Snowy Mountains trip in Nov, advice pls

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:50
ThreadID: 25119 Views:1728 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all

I would like to do a trip down to the snowy mountains in Nov, hopefully after the tracks re-open on 27th October. I'm planning on spending a few weeks down there cruising around and camping.

I have some questions that I am hoping a few people who know the area can help with.
1) Is there going to be snow. Is it going to be a blizzard or just a few patches left unmelted, I suspect the second which would be nice.
2) After the melt are all the rivers and creeks banked up and you need a boat to get where you're going? Are all the tracks so muddy you need chains anyway?
3) What are the sights?
4) Do I need chains?

Thanks for helping with this initial trip planing.

I will most likely be travelling alone, in an early rangie - hence I am a competent mechanic ;)

Dave
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:54

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2005 at 21:54
1) Is there going to be snow. Is it going to be a blizzard or just a few patches left unmelted, I suspect the second which would be nice.
Dang, my crystal ball is down, will call helpdesk.

2) After the melt are all the rivers and creeks banked up and you need a boat to get where you're going? Depends on where you are going.

2a) Are all the tracks so muddy you need chains anyway?
You dont use chains when its muddy, you rip the snot out of the land.

3) What are the sights?
Which area are you heading? Anywhere specific?

4) Do I need chains?
depends if they extend the snow season. Doubt it though.
AnswerID: 122412

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 00:16

Thursday, Jul 28, 2005 at 00:16
Suggest getting some very good area maps and detail a route you would like to travel.

What kind of vehicle you drive ? Are you experienced in 4x4 remote track driving ?