Inverter size?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 21:55
ThreadID: 25447 Views:9808 Replies:10 FollowUps:13
can anybody advise what size inverter is needed to run the laptop, battery chargers. Can't think of what else we would need one for on the road.

300 or 500w?

am aware the higher the wattage the more possibility of waste.

Reply By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:09

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 22:09
Hi John,
We have a 500w pure sine wave inverter hooked up to 2 x 120ah AGM's all fitted into a camper trailer. Haven't tried running a car type battery charger off it, only heater, laptop, DVD player,fan, radio etc. and AA type battery chargers. All worked very well, only run low on power once in 7 weeks on the road. Didn't run out of power, just low enough for the low power alarm on the inverter to sound a warning.

Kev
AnswerID: 124371

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 11:25

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 11:25
Just further to that, I got the 500w (1000w surge) inverter (PSW) from ebay for $219. works well.
FollowupID: 379334

Reply By: Member - Brad G (SA) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 23:28

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 23:28
The 150w inverter will run a laptop with ease. Curious, what are you going to run a battery charger for or with for that matter.
AnswerID: 124386

Follow Up By: Member - John (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:50

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 17:50
charging AA & AAA's etc. Also PDA.
FollowupID: 379369

Follow Up By: Member - Brad G (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:34

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 13:34
Hi John
The 150W inverter will run the laptop and battery, PDA chargers with ease.
Cheers Brad
FollowupID: 379503

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 23:46

Monday, Aug 08, 2005 at 23:46
I used 400W inverter in the Simpson, Running laptop, external hard drive
and charging photo camera batteries at the same time without any problems...

300W should be just fine but 500W would be good for all other unexpected needs
like electric blanket, etc...

Stan
AnswerID: 124388

Reply By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 00:37

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 00:37
150W will cut it, 300W (600W surge) off ebay is $60 or so +postage. Your Transformers may run hotter, and you may shorten the life of them if you use the modified sine wave (cheaper type), but I had no probs. Charged laptop, ipod and mobile at the same time no probs.
FYI A 150W inverter will actually run a large TV and Playstation- no need for a huge inverter as they will eat your batteries constantly even when you're not consuming the residual power.
AnswerID: 124391

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 07:52

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 07:52
This is wierd, but I tend to agree. I ran a 300W MSW inverter off an 88Ah battery running lights in our caravan for up to 3 days. I swapped to a 500W PSW and the dang thing goes through the battery in a day! Idle draw doesn't seem to be too much - like 0.25 amps. Why the disparity when they're being asked to power identical situations?

mystery......
FollowupID: 379306

Reply By: Grungle - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:06

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:06
As laptop power requirements vary, check what the convertor (240V to DC adaptor) of the laptop says. It will have its power rating listed on the lable. Buy an invertor that exceeds this. If you are only going to use the invertor for the laptop then there is no need to go much higher than what the laptop requires.

AnswerID: 124401

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:34

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 08:34
I went down this road 3 years ago and eventually settled for a 150watt Pure Sinwave inverter from Jaycar for $250. On the first trip I did, a diode blew in the inverter with smoke pouring into the cabin. A new diode for $1.30 and some very good soldering by a mate saw the inverter working again. Now I mainly run the inverter to charge the laptop battery and use a Kerio DC Cig lighter socket to run the laptop. I also charge camera batteries from the inverter and run my camp light.

Only recently I have found out that one should get a laptop with a battery that can last four hours(not the usual 2)(something to do with the laptop running processes) so that it does not put too great a drain on the inverter and make it work too hard. Others have told me that they have had an issue with hardwiring the inverter. But I have had no further issues since the first mishap and my inverter is hardwired to the aux balttery.
AnswerID: 124403

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:23

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:23
Invertors are complicated things, and in their nature enefficiant. I have a 450w Puresinewave that we use for charging the camera batteries and running the external DVD drive for the laptop (and the lounge room at home when the power goes out!) ;-) But for running the laptop I use a 12v Laptop power supply, much more efficiant. They cost about $70 from Jaycar and are well wroth while, they run generally 15-22v DC (selectable) at about 4amps. Now the best thing to do when running your laptop off the car to conserve power is to ensure that you REMOVE the laptop's battery when running it from the car, that way you are not wasting power charging the battery that you are not using.
With the NEC P4 I used to use in the car it would draw nearly 4amps with the battery in and barley 2amps with it out! So when the kids were watching a DVD off it, I HALVED the power consumption by simply removing the battery.

Now the more expesnive the Invertor the less power it'll use (generally speaking). The more expensive units have auto sensing which means they only activate all the circuts once there is a load detected (ie you plug somthing into it). Others run all the time and can draw anywhere up to 2 amps just by being switched on with nothing plugged into them! Puresinewave is the way to go, modified sinewave will work, however if your going to be running fluro lights or switch mode power supplies (cameras, computers etc etc) then it is not all that good for them, but worse it will make them draw more power than neccessary, you might end up drawing an extra 50% on top of what the item needs just because it should be running off a pure sinewave unit.
AnswerID: 124423

Follow Up By: Twigiee - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:46

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:46
Pure sine wave inverters will flatten your battery quicker (assuming the same output) than a square wave inverter because the sine wave inverters are much more inefficient. I reckon its only worth using the sine wave inverter when its necessary - perhaps have two. Using the 12v laptop power supply would be more efficient again because otherwise your converting from 12v to 240v then back to 12-20v for the laptop. In each voltage change there is power loss.

Twigiee
FollowupID: 379344

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:53

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:53
Hmm , didn't know removing the lappy battery would make a difference. I'll have to try that.

