Luckiest Man and Woman Alive

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:23
ThreadID: 25082 Views:2581 Replies:20 FollowUps:15
We're so very happy and lucky.

Sunday arvo our eldest son Nugget was driving home and two cars ahead of him a Commodore was hit head on by a trailer full of bricks that came loose from its tow vehicle.

The driver of that car was killed.

The car between Nugget and the Commodore was hit by debris and injuries occcurred. Nugget was travelling at a safe distance and avoided the lot.

Had it come loose a second later it would have cleaned up Nugget.

A few months ago I was devastated when he developed Diabetes. I'm not so devastated now. I'm glad that we still have him.

To be so close, and so far....

Our outlook on life continues to change.

Jim and Jenny.

Reply By: Peter - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:30

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:30
Sounds very lucky Jim, very lucky indeed
AnswerID: 122193

Follow Up By: lee65 - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:14

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:14
Hi All, one of hubbys work mates told us about this forum so thought we would come along and fill you all in.
The commodore you talk about was driven by my 31 year old brother.
All his extended family are bleep tered by this accident.
He was a father of one daughter who is 4 and engaged to be married in october to a wonderful girl.
He was highly respected and loved by many people with over 300 attending the funeral.
It was a freek accident where the trailor uncoupled itself from the four wheel drive and the safty chain deshackles broke. police tell us no one was to blame however there will be coroners inquest.
Thank you to all of you who have metioned us the family and to all those that stopped and tryed to help on that dreadful day.Leanne Abd steve.
FollowupID: 379964

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:44

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:44
good to see hes safe and also he knows how to keep a safe distance.
we had to travel through melbourne on sunday.
a stuf up at mt skene meant we had to come home via taralgon(still got no idea where that is)it was bucketing down all the way home and was astounded by the idiots on the road driving like it was a beautiful sunny day.i consider my self a good safe driver but i was actually scared by some of the drivers on sunday.
if they wernt tailgating me they were passing me then pulling straight in front of me not the best trip ive had home.
great to see you rejoined good to support this site i think.
AnswerID: 122197

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:48

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:48
Thanks for your comments Jim.

No I haven't rejoined. My membership has expired. I am now a visitor, just haven't changed my logon name yet.

FollowupID: 377373

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:02

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:02
ah just confused me your logged in as a member and your pic ect is coming up still.
"Auditors are people who come in after the battle is over,and the war is lost, and bayonet the wounded"
FollowupID: 377377

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:17

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:17
Jim,

It's not coming up that way on my screen.

Can you send me your email address?

FollowupID: 377383

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 07:47

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 07:47
before they bayonet the wounded....they screw them some more first!!
been there and had it done
FollowupID: 377406

Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:51

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:51
Glad to hear he is ok Jim. Certainly makes you take stock of what you have when something like that happens.
AnswerID: 122200

Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:56

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 21:56
A lot to be said for maintaining a safe distance! But that's just bloody lucky. Glad he's okay.

I read about that accident on The Age - thought that the poor soul who got cleaned up was damn unlucky to be in the wrong spot at the wrong time. He was also a young guy of about 22 I think.
AnswerID: 122203

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:07

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:07
Hi Jim, glad Nugget got out of that one... My wife, 3 kids and my pregnant sister in-law were about 60 seconds ahead of your son, they remembered seeing the vehicle with trailer as they rounded the RH bend down from the Wellington/hallam belgrave road round-a-bout. Heard the news later that arvo and counted their blessings...

Occasionally fate deals us a lucky hand...
AnswerID: 122208

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:14

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:14
i hope the kids new toy has room for a 2inch lift lol.
FollowupID: 377382

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:21

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:21
Blue,

You must be feeling as lucky as me.

Things that are out of our hands can be cruel, or not.

FollowupID: 377384

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:47

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:47
Jim & Jim,

No 2 inch lift, ARB want too much for it...LOL

Yep feeling pretty lucky... More so that mine didn't have to witness the event, I'm sure it's something which will remain in the back of your sons mind for ever.

Blue
FollowupID: 377389

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 12:44

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 12:44
Great to hear your story of good fortune too Blue. Although with beautiful kids like ours I reckon everyday we are the luckiest people in the world.

