Defender TDi 1996, any good?

Submitted: Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 20:50
ThreadID: 25384 Views:6514 Replies:12 FollowUps:36
am looking at a 96 defender wagon, just thought i would get peoples thoughts on this car, it will have to tow a small speed boat occasionaly.

Zach

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 21:52

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 21:52
Wrong forum to ask this sort of quesion - people here are all Jap supporters and don't understand proper 4wd machinery.

I can guarantee you won't get much in the way of positive replies here and as such won't get a balanced view. Try the Landrover forums - they can be even more critical than tojo drivers.

Well that should put some life into this forum.

Gazzz
AnswerID: 124020

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:32

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:32
Not quite all Jap supporters.

Some lunatics even drive Korean 4by's.
FollowupID: 379014

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:55

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:55
yikes, Jimbo. A bit risky, what?;>)
FollowupID: 379017

Follow Up By: peteC - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:17

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:17
English Dictionary translation for Landrover:
1. A large piece of metal that works well to allow a car trailer to ride smoothly and flex the suspension to its fullest capacity. ( see reaching your destination in a Landrover )
2. A well designed series of metal boxes that allow smaller pieces of metal to move freely without loosing them, like a babies rattle.
3. A shareholder in the NRMA road service

FollowupID: 379060

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:36

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:36
99% of land rovers ever sold are still on the road, 1% of them made it home........

We do plenty of rwc and being RACV 4wd specific pre purchase inspection station, we also do pre purchase inspections on all sorts of vehicles, and the LR family hold the record for make requiring more than one page most often.

Some common issues, door seals, abs warning lights, oil leaks, undersize rotors, heaqd gaskets, faulty warning lights, dash lights, electronics.

most of what we see is sub 100k also.
FollowupID: 379067

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:25

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:25
Zach

You'd best take Gazza's comments as factual LOL.

Go to http://www.aulro.com ... at least you'll get commonsensical responses.

EEEEEHAAAA

Cheers cobber

P.S. Check out my stats for the reasoning....... :o))
AnswerID: 124023

Follow Up By: ZTG - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:33

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:33
thanks for the link rosco, will check it out.

I see you drive a defender, one question if I can, I really like the defenders, but have not been on any long trips, so with my girlfriend in mind, how do they go for comfort and road noise on long trips?

zach
FollowupID: 378989

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:44

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:44
G'day Zach

You'll find heaps of knockers here. I'm about 6' and weigh way too much ... >> 100kg .. :-(

Tripped up to the Cape last year, occasional big daily travels and I found the seats surprisingly comfortable over long distances. Unusual seating position, I'll grant you ... but it's a Landie thing.

Noise levels were a tad over the top, but bearable, just crank the sound up a notch.

Recently discovered a crowd that supply under bonnet sound deadening sticky foamy sheets stuff. After application I thought for a minute I was driving a Disco LOL. Made a hugh difference.

It's all horses for courses afterall. I'm happy ... the poor uneducated masses are happy ... everyone's happy.

Check out the above link for some in depth info before your decision.

Happy travels .... and carry a long rope to help the poor unfortunates .... :o)))

FollowupID: 378991

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:48

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:48
so with my girlfriend in mind, how do they go for comfort and road noise on long trips?

Comfort *LOL* in a landy! :D

You want to keep the girlfreind?, don't get the defender!

*sarcasm off*

Great 4WDer though.

Take one on a test drive for 10 mins on a freeway to get an idea.

Discos are a lot better for longer drives!

I've never experienced a TD5 defender, that'd be interesting.

BTW how much for the '96?

FollowupID: 378993

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:54

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:54
Yep .... Disco's are much better ... had one ... but I broke it .. :-((

Hence the Fender ... :-))
FollowupID: 378996

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:42

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:42
Ahhhh ..................A Landrover thread......

Now where should I start??...................hahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 379009

Follow Up By: Wok - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:25

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:25
Rosco,

What is the soundproofing product & the supplier please? I'm in Brisbane as well, used a loaded vinyl before but can't remember the product or supplier's name :(

eng
FollowupID: 379013

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 14:35

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 14:35
Wok/eng ??

http://www.tru-fitcarpets.com.au/

Very happy with the results .. cost about 50 smackers.

FollowupID: 379031

Follow Up By: Wok - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 19:39

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 19:39
Thanks Rosco for the link.......one-stop shopping!

eng
FollowupID: 379042

Follow Up By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:50

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:50
Hi Rosco

Thanks for the link to the soundproofing stuff.

Where did you actually install it - Under the bonnet - on the firewall - or both?

