probably outlast my next 3 sets of tyres.
Ange
AnswerID: 120477

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:55

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 10:55
I Recon it would be pretty OK as a get home measure. I don't think most tyre places will repair something if it would end up unsafe, cause you could sue them.

Maybe keep an eye out for a used one to replace it with.
AnswerID: 120480

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:10

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:10
Have to say in regards to the tyre centre mate...they were not fantastic!

I was in Queenstown, Tassie west coast. He wanted $395 for a Cooper St!!! He quoted freight and being outback and all that crap!Needless to say, I told him to forget it and plug the tyre. When in Strahan, I got one for $245!!! Thats cheaper than RRP!!!

Moral of the story, beware the tyre repair shop in Queenstown, Tassie! And the one in Strahan...TOP BLOKES!!!

FollowupID: 375528

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:07

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:07
WheelTravel
Did the same thing but to two of my tyres (about 60% tread remaining). I took them in for repair having plugged them myself in the bush so I could get home. The guys at JAX and Discount Tyres told me that repairs to sidewalls were not legally permitted. Is this just a NSW thing or what?
AnswerID: 120482

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:13

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 11:13
I think you're actually right mate. This guy was dodgy though.

He did however put a patch on inside and outside as well as a plug.

As a 2nd spare, I reckon it'll be OK. I plugged it myself and it was holding air, so hopefully it'll be OK.

Thanks.
FollowupID: 375529

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:22

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:22
Sidwall repairs can be done dunno if they are legal but arnt ideal. I had one done and the guy said he wasnt happy with it and if I let it down on the beach the sidewall flexing may make the repair come undone. I have since remidied my tyr problems by running crossplys - bye bye flats!
FollowupID: 375659

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:42

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:42
I have had repaired small side wall nicks myself after being told it was illegal to repair sidewall punctures. (In S.A.) I fitted a tube as a bit more insurance and had no problems.
AnswerID: 120566

Reply By: mattandlana - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:44

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 21:44
My previous 80 series came with a dodgy-looking patched spare. To economise I bought 5 new tyres and kept the dodgy one as 2nd spare.

We went through 2 tyres on the GRR and were driving into Kununurra in 42 degree heat with the second spare on left rear - with a load and a camper trailer on of course because we were on holiday.

At 80-90 km/h the dodgy second spare threw a tread then burst. The tread wrapped around the axle, pulling on the handbrake cable which locked the left rear wheel and caused the car to swerve interestingly towards the ditch. The rest of the tread meanwhile whipped around tearing off the mudflap and (impressively) bending the Kaymar rear bumper. By the time we came to a halt the jammed wheel had ground a gouge in the bitumen and (with all the load on it) had worn off a good bit of the bead.

The chaps at the Kununurra tyre centre were super helpful and opened up on a Sunday for us, sold us a new tyre plus a Tojo rim, and didn't even gouge us much which they were fully entitled to. But still an expensive little exercise.

Yes we had the tyre and probably the car overloaded, but my point is: Don't be a cheapskate. How much is your car/rim/neck worth? Drive on decent tyres, not dodgy ones, for the sake of the cost of 2 tanks of petrol.

Matt
AnswerID: 120568

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:02

Friday, Jul 15, 2005 at 22:02
Hi there,

Sounds like a retread?Was it? Obviosuly I want to avoid this happening,

FollowupID: 375671