New 05 Hilux SR Wheels and Tyres.

Submitted: Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 09:46
ThreadID: 25022 Views:20380 Replies:11 FollowUps:16
G'Day All,

I have just registered and been reading all the threads about the new Hilux and it appears that all the talk about wheels and tyres have been about the SR5.

I am picking up my dual cab SR V6 next month and I was hoping to be able to use the old 16X7 Prado rims (this is my first Toyota so I think they are the 90 series rims) that I have with 265x75x16's and I want to know what people have been doing.

I have a feeling that I might be able to use the rims but the tyres may be to wide and to big OD.

On the TJM website they are showing the new Hilux bars and the SR they are showing has the same Prado rims, check the link (http://www.tjmproducts.com.au/master_frameset.asp)

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 14:07

Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 14:07
If you used your old tyres and rims you would be changing the rolling diameter by 9% (Illegal) , also put the speedo out by 9% meaning it would read 91km/hr instead of 100khm/hr. Couldn't tell you if they would physically fit, would say they would because Nunawading Toyota have a news SR5 with Prado 17" wheels on it. They offer it to customers. They are using Prado 17's with 265/65/17 which changes the overall diameter by 5%.
AnswerID: 121929

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 14:18

Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 14:18
Stoney, I've got 265s on my SR5 on 7 inch (x15) rims. The original tyres were 255, so it is oly a 10mm increase, so problem with width. As to diameter, you can only try, but I believe the increase you are proposing is probably illegal and my put your insurance in doubt, even if they do fit.
AnswerID: 121931

Reply By: Stoney - Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 16:16

Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 16:16
G'Day Guys,

I understand the legalities, This car is a leased vehicle so I have a cunning plan of getting the suspension done and claiming it as new tyres so the 265x75x16 are only to use when I go off road and when the dust settles I will look at possibly getting a set of 245x75x16

If the tyres don't fit I might have to look at paying for the suspension myself and getting some decent tyres, I feel that decent tyres is the first offroad mod I should do

Don't laugh I used to have these tyres on a Mitsubishi Challenger that I am currently trying to sell, have a look at (http://www.monterosportonline.com/pic45.html)

Thanks Guys
AnswerID: 121941

Follow Up By: Member - David B (QLD) - Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 22:04

Monday, Jul 25, 2005 at 22:04
Stoney,

The 265/75/16 tyres will fit the SR hilux, but you will need flares. Next best mod is suspension. I have h/d 40mm king springs in the front, and Bilstien shocks front and rear. It rides alot better over the rough stuff.

David.
FollowupID: 377169

Reply By: Stoney - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 07:15

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 07:15
Dave,

I don't really want to put flares on the car, I would prefer to put on narrower tyres. My neighbor said that he would swap tyres with me he has 235x85x16 and they are the same rolling diameter as the 265's, so that is another option I have.

I was thinking about getting the ARB suspension kit, do you have any opinions?

When I spoke to ARB they suggested that their lift kit will lift the car approx 30 to 40mm, I would prefer 50mm.

Carl
AnswerID: 122052

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 08:54

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 08:54
I understand you can get 50mm at the back, but the IFS limits the lift to about 40mm at the front. I'm going to fit the ARB (OME) to mine and will probably add Firestone airbags as well so I can compenate for the load when we are travelling.
FollowupID: 377217

Reply By: Stoney - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 09:21

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 09:21
Norm,

I understand the 40mm thing and the IFS, I spoke to Lovels Suspension and the bloke there said there kit would lift 50mm but whether it is 40 or 50 mm I don't think it really would make that much difference.

I spoke to ARB at St.Peters NSW about the warranty and they told me that if they fit the suspension they would cover the warranty for the full length of the genuine Toyota warranty, if this is true I think that the best option is to have ARB fit the kit as well, but I need to see this in writing before I will believe it.

The air bags sound like a good option because I want to have the softest suspension kit fitted as most of the time the car will be driven empty and the air bag would be great if you need to load up the car.

Carl
AnswerID: 122075

Reply By: hound - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 12:44

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 12:44
Just had a look at the TJM bull bar's. No wonder ARB has a huge waiting list, all other bars look likebleep. lucky I already have a ARB bar as my mate has to wait till end of August.

Stoney, if you change the suspension you can run larger tyres, I run 31/10.5 r15 on a SR single cab with flares.
AnswerID: 122105

Reply By: Stoney - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 13:03

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 13:03
Hound,

I agree about the bars, I want to get one but I am concerned about how much longer they will make the car as my garage is 5.4m long and I like my remote control garage door.