Jeff
FollowupID: 379069

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:01

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:01
Jeff

Only under the bonnet. Thought about the firewwall ... still thinking about it ... the thought is most daunting ... :o(

What with all the plumbing bits.

FollowupID: 379072

Reply By: arthurking83 - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:54

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 22:54
Do the floor panels come out in the latest defenders?
I had (still?) got a early rangie and double insulated the road side of the floor (it unbolts!) with foam sticky material. Then some years back I found a company that sold a "very heavy" foil lined material, and glued this to the foam stuff. Absolutely no heat in summer from the gearbox and about half the (gearbox/transfer) noise :))
AnswerID: 124031

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 23:05

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 23:05
Yep

I'm still investigating my alternatives ... as soon as the water leaks are solved ... :-)))))))
FollowupID: 378998

Reply By: timglobal - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 01:11

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 01:11
ZTG - it does everything you ask of it. It isn't quite like a Patrol/Landcruiser in that it can do more, effortlessly.

60% of armed nations use in their military/civil defence for a reason.

I love the jap motors, but a Landie does it better.

Amen.
AnswerID: 124041

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 02:47

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 02:47
Wouldnt say use in the armed forces is any selling point. armed forces round the world are known for developing ill concieved ideas and the soldiers dont get a choice. also landcruisers are not sold in many countries like America, Britain and Japan
FollowupID: 379004

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:13

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:13
Hey Davoe

Are you saying even the Japs won't buy them ?? .... ;o)

Cheers cob
FollowupID: 379008

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 19:54

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 19:54
I will just clarify that statement the 100s is sold world wide (I think) but it is the 79 that has more of a limited distrabution (i made the comment coz I reckon a 79 is a fenders compatition not the 100 which is a discos competitor). I found this out when looking for a part at the wreckers and asked why they dont bring 1/2 cuts in from japan with there being asuch a demand for 79 panels - reason japs dont have a use for tough work rigs
FollowupID: 379043

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:27

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:27
Fair enough Davoe

Point taken ... but at the end of the day .. I was just razzing ya ... :o)

FollowupID: 379063

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:40

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:40
Having had contacts in the Aus purchasing dept for the armed forces, i can tell you Aus have been using land rovers because the RSL, and early buying policies saw japanese vehicles banned from purchase, and the cost of invantory, tooling, and spare parts, as wella s development see's the land rover still used by us.

Interesting the SAS have the same issues most people do with them also, not starting, bent steering arms, short component lifespans etc and have to also modify them to overcome some design shortfalls.
FollowupID: 379068

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:03

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:03
ats.....

I would refer you to the first response to this thread. It would appear you fit the bill quite comfortably.

FollowupID: 379073

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:04

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:04
desighn shortfall what is that? no factory fitted 50 cal mounted machine gun? or perhaps no rocket powered grenade launch holder
FollowupID: 379074

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:19

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:19
Hey Davoe

You may have a point there. I'm about to head off on our annual shooting pilgrimage with a few of my mates. The usual shooting ute is shagged .. an old Ford Courier complete with .. dare I say Ttttoyata wheels, for elevation. Anyway, one of my better? mates reckons we should cut a few holes in the roof of the Fender .. so they can stand on the seats whilst I drive around the scrub. But he's a sook 'cause he wants me to cut up the garden hose to cover all the ragged bits, so he won't get scratched. The mongrels still call it the PT... named after it's forerunner .. my Disco aka poofter truck ... nasty blokes some mates can be.

I reckon they need a 50 cal to hit anything. Hmm now what about the grenade launcher ....
FollowupID: 379075

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 23:20

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 23:20
Shooting bus of choice when i was a kid wa a hg holden with the roof cut out and one of my mates had managed to fit a 245 valiant motor into it - It saw the end of many a stray roo
FollowupID: 379084

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 08:13

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 08:13
but at least Im working on facts with my comments in this thread rosco, regardless of wether you like to hear facts or not.....
FollowupID: 379162

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:36

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:36
Hi Zach

We brought a 1996 Defender about 8 weeks ago. And we love it. My wife has no trouble with driving it. Comfort is not a problem - well I don't know what it is like in the back seat - but the front seats are good. Yesterday I spent 4 hours in an Airbus 330 flying from Canberra to Perth - and I reckon the Defender seats are more comfortable.

Sure they are not as quiet as other 4WDs - but the rest of the beast makes up for it. And going back to the Airbus - not quite as noisy as sitting in a seat near the wing.

At work we have two different preferences - Nissan and Toy-cars. And we are always having "discussions" about why one is better than the other. But they all agree they there is one vehicle that will always come through for to rescue them - and that's the Defender.