I use a 300w msw invertor to power my Toshiba Lappy.

I understand that a few lappy's have high power requirements to get their screens to fire up . . . dell is one I believe.

They will run using a 300w , but need a 500w to actually fireup.

You need to start it using the internal battery , then swap over.
FollowupID: 379345

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:59

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 12:59
Flappa, if you look at it this way you may get a better idea of how,
1. When you are charging a battery (let's say a car battery) even when it's fully charged it's still drawing a small current. With most laptop batteries I have seen they are a Lithium Ion type, and normally pretty much rooted to start with, so they are always taking a charge while plugged in as they never reach full capacity, not to mention you are running the charging circuts/powersupplie too. The NEC was pretty rooted, but I measured the current with and without with my multimeter and it was absolutally the case. Most laptops you can remove the battery while they are running. If you need to to start, you can start it then just clip it out. I've got an old laptop that's like that.

Puresinewave is MORE effeciant if you are running switchmode power or fluro's. How many people are running transformer type power supplies of their invertor or incandecant lights? Not many I would suspect.
FollowupID: 379346

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 13:25

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 13:25
Yeah it makes sense.

I didn't know how easy it was to take the battery pack out until a couple of days ago.

My power pack , packed it in , and I was just checking where the problem was. Thats when I found the battery pack.
FollowupID: 379347

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:28

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:28
Well, Jeff M, you're more game than I am. I would never even think of removing the laptop battery while the lappy is running. Maybe you were lucky.

What I do not agree with is your advise of removing same battery purely because of being too miserly to charge it when the lappy is powered from the inverter.

As you know, the lappy uses its internal battery to keep its memory refreshed. So, the battery actually loses some charge while the lappy is just sitting there, switched off. If you never give this battery a recharge while on a trip, you will continue to run it down each time you insert it.

There is a little LED in the front of my Toshiba laptop, it goes green (from orange) when the internal battery is fully charged. Only if this never happens with your lappy would I say the battery might be past it. Possibly a good idea now to read the battery bit of the manual :-)

The other thing, I was always under the impression that the laptop gets powered from its internal battery and the external power pack is used to keep that battery charged. If there is no battery ( you removed it), the lappy HAS to accept the raw power as it comes, including spikes and fluctuations, from the power pack (which in turn is fed from the inverter) without the internal battery providing a whopping great buffer to smooth out any incoming power spikes.

Klaus
FollowupID: 379353

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:38

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:38
"I would never even think of removing the laptop battery while the lappy is running. Maybe you were lucky. "
Ah, luck has nothing to do with it, there is no problem doing that...

"What I do not agree with is your advise of removing same battery purely because of being too miserly to charge it when the lappy is powered from the inverter. "

I dont' power it from the inverter, I use a Laptop 12v Power supply, and yes I try to save battery power where ever I can.

"As you know, the lappy uses its internal battery to keep its memory refreshed."

No I did not know that, because it's total crap. (sorry, but it is). If you are hibatnating your laptop (which you should be when not in use, or completely shutting it down, one or the other) then removing the battery will not to jack sh$t to your laptop. The memory (RAM) is only used while the PC is on, the BIOS is no volitile and the Real Time clock has it's own indemendant battery on the main board (or is no volitile depending on the unit). The hard disk drive of course is completely non volitile also. So in short, removing the battery will not effect it one bit.

"The other thing, I was always under the impression that the laptop gets powered from its internal battery and the external power pack is used to keep that battery charged. If there is no battery"

No they havn't been like that for many years now. Your laptop switches to mains power and charges the battery as a seperate charging circut. Removeing the battery simply removes the battery from it's charger.
In fact one of my older laptops has 4 wires from the PSU, two for the laptop power and two for charging the battery.

FollowupID: 379355

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:42

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2005 at 15:42
I'll just add one other thing too, just about the being to miserly to charge comment. 2amps in the world of battery's/camping and 12v is not what I would consider measly, that's quite a large saving over a few hours IMHO. Sometimes if it's really cold the kids watch a movie in the car as a special treat, saving 2amps over 2 hours will run the fluro camp light for another 4 hours!
FollowupID: 379357

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 10:09

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 10:09
WHOA . . . . back the puter truck up . . . .

I managed to flatten my vehicle battery while charging my Lappy . 2 amps in my camping situation , is HUGE.
FollowupID: 379483

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:36

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 12:36
Twigiee

Re sine wave and modified square wave inverter efficiencies: with respect, the opposite of your statement is more true. Most good sine wave inverters now exceed 92.5% efficiency over most of their range.

A further general comment - in many instances the energy draw of a plug-in power supply may remain substantially the same whether the connected device is switched on or not. This is particularly true of lap top computers. Always switch these things off at the supply outlet.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 124598

Follow Up By: Twigiee - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 17:49

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 17:49
I appreciate your polite correction of my comments Collyn. I've briefly researched the figures and this confirms you are correct. I'm not sure where i developed the conception - perhaps traditionally sine wave inverters were less efficient..? Anyway i will need to rethink intentions on two separate inverters for the 4by (one single PSW inverter seems better).

Twigiee
FollowupID: 379534

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 19:20

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 19:20
Twigiee

You may have been misled by earlier advt for modified square wave devices - many were. Some absurd claims and phony comparisons were made by comparing only those parts of the operating range that most suited whatever claim was being made.

By and large inverters are like gen sets in that they are most efficient from about 20-80% of their range.
Collyn
AnswerID: 124666

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:04

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2005 at 22:04
50 megawatt minimum for a laptop...
AnswerID: 124702