I would like to know how much further the bullbar sticks out infront of the car than the standard bumper, would be possible for you to measure the distance from the base of the grill to the front of the bullbar?

Do you really need the flares to run the 31's or can you get away without them?

Carl
AnswerID: 122109

Follow Up By: hound - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 16:46

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 16:46
Stoney,

I will have a look. You really need to have flares as when i didn't have them the amount of crap the tyres throw up was unreal, have a few chips on doors from that.

FollowupID: 377313

Follow Up By: TUFF LUX - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 18:03

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 18:03
Hey Stoney-

Just bought a new SR Duel Cab myself and I'm currently researching wheel and tyre combos to replace the standard cheese cutters. Don't like the look of flares and would like to keep it all 'resonably' legal. Went through all this with my last HiLux before I settled on 265x75/16 Coopers on 90 series Prado wheels which fitted perfect with plenty of clearance and no need for flares. Currently trying to determine the wheel size/offset and suspension set up to fit a simslar size tyre on my new truck.

This is what I've come up with so far-

31's will stick out too far on your SR without flares (stone chips and cop hassles). It's not so much the size of the tyre but the offset of the 15" wheels. Most, if not all, aftermarket wheels available in the HiLux stud pattern are offset to suit the earlier live axle front end models. Aftermarket wheels in an offset more suited to the newer IFS HiLuxes (including the new 05 model), as recommended by the manufacturers, only come in 16" and 17" to the best of my knowledge. These wheels also suit the Prado. Haven't sussed out just yet the ideal offset for maximum clearance with the biggest posible tyre but I recon It'll be around 30p. ROH recommend a 30p and Mullins CSA recommend a 38p. Not too sure what offset the genuine mags are on the new Prado but I hear they're a good fit with a decent size tyre. Waiting to get my hands on some to take some measurements.

One thing that's for sure is you'll have to raise the suspension to fit a decent size tyre under the new Lux. So far I'm favouring the ARB set up with the medium rated springs and some form of air bags for the back when it's loaded up.

Keep us all informed on how you get on and what you settle for and I'll do the same.
FollowupID: 377325

Reply By: Stoney - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 07:18

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 07:18
G'Day Guys,

Hound, that would be great if you could measure up you bullbar and I agree about the stone chip thing. I want the tyres to stay under the guards

Tuff Lux, I still have my set of 90 series Prado rims. Do you want me to measure the offset?
Can you please explain more on how the offset measurement (30p & 38p) is done and then I could let you know what the Prado rims are.

Carl
AnswerID: 122237

Follow Up By: hound - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:24

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:24
Stoney,

The outside point the bar sticks out is around 20cm, measured from the toyota symbol. The outside point is the rubber guards not the steel bullbar.

The rims I have on at the moment are navara offset rims in 15inch and they just clear the brakes.
FollowupID: 377574

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:37

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:37
Hound, I put Navara 15 inch wheels on the camper trailer. Wanted something I can interchange with the 'Lux and couldn't get 15 inch with the right off set (other than getting ripped off by Toyota). They go so close to the brakes at the front, I reckon I'll only ever put them on the back and shuffle wheels around if I have to. Do you run Navara wheels on the Hilux all the time? Why would you kake 15 inch OEMs off and put Navara wheels on?

I've got 265,7015 Coopers on at the moment, but I'll go bigger next time (probably 31s) particularly if I do a lift (almost certain).
FollowupID: 377579

Follow Up By: TUFF LUX - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 15:40

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 15:40
Hey Stoney-

30p stands for 30mm Positive Offset.

This means that the mating face of the rim is 30mm 'outside' the centre line of the rim.

Easiest way to measure is to lay the wheel down on flat ground, outside face down (with or without the tyre fitted).

Lay a straight edge across the top and measure the distance from ground to straight edge and call it x.

Now measure the distance from the ground to the 'mating face' of the rim (the face that contacts the hub). Call this y.

Now use the formula- x/2 - y = OFFSET

Basically- Half the overall width minus the distance between the outside and the mating face equals your offset. p = positive and n = negative.

Therefore the old-school term 'Deep-Dish' represents a negative offset... If you know what I mean...

If you could measure your rims that would be very helpfull.

also- Does anyone know what offset navara rims are?
FollowupID: 377730

Follow Up By: Stoney - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 16:55

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 16:55
Tuff Lux,

Is the offset relative to the width of the rim?

The reason why I say this is that I have measured a 6inch Navara rim and a 7inch 90 series Prado rim, from the back of the rim to the hub flange (the "y" distance) and they are the same, so I think that the rim offset is relative to the distance from the back of the rim and not the width (the "x/2" part). Also I don't think that you can have the rim go further towards the suspension I feel that it would need to go out closer to the guard.

