Hand winch

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 17:56
ThreadID: 25645 Views:3207 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
hi, please help i don,t have a lot of money .just wondering what is the best hand winch to buy. have about $6oo.oo.peolpe tell me to get an elc. winch it is much easyer.i am not affrad of hard work so a hand winch seems the way to go for recovery.along with a hi-lift jack ect, rope, ect.your remarkes would be great.

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:01

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:01
I have a Big haul, about $400, plus extentions and Tree truck protectors, so about $600 should get you all the gear. Never had to use it in anger yet, so cannot comment on its use. Came in seperate carry bags.

crazie
AnswerID: 125435

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:36

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:36
You haven't been too far off the beaten track with me yet but I can always arrange a trip than may need the Big Haul ....lol
FollowupID: 380199

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 22:02

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 22:02
You have a winch my friend, I will be pushing the button before i make you push my hand winch...lol
FollowupID: 380230

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:11

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:11
foxy73,

A hand winch is the way to go but you do have to provide the power to make it work.
With your budget you could get a new Big Haul hand winch as well as a lot of the recovery gear that goes with it.
A Turfor would use up all of the budget just on the hand winch. I have used both and both work as well as each other.
As far as a hi-lift jack goes, don't waste your money, it will never get used. This is only my opinion and others will might disagree, but not having had to use one in the past 17 years I can't see myself starting now.
Try the Trader on this forum or the Trading Post for a good second unit.

AnswerID: 125438

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 19:52

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 19:52
Dunno bout the Hi lift I reckon there a pretty important recovery tool. I have used one about 5 times for bogs and hangups - certainly got me out the poo when the winch wasnt up to the job. i do only take it when going remote though as it isnt a convenient or light item
FollowupID: 380210

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:13

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:13
There's a brand new Big Haul hand winch in the Trader Section on this site under the Accessories heading for $390-. Also noticed there is a electric winch for $785-.

If $$$ are in short supply and you've got a strong back, give the hand job (sorry, pun intended) a work-out....I'd advise you to get a snatch block too though to ease the task.

If you're gunna get a high lift jack, make sure you have the right sort of bar work to accomodate it. Most modern vehicles have nowhere to place a highlift ....some bullbars do and some rear bars (aftermarket) also do.

AnswerID: 125439

Reply By: bob - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:33

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:33
Hi Foxy73
I have the big haul whinch and have had to use it in anger a couple of times now!!! One time my 5.4 t mitsubishi canter stuck at home on steep wet clay, snatch block and a lot of effort saw me out of trouble. For the price I believe that they are a top hand winch. The only thing I have noted with them is the quality of some of the internal retaining clips leaves a lot to be desired. Its an easy fix with a trip to an engineering supply shop.
We do a couple of trips a year and I cant see the point of lugging an electric winch around all the time on the off chance I might get stuck. The other thing is my attitude is that if it looks like I could get seriously bogged do I really need to be there???
My opinion only
Bob A
AnswerID: 125444

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 19:40

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 19:40
"The other thing is my attitude is that if it looks like I could get seriously bogged do I really need to be there???"

Great words of advice but sometimes you could be set up on a really great camping spot and during the night the heavens open up and turns what is easy driving in the dry to red glue in the wet. Glad we had the electric winch as had to winch car out of bog when driving back to hook up to trailer . Then had to winch the trailer up to car. Made an interesting experience.
Jenkie

FollowupID: 380209

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:44

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 18:44
I have related this story before...

One day along time ago when I was a young fella I stuffed a F100 4x4 down on a beach near Broome. I had a Tirfor winch and it took me and the missus 7 hours of plurry hard work to get off the beach and over a dune on a rising tide...lost about 5 kilos that night...lol

The hand winches are worth their weight in gold as long as you can manage them. If not, buy an electric. I have opted for the softer option on account of me being an 'old(er) fella' now

Got a Hi Lift jack here to give away as I never use it!
AnswerID: 125447

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:31

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:31
I agree on hilifts, I have NEVER seen anyone use one yet in yrs of wheelin!
FollowupID: 380212

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 11:29

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 11:29
!MPG:14!
FollowupID: 380264

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:26

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:26
Ok, I've lost the receipt, so it won't be 100% accurate:

Repco have these 25%off storewide when they open up a new shop. They stock Black Rat hand winches for a reasonable price. With the 25%discount I paid about $280 for mine, which I think was a good price. Then you'll need a winch extension strap (20m) and some shackles as a minimum. That's another $60-80.