We've had different 4WDs over the years - Lada, Jeep, X-trail (we still got), at work Roll-luxs, Patrols, Navaras even Couriers. I've still got a soft-spot for the Jeep, but I reckon the Defender has been our best purchase.

I recommend that you get a winch - so you can rescue your mates.

Jeff

AnswerID: 124047

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:45

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 08:45
I still have to meet a Landrover owner who isnt wonderfully eccentric :o)
FollowupID: 379010

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 09:05

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 09:05
Willem, have to agree with you there :) They have the same personality as their vehicles. I have a soft spot for the marque, but there's no way I'd ever actually own one again.
FollowupID: 379011

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 14:30

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 14:30
Willie my old mate, I don't think you ever will. We're an unusual bunch and that's for sure. I must say I don't know of any other marque where the drivers so regularly acknowledge their compatriots with a salute upon passing.

It goes with the vehicle .... ;o)

Cheers cob
FollowupID: 379030

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 09:42

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 09:42
Mate,if you buy a Defender (not Defener) you will be the owner of the rig I should have bought years ago..After all,we drove them for years in my six army term,even though we did some wicked things in them out in the "real"bush,never had to tow one home.(Army ones are fitted with heavy duty rear axles,available in Australia..Not needed for a Cape trip etc..) Loved the truck driving position..Towing with the diesel..A breeze..Ever noticed,almost all the good bush/desert pix in the 4x4 mags are almost always taken by photographers driving,you guessed it,Defenders..Over to you Rosco! !MPG:6!
AnswerID: 124052

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 09:46

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 09:46
don't know about Japan???????????? but the Cruiser certainly is available in UK and US. Check it out.

a late model TDi (earlier ones had their faults) or TD5 Disco is a lovely and v-e-r-y capable car. At 11L per 100 ks very economical too. Downside is expensive parts if you use the dealerships. So sound out some local aftermarket or specialist (have a Google around) outfit to look after your car and provide reasonably priced parts. Can help if you're anywhere near Sydney/Newcastle.
AnswerID: 124053

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 20:31

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 20:31
you are only sort of right i was of course referring to the defenders Tojo eqivelent - the 79 series which are NOT available in the uk - us . I was reading a pommy mag once where they raved about the ultra tough vehicles they came accross in Africa used by the UN and lamented that there was nothing as good available in Blighty, The vehicle was of course a troopy
FollowupID: 379052

Reply By: lindsay - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:32

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 10:32
ZTG, Have had 1 st series defender then a 2005 model it had an improved gear box and i now own a TD5. I am 115 Kgs almost to the 6 ft mark and have done 500,000 Ks in them all put togetherand gone out every year for 3 months down to 2 weeks and been to all the tracks. only roadside problem I have had was a water pump bearing at 70,000 ks on the 1995 model. Just back from Q,land and averaged 11.02 lit /100 k mostly at 110 ks. Couple of years ago up the Canning when the td5 was new it used a 2/3rds of the fuel that a couple on new nissans used, 15 litres less that the nissans fron central vic to Port Augusta. Back seats are to small for adults but good for kids as they sit a little higher. Most people get carried away with their vehicles as they always have the best and tend to hang it on other vehicles (4 wheel drive club types). You can get good and bad in all vehicles, one of the nissans that went up the canning with us cracked the front diff housing, I say a new nissan with a stuffed clutch at 7 ,000 ks up there I have seen Tojos in trouble with broken wheel studs i know of one tojo towed home from q,land but it doesn't say they are all bad. I have had a good run with mine maybe lucky. buy what suits you.
AnswerID: 124058

Reply By: ZTG - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 20:26

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 20:26
guys, thank you all for the feedback I do appreciate it, I think the biggest stumbeling block I am going to have is the girl friend. I showed her a photo, and she is dead against the purchase.

anyway, thanks again, im not beat yet

Zach
AnswerID: 124117

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 20:56

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 20:56
Just show her a picture of the equivalent toyota and she will come around!!
FollowupID: 379056

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:29

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 21:29
Hey Gazza

Have they made one ?? .... :o)
FollowupID: 379064

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:57

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 22:57
Not that I know

Hey Zach - If it was a toss up between the girlfriend and a defender - I know which one I would take

Gazzz
FollowupID: 379080

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Sunday, Aug 07, 2005 at 22:40

Sunday, Aug 07, 2005 at 22:40
Hey! you should have shown her a piccie of a '57 staion wagon!
( They kinda haven't changed all that much ;)

And if you decide on a Defender, give your missus................... my phone number! :o

LOL!
FollowupID: 379148

Follow Up By: timglobal - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 08:42

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 08:42
ZTG,

I had the same problem several moons ago and its easy to get the right answer. It was actually very easy to persuade then g/f that Defenders are the way to go.