I am not saying your formula is wrong as I don't completely understand this rim thing. Maybe the Navara offset is just different to the Prado rim

I will try and have a search on the net to find a diagram.

Carl
FollowupID: 377741

Follow Up By: TUFF LUX - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 17:48

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 17:48
The measurement your talking about (the "y" distance) is known as the 'Backspace'. This dimension is independant of rim width.

Both dimensions are critical when choosing rims that will allow for the biggest possible tyres for your vehicle set up, with the best clearance to the inner and outer guards, brakes, chassis, etc.

OFFSET = The dimension between the mating face and the centerline of the wheel.

BACKSPACE = The dimension from the mating face to the back of the rim.

Given the rim width and either dimension, the other dimension can be calculated.

It comes down to how you (or the manufactuer) choose to describe the rim. The Yanks tend to use Backspace and Aussie manufacturers seem to prefer Offset.

That said, if a 6 inch and a 7 inch rim have the same 'Backspace' then the 'Offset' would be approx 13mm (1/2 inch) more on the 6 inch rim.

One manufacturer's "16x7 Hilux" rim is not always the same as another's. You can often get better clearance on a bigger tyre if you get your offset/backspace right. It may come down to woking out what your ideal offset is and then trying to find the closest match in the right stud pattern.

So what measurement did you come up with?

also- Were the wheels genuine stockies or aftermakket mags?
FollowupID: 377751

Follow Up By: Stoney - Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 06:39

Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 06:39
Tuff Lux

The rims that I were referring to were genuine steel 16X7 90 series Prado rims and genuine 16X6 steel Navara rims (don't know what model but my neighbor has had them for approx 6 years)

I measured the Prado rim,
Rim width from "X" = 205mm
Backspace "Y" = 120mm
Giving the offset of 17.5mm

Let me know what you think.

Carl
FollowupID: 377817

Follow Up By: Stoney - Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 12:34

Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 12:34
Tuff Lux,

You are right about the offset calculation.

I found a website that gives a description of how to measure offset, have a look (http://www.rsracing.com/tech-wheel.html#backspace)

So that mean there is only a max of 20mm different in offset between the Prado rims and the information that you have for the Hilux offset, maybe I might be able to run the Prado rims with a set of 245/75 (31") or maybe 235/85 (32").

Carl
FollowupID: 377882

Follow Up By: TUFF LUX - Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 18:11

Saturday, Jul 30, 2005 at 18:11
How accurate are your measurements?

Thought those rims would have a bigger offset than that... Could be wrong.

It'd be good if you could fit 265x75/16's on it. I reccon that's the minimum width/height you'd need to keep it in proportion... The new Lux is one BIG truck.

Thanks very much for the info. Much appreciated.
FollowupID: 378044

Follow Up By: Stoney - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:36

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:36
Tuff Lux,

I think I am fairly close with the measurement, well as close as you can be with my wife helping me and using hacksaw blades for straight edges.

I am hoping I can use the tyres I have, but I feel that the 265's will be to wide.

I will find out the end of the month.

Carl
FollowupID: 378342

Reply By: hound - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:53

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:53
Norm,

I do run navara offset rims, and the SR hiluxs come with 16 inch rims not 15. They are also 6 inch wide I think and not wide enough for 31/10.5 tyres.
AnswerID: 122411

Follow Up By: TUFF LUX - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 17:53

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 17:53
Hey hound-

Are you "navara" rims genuine Nissan or aftermarket rims?

I assume they're 15x7's.....
FollowupID: 377753

Follow Up By: hound - Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 13:20

Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 13:20
Tuff Lux,

Rims are ROH brand and they call the offset, a navara offset. Don't know why they call them navara offset but thats what there called.
FollowupID: 377886

Follow Up By: TUFF LUX - Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 14:34

Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 14:34
Thanks very much.

Are they 15 x 7's?

Do your tyres rub at all? If so where?
FollowupID: 377899

Reply By: Stoney - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 10:04

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 10:04
Hound,

Thanks for measuring your bullbar, it sounds like that the bar may only add approx 100mm to the length of the vehicle.

Once I get my car I will see how it fits in the garage and then I can look at buying a bar.

Carl
AnswerID: 122498

Reply By: hound - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 08:54

Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 08:54
Tuff Lux,

I think rims are 15x7 and they did rub before I changed the suspension. They now dont rub at all after the suspension was changed.
AnswerID: 123104