I know Black Rat had some bad press sometime in the past but I'm happy with mine. Most of them (except Tirfor) look like they came out of the same chinese factory anyway;-)
AnswerID: 125462

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:33

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 20:33
If you are looking at different brands of hand winches then make sure that any winch must double locking fingers. Some cheap winches only have a single locking finger.
AnswerID: 125463

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 22:11

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 22:11
from outerlimits

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ITEM:
I have a warn winch, 10,000 lb low mount. used but in good working order, comes with new controller and used cable. perfect working order.

CONDITION:
used, perfect working order, been serviced recently

REASON FOR SELLING:
upgraded to high mount

PRICE AND PRICE CONDITIONS:
$700

0400 077 117 warragul area
AnswerID: 125488

Follow Up By: andrewr - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 13:37

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 13:37
I bought a hand winch a few years back working on the theory if I got sick of the time and effort involved in using it I would upgrade to elec. Got well and truly stuck in very soft sticky sand/mud and after SEVEN HOURS of digging jacking etc I had managed to move the car about 1 foot with another ten to go. Admittedly, the winch was a bottom end Bushranger, but still it was supposed to be good for 1,600 kilograms, which I gather is as much as most hand winches. The point was that it was just impossible to get enough pull to actually move a heavy vehicle bogged to the axles.

The following day I ordered a Warn 9.5xp in anger at something over $2,000. The following weekend I went out and deliberately got stuck in the same spot. It was almost frightening how easily and quickly this winch plucked the car out of (or more accurately, ploughed it through) the bog.

Point is that a theoretical 77 hours by hand winch equated to one minute by electric.

Disadvantages of course are need for an appropriate bullbar or other mounting, ongoing need for service, the effect of the weight on handling and demands on elec system (e.g. dual batteries or risk alternator burn out). If these issues are not a concern I had $600 to spend I would spend the money on the best elec winch I could afford any day over a hand winch.
FollowupID: 380277

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 14:04

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 14:04
Very valid point , however , you have also picked up on the other valuable piece.

In very rare circumstances can you just go and buy a lecky winch and have nothing more to pay.

In most cases, New Bullbar, Dual Batteries etc , need to be added.

Not much , if ANY change out of $2k , BIG difference to $600.

Or , do as you did.

Buy the hand winch , see if it meets your needs , if it does , great , if it doesn't sell the thing for almost what you pay for it , and THEN buy a lecky one.

In MY case , $2000 is better spent on other things. a $500 hand winch will do fine . . . for know.
FollowupID: 380279

Follow Up By: andrewr - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 14:28

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 14:28
The only flaw with the "wait and see" approach is that I drove through some very remote, muddy country blissfully ignorant of how useless my set up was. I was lucky that the experience above was 30km from home. I would say that if you have a hand winch explore its performance and limitations before you really need to use it.
FollowupID: 380284

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 22:18

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 22:18
G'day foxy73, all points taken in, I couldn't justify the expense of a Warn or something similar some years ago. Went with the Big Haul hand winch, picked it up in a caravan accessories joint(they never even knew they had it) for $250. Used it a few times out on the trails. Very handy for pulling trusses up on the brother in-laws place as well.
andy
AnswerID: 125489

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 09:49

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 09:49
I bought a 2nd hand Tirfor & an extra winch cable for $350 (neither had been used). I purchased the rated shackles ,tree trunk protector & drag chain , all for about your $600 budget amount. I used ithe winch to pull myself out of the mud using a star picket for an anchor. So it takes some effort & time, but that's the price you pay for a cheaper alternative. At least it works and you don't have to carry all the extra weight of a permanently mounted winch.
Sparky
AnswerID: 125530

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:49

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2005 at 10:49
I have a Big Haul and have used it and i must say very supprised how well they work, well worth the money, the one in the trader section is good value at $390.

AnswerID: 125538

Reply By: claud - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 16:30

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 16:30
i have a tifor type hand winch .its a japanese one denkyo or something .
can someone tell me how to operate it.the instructions on side are worn off. it ahas two levers and a shift bar at front,which i take is in or out of gear.the cable goes in a hole in front but wheres it supposed to come out.?its 2.5 t rated
AnswerID: 129336