Garmin GPS II+ v 12XL v 12

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 10, 2002 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2571 Views:2651 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
I'm new to GPS and am looking to purchase my first. Am wanting opinions on the relative merits of the Garmin GPS II+ v 12XL v 12. I have seen previous posts about various models and am comfortable that Garmin is a quality brand. The II+ and 12XL are about $240 dearer than the 12 and I'm wondering if it's worth spending the extra. Can someone explain in "GPS for Dummies" language what extra I would be getting, and in your opinion whether it is worth it.
I understand that the II+ and 12XL have a built-in South Pacific point data base. Is that worth paying extra for...? Sorry if this is a silly question, but what tangible benefit does that give me?
Thanks for any help offered.
Cheers, Mike.
PS - Have seen previous posts re ordering from the USA via internet. Is considerably cheaper than purchasing direct in OZ. However, wondered how easy the process of converting info to local (rather than US) is. Do I have to spend more $$ on a Garmin/other CD (which will still probably cost me less overall), or can I download the info from the internet or a Yahoo Group, for example? Also, are Garmin warranties world-wide, or would I be stuffed in Oz if the unit cacked itself? Thanks!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: OziExplorer - Tuesday, Dec 10, 2002 at 01:00

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2002 at 01:00
Mike, did you go out of your way to pick all the dinosaur models from Garmin.
Firstly, how do you want to use this GPS?

Do you want it for your vehicle, bushwalking etc?

Do you just want a GPS to interface to OziExplorer or similiar program?

Explain your needs for this GPS you want to purchase and what you want to do with it.