Firstly, if she likes such things, point out to her that the royals drive their estates in them and if she is the princess she claims to be, then driving in a Defender is de rigeur.

If that doesn't work, then point out that only engineers, miners and feral bush types drive Toyo 79s. (As opposed to the Landie drivers ?!)

Then point out that you're a great guy, but have to draw the line somewhere and a girl holding back your off-road enjoyment is a step too far.

Tim

ps - Does she like Bryan Adams? As he likes Land Rovers (woohoo!)
FollowupID: 379168

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 23:05

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 23:05
Ahhhh ..................A Landrover thread......

Now where should I start??...................hahahahahahahaha

I still have not stopped laughing, Good to see the forum back to the good topics in life.

Fridges, tyres, Nissan V Yota and Landrovers.

Sorry Roscoe, just having a dig. now where is Truckster????

AnswerID: 124135

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Sunday, Aug 07, 2005 at 08:04

Sunday, Aug 07, 2005 at 08:04
G'day Johnno

At least it's all in fun hey ..... :o)

FollowupID: 379094

Reply By: chump_boy - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 08:45

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 08:45
Zach,

I've had a series 2 (76 model, from memory), and a 2003 defender. The old series 2 was an ex-army model, with the larger suspension, solid tyres, 15 inch diff, and just went anywhere. I can remember driving down the side of a mountain near Penrith (as you leave the city on the freeway and start to climb the mountains, look right....it is damn steep!!), and the old girl never missed a beat. I was able to do all sorts of stupid things in that old truck. Nothing I have driven has ever come close (except for an old Sierra - did you know they float just below the passengers window? - brilliant for 1 person, but....).

I have always had a soft spot for the landrovers, but I wasn't overly impresses with the newer defender. Plastic parts have replaced many metal components (I am thinking of things like door handles, dash boards, etc..), and they seem pretty flimsy. I know my 5 year old daughter broke one of the outside door handles by opening it a bit roughly.

The actual 4WD setup is spectacular, and people do stop and stare as you drive past. The fuel economy is great, but a few bits and pieces just felt a bit cheap. Not like the landrovers of old.

I drive a 105 series now (Landcruiser), and do like it, but I am looking round for an old series 2 or 3 landrover as a project.

Just my 2 cents worth - take it the same way you take anything written on the internet by people you know nothing about.....

AnswerID: 124242

Follow Up By: Member - Alan- Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 12:26

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 12:26
Good advice that ......... take everything you read here witha pinch of salt especially from those that make rude remarks about Landies!
I do it myself and have had 2 of the things but it doesn't stop me having a bitch when I come up against a peculiar bit of British engineering.

Anyway, I had a 96 Disco 300 Tdi and it was a good capable machine and didn't give me too many probs. Kept it serviced and sold it for a better price privately than the stealers would have given me. Now I've got a 2003 Td5 Defender 110 and the worst part is having the main stealer getting their hands on it for servicing!
Never again will they charge me $440 plus for changing the oil and doing nothing else to it.
The basta8ds overfill the engine, charge the top whack for the oil and then charge around $10 "environmental levy" to get rid of the old stuff!!
The Td5 is a good motor and with more power than the 300 Tdi, but the rest of the vehicle suffers from the same things which they have always suffered from ............. rain leaks in and so does dust but luckily the LR designers did it this way so the rain washed the dust out for you. How clever is that then?
It's proving to be a good reliable vehicle and we've just returned from 7 weeks in the back blocks of the Kimberley without any probs. at all apart from a not so smart "Smart solenoid which allowed the starting battery to be drained!
Noise levels aren't bad and if they stop me hearing the cook whingeing, that ain't a bad thing.
If your girlfriend doesn't like your choice ......... the answers simple, get a new girlfriend.
You won't have any time for girls anyway, you'll be busy fixing oil leaks etc. if a lot of the forumites here are to be believed (and they aren't )
Good luck with your purchase, your back will soon bend to fit the seats.
Alan H.
FollowupID: 379193

Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 20:21

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 20:21
Hello All

Seems to be a large knowledge gap in how the Australian Army selects its vehicles , and for many years has finished up with Landrovers . Between Melbourne and Seymour the Army runs a vehicle testing establishment . In the 1960's and 1970's , and I presume since , about every 5 or 7 years there would be a competitive trial of the finalists for the light trucks . This would be between Landrover , Landcruiser and Nissan . Landrover won the competitions , convincingly . Using the Landrovers in service have confirmed that they have the best vehicles . The RSL didn't have an input .
AnswerID: 124352