Any photo's of the speedo on the billiecart?
FollowupID: 377457

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:21

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 22:21
Hey Jimbo and Jenny, I am pleased for you two, saw the accident on the news the other night, pretty sad for the guy in the Commodore.

As I type this your rig pic has come up with the signature, so perhaps your membership has been extended.
AnswerID: 122213

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 23:47

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2005 at 23:47
Jim what a sense of relief you must have felt. It's amazing how in one post your almost laughing at yourself for half drowning the Jerry and taking the @#$% out of Sandra Bullock, and then around the corner comes the sobering reality that by the grace of god could of gone mine.

Life is full of tragedy and small mercies for others.

Dunc.

AnswerID: 122223

Reply By: rob&kev&roo - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 00:51

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 00:51
At least 2 people took time here to remember the poor bugger that was killed and lets not forget the family that will be forever one short. Nor should we forget those that were injured. Not trying to take away the joy that Nugget his family and friends mist be feeling, but we should at least give a thought.
AnswerID: 122230

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 01:45

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 01:45
Being in Perth we didn't hear about the accident, but I have to ask, did the trailer have chains, or was it a bigger malfunction of some kind?

A mate of mine was hit by a sheet of corrigated iron that hit his bonnet & windscreen after flying off a trailer at 100 K's. The sheet then flew over his car and straight over a motor cycle following him. Lucky, very lucky.
AnswerID: 122233

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 07:48

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 07:48
a lucky lucky man...
AnswerID: 122241

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 08:31

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 08:31
Jimbo,

We were the next car after a serious accident on our last trip, the day we were getting home. Saw it all happen in front of us, and nothing we could do but stop and assist where we could.

Makes you feel very mortal.

Also, my wife discovered she had diabetes a couple of years ago. Controlled it by diet for a little while, now on pills. We havn't eaten so well for years. Good wholesome food. We always stop now every couple of hours for snack too.
Not sure if you know, but look out if he starts to look more drunk than usual when drinking :-) (Not sure if he is a drinker). Seriously low blood sugar levels make them look drunk.
Last trip to Mt Moffat, we had a glass or two of wine at dinner, and when the wife was getting the billy off the fire, she was a bit unsure on her feet. Not drunk, but low blood sugar. If you see him a bit 'tipsy' and he hasn't been drinking, check with him, because low blood sugar levels also addles the brain and they can't think straight. Biggest mistake people make with diabetics is assume they can't hold thier alcohol, and they are drunk when they are not. Next thing you know they could pass out, and be looking death in the face. Not something to contemplate a distance form no where.
Other thing we have found is that alcohol lowers blood sugar levels for 30 minutes to an hour after a meal, as alcohol is digested before food.

Found the diabetics association really helpful.
As a friend of mine used to say with a dodgy leg. He knows what his disability is, I have to yet discover mine, because we all have at least one!
AnswerID: 122245

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:54

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:54
goodday john and others

as a diabetic of 15 yrs what you will find with drinking (i am a drinker myself) is that the alchohol causes dehydration and can cause low sugars i find a couple of bourbons in the evening and not a lot of food or just good diabetic food and i end up low betwwen 11pm and later
its a bas*&^% d thing i was told the day of my 40th birthday (great doc lolol)

FollowupID: 377507

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 08:58

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 08:58
Hi Jim and Jen

It must be a scary phone call or story to be told. No kids here as you know, but I am sure it would be a worry. I think Kir can relate, Like when i rang and told her I had a motorbike accident, obivously I was fine as I was making the phone call, but she didnt comprehend that straight away and all she heard was motorbike accident...

Glad nuggets safe mate and I hope the family of the other vehicle are doing ok

Crazie
AnswerID: 122250

Reply By: Skinny- Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 12:23

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 12:23
Safe distance between vehicles was in his favour. Glad ot hear he is ok, didn't hear abou the accident, sorry for the unluky bugger in the commodore. I heard that a Chinese Medical company has a new pill that supposed to work well for type 2 diabetes. Has he tried alternatives.

