At what angle will a 4wd roll?

Submitted: Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 20:20
ThreadID: 25168 Views:14018 Replies:12 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
On our day trip to Gembrook last Saturday Cary posed the question.

He nearly rolled his Navara and said it was showing 40 degrees on the inclinometer.

Any feedback on how far you have tilted your car and what the reading was on the inclinometer would be appreciated. I'm still a novice and often feel that the car is leaning too far without having any idea of how much trouble I'm in. I'd like to fit an inclinometer, just as long as I understand what the readings mean. It would give me some sense of comfort.

Cheers,

Jim.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 20:38

Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 20:38
Jim, it's different for different vehicles. I think it's mentioned in the vehicle's handbook? Nope just checked. I would suspect that the type of suspension and the COG of the car would all contribute.

Not much help sorry.

Dunc.
Dunc
Make sure you give back more than you take

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 122776

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 21:02

Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 21:02
It all depends on suspension how you are driving it and COG.

Have only come close once in a Discovery, I was not driving and was not my car, it’s a long story, but the 2 second or so the 4WD was balancing on the 2 passenger side tyre’s before dropping back onto the other 2 felt like about 15 and me and the other bloke had that holly Shi* expression stamped on owe faces.
FollowupID: 377970

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 20:47

Friday, Jul 29, 2005 at 20:47
Inclinometers aren't worth a pinch of ^%^&*(% IMHO. By the time you've looked at it and said "Oh my goodness" or words to that effect, you've gone. They might work well on gently sloping grades, but in the real 4wd world ?