Skinny
AnswerID: 122273

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 12:30

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 12:30
Jim,

It's times like these you realise how short our tenure on this planet is. Condolences to the family of the deceased. Someone once said to me "Don't look back into the past and dwell on what may have been and don't plan too far into the future and forget to live for today, instead enjoy the present - it's called the present because it is a gift - the gift of life."
AnswerID: 122274

Follow Up By: Robert Greene - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:22

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:22
That is doog advice
FollowupID: 377499

Follow Up By: Robert Greene - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:23

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:23
I mean that is good advice.

Thankyou.

Rob.G.
FollowupID: 377500

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:31

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 16:31
glad to hear the nugget is all right what a small world we really are in when 2 people on the forum are nearly involved .
good to hear all are ok.
condolensces to the people behind the truck .
AnswerID: 122317

Reply By: Member - Alanc - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 01:29

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 01:29
Hi Jim & Jenny

Lifes experiences like this brings us all back down to earth and makes you appreciate what you have and how precious it is. I know all about the diabetes thing ,our daughter was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes a few years ago and I felt the same way you did. She is handling it all very well, probably better than I am. I still cannot handle the needle thing.

Alanc
AnswerID: 122461

Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 09:23

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 09:23
Jim, that's an incredible story and my jaw dropped as I read it. It was amazing how happy I felt for you that your son had escaped tragedy like that and I don't even know you.

The power of community.

It goes without saying that there is a family somewhere grieving for their loss now though. I dare say the truck drive is in some serious trouble too.

Take care,

Jason.
AnswerID: 122487

Reply By: lee65 - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:20

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:20
Sorry think i posted this in the wrong place before so will post again so be sure you all see it.
Hi All, one of hubbys work mates told us about this forum so thought we would come along and fill you all in.
The commodore you talk about was driven by my 31 year old brother.
All his extended family are shattered by this accident.
He was a father of one daughter who is 4 and engaged to be married in october to a wonderful girl.
He was highly respected and loved by many people with over 300 attending the funeral.
It was a freek accident where the trailor uncoupled itself from the four wheel drive and the safty chain deshackles broke. police tell us no one was to blame however there will be coroners inquest.
Thank you to all of you who have metioned us the family and to all those that stopped and tryed to help on that dreadful day.Leanne Abd steve.
AnswerID: 125243

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:55

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:55
Leanne,

My deepest condolences. But for one second we may be in opposite circumstances. Two seconds and we may have all been talking of a lucky escape. Just doesn't seem fair.

There's nothing I can say to make it any better. Please understand my relief was in no way an attitude of " I'm glad it happened to someone else". I realised that my relief was going to be a cause of pain for others.

I should have been more compassionate in the way I put it. I just didn't think at the time that any of the family may read my post. Please accept my apology if it came across that way, it certainly wasn't intended that way.

Your brother was obviously a fine man. A senseless loss.

My thoughts are with you,

FollowupID: 380046

Follow Up By: Coops (Kalgoorlie) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:18

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:18
Leanne
So sorry for your loss. As the father of a newborn and having grown up myself without my father due to an accident I feel for all involved. Nothing more I can say to help but I will spare a thought for you all from time to time.
FollowupID: 380152

Reply By: lee65 - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:22

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 22:22
Jim, thank you for your reply and please never think we thought badly of you it spun us out to read your post it is good to hear of the lucky ones that manged to be clear of the sceen in time.
Yes my brother was a wonderful person who was very much loved and always will be.
I would love to one day hear from the lady that was traveling with her family going the other way that has prevously posted.
In time our greaf will ease i am just so glad you and your family did not have to feel this pain please take care and treasure every day you have together never put of till tomorrow what you can do today.Maybe one day we could meet you and your son that would be good.Leanne
AnswerID: 125339

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 21:15

Friday, Aug 19, 2005 at 21:15
Leanne,

Please send me a note at

jimbest at internode dot on dot net.

FollowupID: 380670

Reply By: Coops (Kalgoorlie) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:28

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:28
Jimbo
You must be a very relieved pair.

After reading yours and then Leanne's post it makes me realise yet again just how lucky or unlucky we can be on any given day.

Enjoy your son
AnswerID: 125391